Personal computing discussed

Moderators: renee, Hoser

Fubar
Gerbil
Topic Author

Teleporting in UT

Wed Apr 17, 2002 5:22 pm

Guys/Gals,

Need a little help with UT. Know the game's been out a while but I just started playing it a few months ago. Mainly play CTF games. I was in the CTF-Face map the other night and noticed several other players, while climbing the two hills on either side of the abyss on their way to the opponents castle, were jumping and disappearing and then landing well ahead of where they took off from. They were going from one castle to the next in a couple seconds while it took me several seconds. Also, once they reached the opponents castle they were jumping up to the first ledge with ease to escape my fire.

Is this what's called "teleporting" and how can I do it? I have a feeling I'm at a major competitive disadvantage without knowing how to do this?

CTG
Gerbil

Wed Apr 17, 2002 5:31 pm

Let's see if I remember this right. Switch to "weapon" 1 (not the impact hammer). Left click and you'll launch a disc. Once you right click you'll teleport to wherever that disc ended up.

Hoser
Lord High Gerbil

Thu Apr 18, 2002 1:38 pm

CTG is correct, this is a great way to win in CTF very easily. Beware though, that enemies can blow up your teleport disk, and you'll have to go, and set up another one.

Good luck!

murray
Gerbil XP

Thu Apr 18, 2002 4:46 pm

If you get really bored, you can try planting where it's not so visible, and telefragging people when they walk over it. Of course, they'll call you a camper and be right, but there's nothing quite like a telefrag :)

Fubar
Gerbil
Topic Author

Fri Apr 19, 2002 2:02 pm

Thanks for the hints but I think I may be confused.

If you shoot the disc can you then leave it without right mouse clicking to teleport? Is that what you're referring to when you say shoot it somewhere and then leave it to come back to later?

Also, can you just shoot a rocket or something at an opponents disk and blow it up?