I've got a problem....

Hang out, sip some ice tea, and shoot the breeze with TR regulars.

Moderators: emkubed, Captain Ned

I've got a problem....

Postposted on Fri Feb 28, 2014 9:04 am

So I have a little problem but first some background. A few years ago I was a Server admin and on my companies server team. I was sort of satisfied but when it came to advancement to like senior server admin there was little hope for this unless I was willing to leave the company. Something which I dont want to do because it really is a good company. The benefits are fantastic and so are the perks. In my mind those things add up when you dont have them anymore. And besides since college I got tired of jumping from company to company. I have now been here 12 years. And while sometimes it feels a little like "time to make the donuts" (yeah I just dated myself) overall its been good.

So a few years ago I realized that there was very little hopes for advancement. However, I was sequestered for a neat little project that eventually brought in SharePoint to the company. After we built the infrastructure and got it in place it was noted that we needed a dedicated SharePoint team, admins, devs, analysts the whole nine yards. So I left for the SharePoint team, which in reality consisted of the project team only adding some BAs and a manager.

Fast forward to today, the team has evolved and so have I. I have moved from doing anything Server Admin or hardware related to being a SharePoint developer. I develop apps on/ in SharePoint using .NET, Javascript, CSS, HTML5.....etc. And I am pretty much happy. I also have to say never in a million years did I think I would be coding. But here I am. Code Monkey Extraordinaire, heh.