Issues that prevent one from getting a TS/SCI

Hang out, sip some ice tea, and shoot the breeze with TR regulars.

Moderators: emkubed, Captain Ned

Issues that prevent one from getting a TS/SCI

Postposted on Sun Apr 27, 2014 11:39 pm

Long story short (too late...) I got a misdemeaner DUI in Podunk Georgia. MY BAC was .004, so they did a blood draw, and notice that the THC level maxed out the chart (and they found about a half gram my then girfriend had hidden in the car). I plead guilty to DUI (to get the possession charge dropped), spend two days in county jail, lost my license and was on probation for one year (all that's been finalized and cleared up). Not to make an excuse for my stupidity, but my best friend, father, and grandfather all died in rapid succession, so I went off the rails that day and smoked a bunch of pot. Needless to say, I lost my job over it, too.

Right now, I'm having an incredibly difficult time finding full-time work. I'm a certified network engineer, support pro for a MAJOR telcom equipment manufacturer, I've even been earning more network certs, and even learning Japanese and Mandarin, just in the hopes of looking attractive to potential employers. I've got former co-workers talking me up to recruiters, and trying to pass on leads,, but nada. I'm even a certified welder (stick/MIG up to 1 inch), but I HATE it, and I'm terrible at it.

All the jobs search agents I run, and all the looking I do show TONs of jobs that I'm more than qualified for, but they all require TS/SCI and POLYGRAPH.

I'm pretty much screwed on being to get a clearance, unless I can get a job that eventually would pay for me to get a clearance. And I'm 38, so I'm too damned old to enlist in the Navy or Army (Signal Corps or upgrading networks on surface fleet).

Anybody know of anything I can do? I can't get the DUI expunged for at least 4 more years (or can bribe the judge).

EDIT: