Mass Effect Win 7 64 Bit Crashes Rite from Utility Screen

How we justify all that high-dollar hardware.

Moderator: Hoser

Mass Effect Win 7 64 Bit Crashes Rite from Utility Screen

Postposted on Wed Dec 23, 2009 11:41 pm

Here's my rig:

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.a ... 883229129R

It's a Cyber Power Gamer Ultra with 64 bit win 7 that I added a 1Gig Hd4850 card to...

Brand CyberpowerPC
Model Gamer Ultra 2019
Processor AMD Athlon II X2 245(2.9GHz)
HD 4850 1G
4GB (2x2GB) DDR2 800
Win 7 64 bit


After installing Mass Effect and running it the config utility appears than crashes.. Any fixes?
matnath1
Gerbil Team Leader
Gold subscriber
 
 
Posts: 258
Joined: Thu Jan 27, 2005 3:21 am

Re: Mass Effect Win 7 64 Bit Crashes Rite from Utility Screen

Postposted on Thu Dec 24, 2009 12:25 am

Update your drivers. I had this same problem, but after updating my sound card driver I had no problem.

Also, are you overclocking? Mass Effect wouldn't work if my GPU was overclocked at all.
"TORTURIS EXUVIAS EUNT"
Phenom X6 1090T @ 3.2 GHz
Sapphire Radeon 6950
TurtlePerson2
Graphmaster Gerbil
 
Posts: 1097
Joined: Sat May 26, 2007 9:08 am
Location: Plano, Texas

Re: Mass Effect Win 7 64 Bit Crashes Rite from Utility Screen

Postposted on Thu Dec 24, 2009 12:50 am

I have not had this problem. BUT! from a few folks I know, the issue always seems to be audio drivers.
(drunk post, sorry )
MaxTheLimit
Gerbil Jedi
 
Posts: 1808
Joined: Wed Jan 17, 2007 10:00 pm
Location: Ontario, Canada

Re: Mass Effect Win 7 64 Bit Crashes Rite from Utility Screen

Postposted on Thu Dec 24, 2009 3:43 pm

So after searching the UT3 forums for like issues (ME and UT3 use the same engine) I stumbled across a post that stated the following:

1) in /program files/Mass Effect/Binaries locate the OpenAL32.dll and wrap_oal.dll files

2) Rename OpenAL32.dll to OpenAL32.bak

3) Rename wrap_oal.dll to OpenAL32.dll

4) Launch as Admin by using the MassEffect.exe

5) Enjoy

you dont have to do step 4 since you are using Win 7
(\_/)
(O.o)
(''')(''')
Wounded Warrior Project
Watch out for evil Terra-Tron; He Does not like you!
tanker27
Darth Gerbil
 
Posts: 7284
Joined: Tue Feb 26, 2002 7:00 pm
Location: Georgia

Re: Mass Effect Win 7 64 Bit Crashes Rite from Utility Screen

Postposted on Thu Dec 24, 2009 4:08 pm

I used the fix earlier this year that was listed by tanker27 and it made the unplayable game playable all the way through -- no further crashes.

EDIT - changed "with" to "this"
Win 8.1 Pro 64-bit-Intel i7 965-Noctua NH-C12P-ASUS P6T Deluxe-Patriot Viper Xtreme 24GB DDR3 1600-SanDisk 240GB SSD-2 WD Velociraptors 300GB-WD RE3 1TB -Radeon 6970-ASUS Xonar Essence -LG GBW-H20L Blu-ray-Thermaltake W0133RU 1200W-CoolerMaster CM 832
Neutronbeam
Gerbil XP
Silver subscriber
 
 
Posts: 352
Joined: Mon Mar 20, 2006 10:07 am
Location: Atlanta, Georgia USA

Re: Mass Effect Win 7 64 Bit Crashes Rite from Utility Screen

Postposted on Thu Dec 24, 2009 11:12 pm

I just installed the game less than an hour ago and had the same issues. First thing I did was look for an update and installed the free downloadable content for the game that I believe comes with big fixes, made sure I ran the game as administrator and it stopped crashing. I have Win 7 Ultimate 64-bit and my video card is overclocked.



