Personal computing discussed

Moderators: askfranklin, renee, emkubed, Captain Ned

tradedigital
Gerbil
Topic Author

Advice? trying to build a computer

Thu Jan 16, 2003 2:52 pm

Hi,
I'm new at this...was wondering if anyone had any suggestions...I want to build my own computer along with some more knowledgeable friends, but I'm in college and don't have a ton of money, so I'm trying to save as much as possible...I was wondering what I might use if I wanted to build a Pentium 4 2.4 gig (or greater) powered machine...I want to use it primarily for web design (Dreamweaver, Flash MX, Photoshop 7, etc... I also have some knowledge in Adobe Premiere, and while I don't need to do digital video editing now, want to be able to empland to that (if needed) at a later date. DVD viewing is also something I want to do on a new machine.

I currently have a minitower case with an 8 gig hard drive, with a Atapi 40 x cd-rom drive, a Universal Buslink 40x CD-RW drive, a 250 Zip drive (not connected) and a floppy drive, Creative Live! SB Basic (WDM).
Have no idea what type of motherboard and video card I have, or power supply...So I'm not sure if any of this would be salvagable.

Any suggestions? I'd appreciate any advice... Thanks

pez-king
Gerbil Jedi

Thu Jan 16, 2003 3:29 pm

you probably would want a new case, a bigger one

and an 8 gig is probably old, and old ones are usually 5400rpm. and that is slow for a p4 system.

lose the 40x if you want dvd get a dvd rom drive

keep the burner, zip drive (if you want it) and the sound card if you are on a budget. a SB live is a really good card still and it can be updated down the road if you desire more than it offers

you need about 350watt or higher power supply

use good cpu cooling

ummm... i cant think of anything else that's really relevant or worth mentioning. I'm sure others will ocver what i missed :D

MaximusStuntus
Gerbil

Thu Jan 16, 2003 3:49 pm

If you're doing a lot of multimedia stuff: