Does Far Cry 2 have 64 bit

How we justify all that high-dollar hardware.

Moderator: Hoser

Does Far Cry 2 have 64 bit

Postposted on Tue Nov 04, 2008 4:53 pm

I have 4Gb of ram and Vista 64 bit. With far cry i can only see a Win32 folder and no 64 bit. why?
EVGA GTX 570 | Q6600 @ 3.2Ghz | Gigabyte Mobo (GA-EP35-DS3L) | 4Gb Memory @ 800Mhz | 1TB HD | Corsair 650 PSU | Antec 900 Twin Black Tower | Windows 7 Ultimate 64 bit
Mondos
Gerbil XP
 
Posts: 440
Joined: Thu May 22, 2008 4:33 pm

Re: Does Far Cry 2 have 64 bit

Postposted on Tue Nov 04, 2008 5:00 pm

because it wasn't coded in x64. :roll:

Maybe they were lazy or something.
Increase your half open TCIP connections with the Half-open.com utility.
eric93se
Graphmaster Gerbil
 
Posts: 1263
Joined: Thu Sep 04, 2008 4:31 pm
Location: Home of the most reprehensible false flag attack in the world.

Re: Does Far Cry 2 have 64 bit

Postposted on Tue Nov 04, 2008 5:06 pm

In FC2's defense, Crysis: Warhead doesn't have 64-bit stuff either (the original game did, but reviews varied on whether it matters).
It existed though at least, but was removed just before the game came out. There's no evidence to suggest they won't give it back with a patch later.
Meadows
Grand Gerbil Poohbah
Silver subscriber
 
 
Posts: 3188
Joined: Mon Oct 08, 2007 1:10 pm
Location: Location: Location

Re: Does Far Cry 2 have 64 bit

Postposted on Sun Nov 08, 2009 1:28 am

My Crysis: Warhead has x64 support - I can't remember if I patched it or not but it definitely is supported (along with Crysis Wars - I think the original Cysis needed patching for x64 support, but it is well worth it)
As for Farcry 2 - Mine didn't come with x64 support & I have yet to find a patch if that helps.
-Glenn
G.Heslehurst
Gerbil In Training
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Sun Nov 08, 2009 1:21 am

Re: Does Far Cry 2 have 64 bit

Postposted on Sun Nov 08, 2009 2:28 am

Meadows wrote:In FC2's defense, Crysis: Warhead doesn't have 64-bit stuff either (the original game did, but reviews varied on whether it matters).
It existed though at least, but was removed just before the game came out. There's no evidence to suggest they won't give it back with a patch later.
it was added in the fist patch.

http://www.bigdownload.com/games/crysis ... d-patch-1/
Fixes a number of issue and adds features to Crysis Warhead, including 64-bit support.
toyota
Gerbil
 
Posts: 45
Joined: Mon Apr 03, 2006 8:52 pm

Re: Does Far Cry 2 have 64 bit

Postposted on Sun Nov 08, 2009 4:40 pm

toyota wrote:it was added in the fist patch.


Is that where you patch a working game and it breaks? :wink: :P

Sorry, couldn't resist.
Vae victus.
Vinceant
Gerbil First Class
 
Posts: 183
Joined: Thu Apr 26, 2007 8:25 pm

Re: Does Far Cry 2 have 64 bit

Postposted on Sun Nov 08, 2009 5:54 pm

If anything, 64-bit seemed to run worse for me in Crysis. I don't think you should worry about not being able to run FarCry 2 in 64-bit mode.
Intel Q9300@3.3Ghz w/ Xigmatek HDT-S1283|Sapphire HD 4850 512MB|G.Skill Pi Black 4GB DDR2 800|Gigabyte EP45-DS3L|WD SE16 640GB|Antec Neo Power 500|Antec Nine Hundred|Dell S2209W|Logitech G9|Sidewinder X6|Razer Exactmat|Klipsch ProMedia 2.1|Windows 7 64
Obsidian
Gerbil Elite
 
Posts: 835
Joined: Tue Mar 25, 2008 11:37 am
Location: Michigan


Return to Gaming

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot], Jing and 9 guests