This link has a bunch of bug work-arounds as well:
http://meforums.bioware.com/viewtopic.h ... &forum=127
BerserkBen
Gerbil Elite
Silver subscriber
 
 
Posts: 850
Joined: Mon Oct 20, 2003 2:40 am
Location: Detroit

Re: Mass Effect Win 7 64 Bit Crashes Rite from Utility Screen

Postposted on Thu Dec 24, 2009 11:36 pm

Just re-installed the game: you need the DLC, Bring Down the Sky, and the 1.02 patch off of Fileshack, and all is well. Note that there is a paid DLC called something station out there as well, that you'll need to be fully patched for.
Canon 6D|24-105/4L IS USM|70-300/4-5.6 IS USM|40/2.8 STM|50/1.4 USM|85/1.8 USM|Samyang/Bower 14/2.8 Full-Manual Rectilinear Wide-angle|24/2.8 IS USM|
Canon EOS-M|11-22/4-5.6 IS STM|22/2 STM|EF-M 18-55/3.5-5.6 IS STM|
Airmantharp
Gerbil Elder
Gold subscriber
 
 
Posts: 5075
Joined: Fri Oct 15, 2004 10:41 pm

Re: Mass Effect Win 7 64 Bit Crashes Rite from Utility Screen

Postposted on Sat Dec 26, 2009 5:47 pm

Thanks Airmanthartp BUT.....WHat is a DLC?
matnath1
Gerbil Team Leader
Gold subscriber
 
 
Posts: 258
Joined: Thu Jan 27, 2005 3:21 am

Re: Mass Effect Win 7 64 Bit Crashes Rite from Utility Screen

Postposted on Sat Dec 26, 2009 6:47 pm

matdem1 wrote:Thanks Airmanthartp BUT.....WHat is a DLC?


Downloadable Content. The first one, which is free, also patches the game. I also noted that until I patched the game, I couldn't get the configuration screen to load without crashing.
Canon 6D|24-105/4L IS USM|70-300/4-5.6 IS USM|40/2.8 STM|50/1.4 USM|85/1.8 USM|Samyang/Bower 14/2.8 Full-Manual Rectilinear Wide-angle|24/2.8 IS USM|
Canon EOS-M|11-22/4-5.6 IS STM|22/2 STM|EF-M 18-55/3.5-5.6 IS STM|
Airmantharp
Gerbil Elder
Gold subscriber
 
 
Posts: 5075
Joined: Fri Oct 15, 2004 10:41 pm

Re: Mass Effect Win 7 64 Bit Crashes Rite from Utility Scree

Postposted on Tue Mar 06, 2012 6:41 pm

I did the rename thing (from tanker27 above) in binaries and it did not repeat did not change a thing..... I still get the windows configuration box that runs and then closes out the game.....and when I go to properties there is no Run as Administrator.....btw I have win7x64 Hm Prem also and have a WEI 5 rating and I also have downloaded and played ME2, both games I have are DVDs ....the ME1 is a UK version as it was the only ones that were reasonable on Amazon and should that make any difference other than the dialogue is toned down a bit from US ver.....the back cover of ME1 says it is for Vista and Vista OS game I haven't had that much trouble with and when I did download the game (ME1) it took the key code and did not connect to steam to verify. Any body with any more ideas??? this being a 3 yr old post hopefully somebody is still out there....ah I'll just do a new topic
Sam~
tazmo8448
Gerbil In Training
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Tue Mar 06, 2012 6:27 pm

Re: Mass Effect Win 7 64 Bit Crashes Rite from Utility Scree

Postposted on Thu Mar 08, 2012 12:51 pm

tazmo8448 wrote:I did the rename thing (from tanker27 above) in binaries and it did not repeat did not change a thing..... I still get the windows configuration box that runs and then closes out the game.....and when I go to properties there is no Run as Administrator.....btw I have win7x64 Hm Prem also and have a WEI 5 rating and I also have downloaded and played ME2, both games I have are DVDs ....the ME1 is a UK version as it was the only ones that were reasonable on Amazon and should that make any difference other than the dialogue is toned down a bit from US ver.....the back cover of ME1 says it is for Vista and Vista OS game I haven't had that much trouble with and when I did download the game (ME1) it took the key code and did not connect to steam to verify. Any body with any more ideas??? this being a 3 yr old post hopefully somebody is still out there....ah I'll just do a new topic
Sam~


I had this problem 30 min ago, read the tanker's post and fixed it :).
Do not run the shortcut which is on your desktop (or MassEffectLauncher.exe which is located in the installation folder) and you will not activate the configuration box (which, in my opinion, crashes the game) . Just run MassEffect.exe (it is located in the Binaries folder).
It works on my PC (win7x64 proff) and laptop (win7x64 Home Basic).
Good luck :)
glases
Gerbil In Training
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Thu Mar 08, 2012 12:42 pm


Return to Gaming

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google Adsense [Bot] and 5 guests