Power company meters with GSM/3G/etc capability

Hang out, sip some ice tea, and shoot the breeze with TR regulars.

Moderators: emkubed, Captain Ned

Power company meters with GSM/3G/etc capability

Postposted on Fri Aug 10, 2012 10:08 am

So for a project my other work is doing, we're trying to find out the following:

One or more brands of power meters with GSM/3G/whatever capabilities, to allow for remote monitoring/billing. Anybody know any brands/models, and has any insight on this?
There is a fixed amount of intelligence on the planet, and the population keeps growing :(
morphine
Gerbil Khan
Silver subscriber
 
 
Posts: 9934
Joined: Fri Dec 27, 2002 8:51 pm
Location: Portugal (that's next to Spain)

Re: Power company meters with GSM/3G/etc capability

Postposted on Fri Aug 10, 2012 10:23 am

My ex used to work at a company called Itron, and their meters have wireless capability, using the Zigbee protocol. They might have other models that support other types of wireless communication.

https://itron.com/na/productsAndService ... lectricity
GA-EP45-DS3R · E8500@3.8 · Scythe Ninja+ · 8GB G.Skill DDR2-800 · MSI TwinFrozr HD7850 · Corsair VX450 · Antec Solo
180GB i520 SSD · WD1002FAEX · Plextor PX-755SA · HP ZR24w · Intel EXPI9301CT · X-Fi XtremeGamer · Win7/Mint
nerdrage
Graphmaster Gerbil
 
Posts: 1276
Joined: Thu Mar 06, 2003 2:49 pm
Location: Raleigh/Durham, NC

Re: Power company meters with GSM/3G/etc capability

Postposted on Fri Aug 10, 2012 10:51 am

Unless you have some concession with your wireless provider, maintaining all those GSM network devices is going to cost a small fortune in fees. If you don't need real-time monitoring, what I'd recommend is to use meters with Zigbee or some other similar rf instrumentation network protocol and concatenate the data at a neighborhood gateway, where the data is then uplinked to the host site. You could use GSM there, if you want.

We do something similar in one of our products, using a 900MHz radio to uplink telemetry data to a gateway device. The gateway can connect to the servers using either CDMA or GSM radios; but, it has an ethernet port if we want to hardwire it to a server. With the right radio, you could conceivably collect data from several square kilometers using one well placed gateway.
mnecaise
Gerbil First Class
 
Posts: 114
Joined: Thu Oct 30, 2008 1:17 pm
Location: Hampton Roads, Virginia

Re: Power company meters with GSM/3G/etc capability

Postposted on Fri Aug 10, 2012 11:38 am

Hmmm...I've seen a number of automatic meter-reading systems that used Power Line Carrier. Is something like this what you're after? They have a German office so I assume they support some European standards in addition to their North American solutions.
He who laughs last, laughs first next time.
ludi
Gerbil Elder
 
Posts: 5409
Joined: Fri Jun 21, 2002 10:47 pm
Location: Sunny Colorado front range


Return to The Back Porch

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot] and 7 guests