Site Slowness

Hang out, sip some ice tea, and shoot the breeze with TR regulars.

Moderators: Captain Ned, emkubed

Site Slowness

Postposted on Mon Oct 07, 2013 7:14 am

Anyone else noticed this? Past couple days (I think, but for sure today) the site has been very slow. Slow for me on 3 different browsers.
i7 6700K - Z170 - 16GiB DDR4 - GTX 980 Ti - 512GB SSD - 256GB SSD - 500GB SSD - 3TB HDD- 27" IPS G-sync - Win10 Pro x64
2015 13" rMBP El Capitan
Sony RX100
DancinJack
Minister of Gerbil Affairs
Gold subscriber
 
 
Posts: 2562
Joined: Sat Nov 25, 2006 3:21 pm
Location: Kansas

Re: Site Slowness

Postposted on Mon Oct 07, 2013 7:56 am

Seems to be better now. Bah.

edit: maybe not. Maybe it's just my provider or something. Other sites seem to be fine though.
i7 6700K - Z170 - 16GiB DDR4 - GTX 980 Ti - 512GB SSD - 256GB SSD - 500GB SSD - 3TB HDD- 27" IPS G-sync - Win10 Pro x64
2015 13" rMBP El Capitan
Sony RX100
DancinJack
Minister of Gerbil Affairs
Gold subscriber
 
 
Posts: 2562
Joined: Sat Nov 25, 2006 3:21 pm
Location: Kansas

Re: Site Slowness

Postposted on Mon Oct 07, 2013 8:11 am

Tech Report's been really slow for me today too; some pages wouldn't even load this morning.
Cannonaire
Gerbil
 
Posts: 22
Joined: Thu May 03, 2012 12:38 am

Re: Site Slowness

Postposted on Mon Oct 07, 2013 8:30 am

Haven't noticed it myself.
Hakkaa päälle!
i5-2500K@4.3|Asus P8P67-LE|8GB DDR3-1600|Powercolor R7850 2G|SanDisk Ultra II 480GB|1988 Model M|Saitek X-45|Logitech MX 518 & F310|Dell 2209WA|Sennheiser PC151|Asus Xonar DX
bthylafh
Grand Gerbil Poohbah
 
Posts: 3662
Joined: Mon Dec 29, 2003 11:55 pm
Location: Southwest Missouri, USA

Re: Site Slowness

Postposted on Mon Oct 07, 2013 8:39 am

Seems fine to me. I actually noticed some slowness a couple of weeks ago, but everything seems normal today.
The years just pass like trains. I wave, but they don't slow down.
-- Steven Wilson
just brew it!
Administrator
Gold subscriber
 
 
Posts: 43746
Joined: Tue Aug 20, 2002 10:51 pm
Location: Somewhere, having a beer

Re: Site Slowness

Postposted on Mon Oct 07, 2013 9:01 am

It's been fine for me.

I wonder if it may be one of the ads and with people getting different ads based on location some are seeing it and some are not. If it does seem slow, take a note of what ads are showing, if we can narrow it down then I know Adam will throw that ad out of the rotation very quickly!
notfred
Maximum Gerbil
 
Posts: 4154
Joined: Tue Aug 10, 2004 10:10 am
Location: Ottawa, Canada

Re: Site Slowness

Postposted on Mon Oct 07, 2013 9:18 am

The slowness comes and goes and is not ad-related. It seems to me as if the server-side load-balancer refers calls to something that isn't working, as a series of refreshes eventually brings the site up in normal time/speed (i.e. cycling through the load-balancer destinations).
Build a man a fire and he's warm for the night. Set a man on fire and he's warm for the rest of his life.
Captain Ned
Global Moderator
Gold subscriber
 
 
Posts: 23631
Joined: Wed Jan 16, 2002 7:00 pm
Location: Vermont, USA

Re: Site Slowness

Postposted on Mon Oct 07, 2013 2:20 pm

I wonder if DNS comes into play? Maybe some providers are fooling with their DNS. Me I use Google's free DNS and have had no problems.
(\_/)
(O.o)
(''')(''')
Watch out for evil Terra-Tron; He Does not like you!
tanker27
Lord High Gerbil
Gold subscriber
 
