Executable in Steam Games?

How we justify all that high-dollar hardware.

Moderator: Hoser

Executable in Steam Games?

Postposted on Fri Oct 30, 2009 8:21 am

I am trying to setup ntune so one of my profiles will load when I start my games (Left 4 Dead, TF2, etc.). The only problem is that when I go to pick the game I want to make launch my profile, there really is no executable file to launch the game. How do I set this up?
EVGA GTX 570 | Q6600 @ 3.2Ghz | Gigabyte Mobo (GA-EP35-DS3L) | 4Gb Memory @ 800Mhz | 1TB HD | Corsair 650 PSU | Antec 900 Twin Black Tower | Windows 7 Ultimate 64 bit
Mondos
Gerbil XP
 
Posts: 440
Joined: Thu May 22, 2008 4:33 pm

Re: Executable in Steam Games?

Postposted on Fri Oct 30, 2009 9:10 am

C:\Program Files\Steam\steamapps\turtleperson2\team fortress 2\hl2.exe

That's my executable for TF2. I would expect your's is probably a little bit different unless you're TurtlePerson2 as well.
"TORTURIS EXUVIAS EUNT"
Phenom X6 1090T @ 3.2 GHz
Sapphire Radeon 6950
TurtlePerson2
Graphmaster Gerbil
 
Posts: 1097
Joined: Sat May 26, 2007 9:08 am
Location: Plano, Texas

Re: Executable in Steam Games?

Postposted on Fri Oct 30, 2009 9:17 am

The executables are all located somewhere in your "Steamapps" folder. A quick way of finding the location is to create a desktop shortcut to the game from within Steam, then look at the shortcut properties. You could then copy the path directly from the shortcut to your ntune profile.

Edit - having got home and tried this, the shortcut created is just to Steam itself with a number passed to the executable to identify the game, so I don't think this will work for what you're after. You'll just have to browse manually through the steamapps folder (some games seem to be under "common", others in a folder that matches your steamid).
Last edited by MrJP on Fri Oct 30, 2009 7:16 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Q9550@3.4 ~ Asus P5E ~ 4GB XMS2-6400C5DHX ~ Gigabyte Windforce 3X 7950 3GB
Xigmatek S1283 ~ LG DVDRW ~ Samsung F3 1TB ~ WD Caviar SE 640GB ~ Asus Xonar DX ~ Corsair HX 520W
Antec P182 ~ Logitech G7/G15/G25 ~ Sennheiser HD555 ~ BenQ FP241W
MrJP
Gerbil Elite
 
Posts: 827
Joined: Wed Nov 20, 2002 5:04 pm
Location: Surrey, UK

Re: Executable in Steam Games?

Postposted on Fri Oct 30, 2009 9:30 am

If you right click the launch icon in steam and choose properties, I believe it will have the path to it's location. I could be wrong, it's been a while. I needed it when I was learning how to mic-spam music over steam applications. Very fun.
Corsair 600T | ASUS P8P67 PRO | Intel 2500k @ 4.4Ghz | EVGA 560 TI | G.SKILL Ripjaws Series 8GB | Corsair HX650 650W
steelcity_ballin
Gerbilus Supremus
Silver subscriber
 
 
Posts: 11924
Joined: Mon May 26, 2003 5:55 am
Location: Pittsburgh PA


Return to Gaming

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot], derFunkenstein and 3 guests