Personal computing discussed

Moderators: askfranklin, renee, emkubed, Captain Ned

Hance
Darth Gerbil
Topic Author

Radio Control Hobbies

Wed Mar 29, 2006 8:20 pm

Is anyone else into radio control hobbies ? I have two RC airplanes . One is a PT 40 with a 46 size motor in it . It flys pretty well . I also have an electric plane . It flys really slow top speed is only around 10 MPH . It is alot of fun in smaller areas where there just isnt enough room to fly the nitro powered plane .

SpotTheCat
Gerbilus Supremus

Wed Mar 29, 2006 8:22 pm

I think when I get older and my toys can have more money I'll get into helicopters.

Hance
Darth Gerbil
Topic Author

Wed Mar 29, 2006 8:31 pm

I personally have no experience flying an RC Heli but from what I have been told they are HARD to fly . I have been flying RC planes for around 3 years now with only one major wreck . The wreck kind of sucked . I hit a parked school bus :oops: I have the photos around someplace if anyone is interested in seeing them . A couple of the guys I fly with have planes and helis . These same guys fly circles around me with there planes and say they can barely keep a chopper in the air :o

mattsteg
Gerbil God

Wed Mar 29, 2006 8:51 pm

Hance wrote:
I have been flying RC planes for around 3 years now with only one major wreck . The wreck kind of sucked . I hit a parked school bus :oops:
Heh, wrecks can be pretty crazy. We had a rather extreme racing design that we designed and built for a class, designed for speed and the expense of "nice" flight characteristics. Never even got the thing to full speed, the pilot was so nervous about flying it he stalled and spun it after half an orbit. The only thing that didn't shatter was the tail.

SpotTheCat
Gerbilus Supremus

Wed Mar 29, 2006 8:55 pm

I think if I had a heli I would be able to start slow enough to learn without crashing.

tfp
Grand Gerbil Poohbah

Wed Mar 29, 2006 8:58 pm