 
Posts: 8340
Joined: Tue Feb 26, 2002 7:00 pm
Location: Georgia

Re: Site Slowness

Postposted on Mon Oct 07, 2013 2:30 pm

tanker27 wrote:I wonder if DNS comes into play? Maybe some providers are fooling with their DNS. Me I use Google's free DNS and have had no problems.
OpenDNS here.
Build a man a fire and he's warm for the night. Set a man on fire and he's warm for the rest of his life.
Captain Ned
Global Moderator
Gold subscriber
 
 
Posts: 23631
Joined: Wed Jan 16, 2002 7:00 pm
Location: Vermont, USA

Re: Site Slowness

Postposted on Mon Oct 07, 2013 2:31 pm

Captain Ned wrote:The slowness comes and goes and is not ad-related. It seems to me as if the server-side load-balancer refers calls to something that isn't working, as a series of refreshes eventually brings the site up in normal time/speed (i.e. cycling through the load-balancer destinations).


Uh, TR doesn't use load balancers. Dunno why you're seeing what you are, but that's not the reason.

Man, I haven't noticed the site being slow in a long, long time.
Scott Wasson - "Damage"
Editor - The Tech Report
Damage
TR Staff
 
Posts: 1779
Joined: Wed Dec 26, 2001 7:00 pm
Location: Lee's Summit, Missouri, USA

Re: Site Slowness

Postposted on Mon Oct 07, 2013 2:33 pm

It's better this afternoon but last night was really on/off, either fully slow or usual speed.
Build a man a fire and he's warm for the night. Set a man on fire and he's warm for the rest of his life.
Captain Ned
Global Moderator
Gold subscriber
 
 
Posts: 23631
Joined: Wed Jan 16, 2002 7:00 pm
Location: Vermont, USA

Re: Site Slowness

Postposted on Mon Oct 07, 2013 2:35 pm

None of the staff noticed anything lately, so we think it's related to your ISP, or at most one of the peer connections to our ISP.

However, if more data can be provided, that'd be helpful:

- Does your browser read anything in the status bar, like "waiting for X"?
- Is this site-wide or related to a specific section?
There is a fixed amount of intelligence on the planet, and the population keeps growing :(
morphine
Gerbilus Supremus
Silver subscriber
 
 
Posts: 11023
Joined: Fri Dec 27, 2002 8:51 pm
Location: Portugal (that's next to Spain)

Re: Site Slowness

Postposted on Mon Oct 07, 2013 2:39 pm

morphine wrote:None of the staff noticed anything lately, so we think it's related to your ISP, or at most one of the peer connections to our ISP.

However, if more data can be provided, that'd be helpful:

- Does your browser read anything in the status bar, like "waiting for X"?
- Is this site-wide or related to a specific section?


Browser (latest Chrome stable) reads techpreport.com in status bar. Meaning it's connected and waiting?
Site wide, even forums sometimes.

It's not consistent at all. And clicking that particular link or another link on the site seems to bypass the issue sometimes. Don't know what it is.
i7 6700K - Z170 - 16GiB DDR4 - GTX 980 Ti - 512GB SSD - 256GB SSD - 500GB SSD - 3TB HDD- 27" IPS G-sync - Win10 Pro x64
2015 13" rMBP El Capitan
Sony RX100
DancinJack
Minister of Gerbil Affairs
Gold subscriber
 
 
Posts: 2562
Joined: Sat Nov 25, 2006 3:21 pm
Location: Kansas

Re: Site Slowness

Postposted on Mon Oct 07, 2013 2:42 pm

morphine wrote:None of the staff noticed anything lately, so we think it's related to your ISP, or at most one of the peer connections to our ISP.

However, if more data can be provided, that'd be helpful:

- Does your browser read anything in the status bar, like "waiting for X"?
- Is this site-wide or related to a specific section?

Status bar says waiting and it was site-wide. At its worst I had to lick a link 4-5 times for the browser to even jump to the new URL.

EDIT: Now back home and it's dog-slow again, complete with needing to refresh several times just to get the URL to take. Home is Comcast using OpenDNS. Work site was Comcast Business.
Build a man a fire and he's warm for the night. Set a man on fire and he's warm for the rest of his life.
Captain Ned
Global Moderator
Gold subscriber
 
 
Posts: 23631
Joined: Wed Jan 16, 2002 7:00 pm
Location: Vermont, USA

Re: Site Slowness

Postposted on Mon Oct 07, 2013 3:44 pm

I'd hazard a guess at something being up with Comcast or the connection between Comcast and our provider. I just checked, and server load is our usual extremely low and I'm not seeing anything out of the ordinary. Site's been fast all day for all of us.

Ugh, troubleshooting problems like this sucks. For now I'm leaning towards Comcast, unless other users report issues.

Can you guys post a traceroute when it's slow? Just open a command line and do "tracert techreport.com" and then paste the results here, or PM to me if you're privacy-minded.

Important Notice: our provider is adding a redundant connection, so we're going to have spotty availability this morning, between 12AM ET and 4AM ET, so please ignore slowness during this period.
There is a fixed amount of intelligence on the planet, and the population keeps growing :(
morphine
Gerbilus Supremus
Silver subscriber
 
 
Posts: 11023
Joined: Fri Dec 27, 2002 8:51 pm
Location: Portugal (that's next to Spain)

Re: Site Slowness

Postposted on Mon Oct 07, 2013 4:05 pm

Slowest part right now is three hops through Cogent, but they're only 95 ms or so, and all of the Comcast hops are around 45-50 ms. Hopefully I'll get another period of slowdown when I can get better data.
Build a man a fire and he's warm for the night. Set a man on fire and he's warm for the rest of his life.
Captain Ned
Global Moderator
Gold subscriber
 
 
Posts: 23631
Joined: Wed Jan 16, 2002 7:00 pm
Location: Vermont, USA

Re: Site Slowness

Postposted on Mon Oct 07, 2013 4:30 pm

Captain Ned wrote:Slowest part right now is three hops through Cogent, but they're only 95 ms or so, and all of the Comcast hops are around 45-50 ms. Hopefully I'll get another period of slowdown when I can get better data.


Same here. I'll shoot it over to you in a PM though.

Edit: FWIW, I could trigger it earlier by clicking the same link three or four times and i'd get it to stall. That doesn't seem to be happening now. I'll see if i can get a trace when it's slow.
i7 6700K - Z170 - 16GiB DDR4 - GTX 980 Ti - 512GB SSD - 256GB SSD - 500GB SSD - 3TB HDD- 27" IPS G-sync - Win10 Pro x64
2015 13" rMBP El Capitan
Sony RX100
DancinJack
Minister of Gerbil Affairs
Gold subscriber
 
 
Posts: 2562
Joined: Sat Nov 25, 2006 3:21 pm
Location: Kansas

Re: Site Slowness

Postposted on Mon Oct 07, 2013 6:25 pm

Still slowest through Cogent and given the router names including the string "jfkxx" (where xx is a number) I'm guessing that there's congestion in a NYC-based Cogent facility. Unfortunately Cogent routers are not part of the Internet Traffic Report so there's no outside data.

EDIT: Interesting. Transit is now through Level 3 with 70 ms latency. Comcast must have tweaked something.

EDIT 2: 30 seconds later it's back through Cogent with the same 95 ms. Ain't routing fun?

