TF2 9.5 GB WTF?

How we justify all that high-dollar hardware.

Moderator: Hoser

TF2 9.5 GB WTF?

Postposted on Fri May 06, 2011 1:09 pm

Just got my spanking new rig set up... Steam's installed, re-DLing games for fresh install's sake.

Anyway, TF is ~9.5 GB to DL?

I just have to ask, what makes an FPS that gigantic?

The maps? The textures? The hats? I'm just amazed it's quite THAT large.

I'd look myself, but itt'l be a couple hours yet before it's done DLing, and my old box is OTS ATM.
DairyCreamer
Gerbil
 
Posts: 81
Joined: Mon Aug 30, 2010 12:37 pm

Re: TF2 9.5 GB WTF?

Postposted on Fri May 06, 2011 1:44 pm

But does your old hard drive still work?

Copy the Steam dir from your old hard drive to your new and you won't have to re-download TF2. I doubt that freshness is worth hours and hours of downloads.
Decibel
Gerbil In Training
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Mon Jan 10, 2011 12:23 pm

Re: TF2 9.5 GB WTF?

Postposted on Fri May 06, 2011 2:25 pm

DairyCreamer wrote:I just have to ask, what makes an FPS that gigantic?

The maps? The textures? The hats? I'm just amazed it's quite THAT large.

I'd look myself, but itt'l be a couple hours yet before it's done DLing, and my old box is OTS ATM.


Years of incremental updates and additions can lead to some huge download file sizes.
MaxTheLimit
Gerbil Jedi
 
Posts: 1803
Joined: Wed Jan 17, 2007 10:00 pm
Location: Ontario, Canada

Re: TF2 9.5 GB WTF?

Postposted on Fri May 06, 2011 2:47 pm

Oh, it does... but I'm ok with re-DLing it while I tinker with windows and such, and get everything else in order.

Just amazing how big it is.
DairyCreamer
Gerbil
 
Posts: 81
Joined: Mon Aug 30, 2010 12:37 pm

Re: TF2 9.5 GB WTF?

Postposted on Fri May 06, 2011 3:02 pm

That's what she said!

Seriously though, look at how big L4D1 and 2 sit on a drive and they aren't nearly as old and don't have nearly the additional content that TF2 now has.

I'm at work right now, but I'm sure they are hefty in their own right.
MaxTheLimit
Gerbil Jedi
 
Posts: 1803
Joined: Wed Jan 17, 2007 10:00 pm
Location: Ontario, Canada

Re: TF2 9.5 GB WTF?

Postposted on Fri May 06, 2011 7:27 pm

hats
xtalentx
Gerbil Team Leader
 
Posts: 277
Joined: Thu Oct 02, 2008 11:53 am

Re: TF2 9.5 GB WTF?

Postposted on Mon May 09, 2011 6:10 am

LOL some new games are like 35GB installed... somehow... (lack of compression).

9GB is TINY considering the game is still being updated.
Core i7 4770K | eVGA GTX770 SC ACX | 16GB DDR3 2133mhz | Asus Z87-PLUS | Corsair HX650 | Fractal Define R4 | Samsung 840 Pro 256GB | Windows 8 x64
yogibbear
Gerbil Elite
Gold subscriber
 
 
Posts: 665
Joined: Fri Feb 08, 2008 11:30 am

Re: TF2 9.5 GB WTF?

Postposted on Mon May 09, 2011 9:29 am

MaxTheLimit wrote:That's what she said!

Seriously though, look at how big L4D1 and 2 sit on a drive and they aren't nearly as old and don't have nearly the additional content that TF2 now has.

I'm at work right now, but I'm sure they are hefty in their own right.

~4.8GB and 7GB, respectively. Heck, Portal says it's 3.5GB, which is insane.

I think at least some of that space is shared among Source engine games.
I do not understand what I do. For what I want to do, I do not do. But what I hate, I do.
derFunkenstein
Gerbil God
Gold subscriber
 
 
Posts: 21252
Joined: Fri Feb 21, 2003 9:13 pm
Location: WHAT?

Re: TF2 9.5 GB WTF?

Postposted on Mon May 09, 2011 10:52 am

Download one source negine game first and it should reduce the file size for subsequent source games
My Dreamcast PC thread
Main Rig: FX-6100 / Radeon 6950 / Velociraptor HD because old school rotations
pikaporeon
Graphmaster Gerbil
 
Posts: 1312
Joined: Mon Nov 19, 2007 4:42 pm
Location: Mississauga, ON, Canada.


Return to Gaming

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 9 guests