Dirt 3

How we justify all that high-dollar hardware.

Moderator: Hoser

Dirt 3

Postposted on Wed May 25, 2011 11:49 am

Has anyone tried Dirt 3 yet? What are your thoughts? Is it worth upgrading from Dirt 2?
...time to update my signature.
spiritwalker2222
Gerbil XP
 
Posts: 369
Joined: Thu Dec 30, 2004 12:50 am
Location: Ottawa, Canada

Re: Dirt 3

Postposted on Thu May 26, 2011 6:05 pm

I postponed my purchase of Dirt 3 because its predecessor went on sale for $20 within two months of release.
#182 TT: 13/DNVT, Precedence: Flash Override. Switch: Node Center. MSE forever.
Contingency
Gerbil Jedi
 
Posts: 1533
Joined: Sat Jun 19, 2004 4:03 pm
Location: al.us

Re: Dirt 3

Postposted on Sat May 28, 2011 12:19 am

spiritwalker2222 wrote:Has anyone tried Dirt 3 yet? What are your thoughts? Is it worth upgrading from Dirt 2?

I watched my friend play it. If you're still having fun with Dirt 2 I would wait.

It looks good. Not like leaps and bounds over Dirt 2 good, but the graphics are nice.
Intel Core i7-875K, Asus P7P55D-E Pro, Win 7 Home Premium
MSI GTX 560 Ti OC, Mushkin 2x2GB DDR3-1333, Corsair TX650
Cooler Master Hyper 212+, Logitech Z-2300, ASUS Xonar DX
Samsung Spinpoint F3 1TB, Dell Ultrasharp U2410, Antec P183
DeadOfKnight
Gerbil Elite
Gold subscriber
 
 
Posts: 636
Joined: Tue May 18, 2010 1:20 pm

Re: Dirt 3

Postposted on Sun May 29, 2011 5:10 pm

i just posted benchmark run and 3 gameplay videos on my youtube channel.

game looks great. one thing that made me happy - they got rid of those annoying menu sequences.
www.youtube.com/user/2x4 - benchmarks and gameplay videos

Intel core i7 3.2--EVGA X58--EVGA GTX 580--Auzentech Prelude 7.1--12GB DDR3 1600--ANTEC P190--SAMSUNG 245T 24"--Samsung Spinpoint 2x2TB
2x4
Gerbil Elite
 
Posts: 522
Joined: Wed Sep 19, 2007 10:55 pm
Location: jc

Re: Dirt 3

Postposted on Sun May 29, 2011 6:45 pm

Where or where is my beloved Grid 2?
Venii, vidii, vicii
Wii came, Wii saw , Wii conquered
Sargent Duck
Grand Gerbil Poohbah
Silver subscriber
 
 
Posts: 3076
Joined: Thu Mar 13, 2003 8:05 pm
Location: In my secret cave that has bats

Re: Dirt 3

Postposted on Sun May 29, 2011 11:05 pm

its ok , the gamichi parts are fun , but the overall game is the same same , but more gimicky
rhysl
Gerbil
 
Posts: 20
Joined: Mon Nov 17, 2008 5:41 pm

Re: Dirt 3

Postposted on Mon May 30, 2011 2:23 am

I want more tracks and vehicles Rally and Trailblazer. Maybe if they didn't put so much effort in gymkana trick stuff we could have had more rally content. Don't care for mush handling trucks and buggie racing either. I'm a keyboard player and those gymkana stuff is pain to play and not fun.

Vehicle physics are good and enjoyable. I played Dirt 2 just a little bit when it came out but dirt3 car handling feels a bit different. Can't seem to break into drift easily for cornering.

Fun part is to record replays with fraps and watch the cars go. And upload some to youtube.
Only if it had more tracks (and not shorter versions of same track and calling them different names >_<), it would have more replay value.
Coulda
Gerbil
 
Posts: 34
Joined: Thu Jun 10, 2010 2:58 am

Re: Dirt 3

Postposted on Mon May 30, 2011 5:06 am

Bought it on Steam. Somehow I feel that Dirt2 looked better? This one seems flat. There are stages I really like and the art direction/lighting seems nice, but something is missing. It's like playing a few years old game with flat textures, just more polygons this time.

I personally don't care about any of the gymkhana events. Don't like it that you are forced to do them. When they come along, I just lower the difficulty to pass them with minimal effort then go back to Advanced diff for the rally/trailblazer events. Keep that even for the truck/buggy as they seem to be easy even though I don't like those either.
TravelMug
Gerbil
Gold subscriber
 
 
Posts: 33
Joined: Fri Mar 16, 2007 5:53 am

Re: Dirt 3

Postposted on Mon May 30, 2011 5:13 am

So in-short i have to ignore this game, Thank you for the information gerbils. :)
Intel i5 4670K @ 4.8GHZ|ATI Radeon HD 7970 (Stock)| 12 GB RAM (Stock)| Xtreme Music with G500 5.1 | Panasonic "TH-L42E60" @ 120 HZ.
Jigar
Maximum Gerbil
Silver subscriber
 
 
Posts: 4612
Joined: Tue Mar 07, 2006 4:00 pm

Re: Dirt 3

Postposted on Wed Jun 01, 2011 4:48 am

Sargent Duck wrote:Where or where is my beloved Grid 2?


WTF..... :o :o :o
CaptTomato
Gerbil First Class
 
Posts: 150
Joined: Mon Nov 22, 2010 6:12 am
Location: Australia

Re: Dirt 3

Postposted on Wed Jun 01, 2011 4:51 am

Coulda wrote:I I played Dirt 2 just a little bit .


I played the Dirt2 demo with my DFGT and the feel in the pedals really sucked.
CM's seem to have a bad habit of ignoring feel in the pedals, as F1 2010 was also weak in the pedals.
CaptTomato
Gerbil First Class
 
Posts: 150
Joined: Mon Nov 22, 2010 6:12 am
Location: Australia

Re: Dirt 3

Postposted on Thu Jun 02, 2011 5:00 am

Daave wrote:EDIT BY MOD - Captain Ned - Downstream cleanup

I uploaded some replay videos to youtube. Maybe it will give you some idea about the game.
Nothing fancy. Just plain replay videos of whole lap of short rally tracks or parts of long tracks.
http://www.youtube.com/user/ragingquitter
Coulda
Gerbil
 
Posts: 34
Joined: Thu Jun 10, 2010 2:58 am

Re: Dirt 3

Postposted on Thu Jun 02, 2011 12:27 pm

CaptTomato wrote:I played the Dirt2 demo with my DFGT and the feel in the pedals really sucked.
CM's seem to have a bad habit of ignoring feel in the pedals, as F1 2010 was also weak in the pedals.


I didn't know the pedals have feedback. It would be nice, but I've never felt any feedback in my logitech GT pedals.
...time to update my signature.
spiritwalker2222
Gerbil XP
 
Posts: 369
Joined: Thu Dec 30, 2004 12:50 am
Location: Ottawa, Canada


Return to Gaming

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot] and 2 guests