EDIT 3: For those few poor souls like me who find routing issues to be fascinating, check out http://www.renesys.com/blog
Build a man a fire and he's warm for the night. Set a man on fire and he's warm for the rest of his life.
Captain Ned
Global Moderator
Gold subscriber
 
 
Posts: 23631
Joined: Wed Jan 16, 2002 7:00 pm
Location: Vermont, USA

Re: Site Slowness

Postposted on Mon Oct 07, 2013 9:34 pm

I used to work at Cisco, and I once got sent to Milan, Italy to fix IPTV just before the World Cup. At that point (several years ago) the Internet routing tables at that site were getting an update every 1-2 seconds. I was also working on the CRS when RIPE found the BGP bug in it by advertising extra attributes. BGP is scary...
notfred
Maximum Gerbil
 
Posts: 4154
Joined: Tue Aug 10, 2004 10:10 am
Location: Ottawa, Canada

Re: Site Slowness

Postposted on Mon Oct 07, 2013 9:44 pm

notfred wrote:BGP is scary...

And, last I knew, it's all we've got for inter-router comm links.

EDIT: Fixing IPTV in Italy during the World Cup. No stress there; no sir, none at all.
Build a man a fire and he's warm for the night. Set a man on fire and he's warm for the rest of his life.
Captain Ned
Global Moderator
Gold subscriber
 
 
Posts: 23631
Joined: Wed Jan 16, 2002 7:00 pm
Location: Vermont, USA

Re: Site Slowness

Postposted on Tue Oct 08, 2013 8:33 am

FYI Bruno, problem seems to have subsided. Haven't noticed any issues since yesterday.
i7 6700K - Z170 - 16GiB DDR4 - GTX 980 Ti - 512GB SSD - 256GB SSD - 500GB SSD - 3TB HDD- 27" IPS G-sync - Win10 Pro x64
2015 13" rMBP El Capitan
Sony RX100
DancinJack
Minister of Gerbil Affairs
Gold subscriber
 
 
Posts: 2562
Joined: Sat Nov 25, 2006 3:21 pm
Location: Kansas

Re: Site Slowness

Postposted on Tue Oct 08, 2013 9:28 am

a tip for some people is to look at your Internet Security software and ads.

AdChoices (who seem to be serving a lot of TRs ads) cause me slowness with Norton Internet Security at home. I see that a lot.
Arvald
Gerbil Elite
Silver subscriber
 
 
Posts: 589
Joined: Tue Sep 27, 2011 12:14 pm
Location: Gerbil-land, Canada

Re: Site Slowness

Postposted on Tue Oct 08, 2013 9:36 am

FWIW, I looked into this yesterday as well, it seemed to be related to Comcast's DNS servers. Since I use a local DNS server with one of the Great Old One DNS servers as a forwarder, it didn't seem to apply.

Switched to the provided Comcast ones (those are national, BTW), and saw the issue as described. Resolution calls stalled out, primarily on ads.
Razorback - Arch-6430U - i7-3687U - 16GB - Intel HD4000
Rocinante - Ubuntu-E5530 - i5-3230M - 16GB - Intel HD4000
Donnager - Arch-M4800 - i7-4800MQ - 32GB - Intel HD4600/Quadro K2100M
Vargr - Arch-Vargr - i7-4790K - 32GB - Intel HD4600/GeForce GTX 970
Forge
Lord High Gerbil
 
Posts: 8141
Joined: Wed Dec 26, 2001 7:00 pm
Location: SouthEast PA

Re: Site Slowness

Postposted on Tue Oct 08, 2013 9:37 am

Forge wrote:FWIW, I looked into this yesterday as well, it seemed to be related to Comcast's DNS servers. Since I use a local DNS server with one of the Great Old One DNS servers as a forwarder, it didn't seem to apply.

Switched to the provided Comcast ones (those are national, BTW), and saw the issue as described. Resolution calls stalled out, primarily on ads.

Whereas I was having the issue using OpenDNS over Comcast.
Build a man a fire and he's warm for the night. Set a man on fire and he's warm for the rest of his life.
Captain Ned
Global Moderator
Gold subscriber
 
 
Posts: 23631
Joined: Wed Jan 16, 2002 7:00 pm
Location: Vermont, USA

Re: Site Slowness

Postposted on Tue Oct 08, 2013 10:42 am

notfred wrote:I used to work at Cisco, and I once got sent to Milan, Italy to fix IPTV just before the World Cup. At that point (several years ago) the Internet routing tables at that site were getting an update every 1-2 seconds. I was also working on the CRS when RIPE found the BGP bug in it by advertising extra attributes. BGP is scary...


Italy hasnt hosted the World Cup since 1990??? >.>
(\_/)
(O.o)
(''')(''')
Watch out for evil Terra-Tron; He Does not like you!
tanker27
Lord High Gerbil
Gold subscriber
 
 
Posts: 8340
Joined: Tue Feb 26, 2002 7:00 pm
Location: Georgia

Re: Site Slowness

Postposted on Tue Oct 08, 2013 11:05 am

tanker27 wrote:
notfred wrote:I used to work at Cisco, and I once got sent to Milan, Italy to fix IPTV just before the World Cup. At that point (several years ago) the Internet routing tables at that site were getting an update every 1-2 seconds. I was also working on the CRS when RIPE found the BGP bug in it by advertising extra attributes. BGP is scary...


Italy hasnt hosted the World Cup since 1990??? >.>

So? He was likely fixing it so they could watch it over IPTV, not broadcast... World Cup is what? every 4 years?
Arvald
Gerbil Elite
Silver subscriber
 
 
Posts: 589
Joined: Tue Sep 27, 2011 12:14 pm
Location: Gerbil-land, Canada

Re: Site Slowness

Postposted on Tue Oct 08, 2013 11:36 am

You're right, I read and inferred too much into the statement.
(\_/)
(O.o)
(''')(''')
Watch out for evil Terra-Tron; He Does not like you!
tanker27
Lord High Gerbil
Gold subscriber
 
 
Posts: 8340
Joined: Tue Feb 26, 2002 7:00 pm
Location: Georgia

Re: Site Slowness

Postposted on Tue Oct 08, 2013 1:53 pm

Captain Ned wrote:
Forge wrote:FWIW, I looked into this yesterday as well, it seemed to be related to Comcast's DNS servers. Since I use a local DNS server with one of the Great Old One DNS servers as a forwarder, it didn't seem to apply.

Switched to the provided Comcast ones (those are national, BTW), and saw the issue as described. Resolution calls stalled out, primarily on ads.

Whereas I was having the issue using OpenDNS over Comcast.


Weird. Are you able to reproduce the issue now?
Razorback - Arch-6430U - i7-3687U - 16GB - Intel HD4000
Rocinante - Ubuntu-E5530 - i5-3230M - 16GB - Intel HD4000
Donnager - Arch-M4800 - i7-4800MQ - 32GB - Intel HD4600/Quadro K2100M
Vargr - Arch-Vargr - i7-4790K - 32GB - Intel HD4600/GeForce GTX 970
Forge
Lord High Gerbil
 
Posts: 8141
Joined: Wed Dec 26, 2001 7:00 pm
Location: SouthEast PA

Re: Site Slowness

Postposted on Tue Oct 08, 2013 2:07 pm

Forge wrote:Weird. Are you able to reproduce the issue now?

Nope. Whatever was getting in the way no longer is.
Build a man a fire and he's warm for the night. Set a man on fire and he's warm for the rest of his life.
Captain Ned
Global Moderator
Gold subscriber
 
 
Posts: 23631
Joined: Wed Jan 16, 2002 7:00 pm
Location: Vermont, USA

Re: Site Slowness

Postposted on Tue Oct 08, 2013 2:15 pm

Arvald wrote:So? He was likely fixing it so they could watch it over IPTV, not broadcast... World Cup is what? every 4 years?
Yup. Turned up at the office and my contact took me to meet his manager. I shook his hand and he then held out his hand and said "Passport please". I just laughed it off, but later my contact told me he was only part joking :o

It turned out that the problem wasn't in my code, so I got to spend a week sitting in Milan watching people walk past and giving occasional updates on how the folks in San Jose who actually broke it were doing on fixing it.
notfred
Maximum Gerbil
 
Posts: 4154
Joined: Tue Aug 10, 2004 10:10 am
Location: Ottawa, Canada


Return to The Back Porch

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot], Google [Bot] and 22 guests