TES V: Skyrim

How we justify all that high-dollar hardware.

Moderator: Hoser

Re: TES V: Skyrim

Postposted on Tue Jan 03, 2012 12:06 am

My Quad core CPU is hovering around 60 to 70 percent all the time, is this normal or should it be higher ? My FPS are between 30's to 60's depending upon the outdoor scenes...
Intel i5 4670K @ 4.0GHZ|ATI Radeon HD 7970| 12 GB RAM| Xtreme Music with G500 5.1 | Panasonic "TH-L42E60".
Jigar
Maximum Gerbil
Silver subscriber
 
 
Posts: 4595
Joined: Tue Mar 07, 2006 4:00 pm

Re: TES V: Skyrim

Postposted on Tue Jan 03, 2012 7:34 am

Normal, game is GPU constrained and doesn't thread brilliantly either.
Core i7 4770K | eVGA GTX770 SC ACX | 16GB DDR3 2133mhz | Asus Z87-PLUS | Corsair HX650 | Fractal Define R4 | Samsung 840 Pro 256GB | Windows 8 x64
yogibbear
Gerbil Elite
Gold subscriber
 
 
Posts: 668
Joined: Fri Feb 08, 2008 11:30 am

Re: TES V: Skyrim

Postposted on Tue Jan 03, 2012 12:28 pm

Looking for Knowledge wrote:What companion are you guys running with?

I've been using Jenassa, but am thinking of switching to one of the Companions (Aela or Farkas).


Man I hate companions. They mess up my sneaking and bump me when I am trying to snipe targets. I hate quests when I get stuck with a tag along. I am tough enough to destroy almost anything with a barrage of arrows and shouts in case I get pressed too hard.
xtalentx
Gerbil Team Leader
 
Posts: 277
Joined: Thu Oct 02, 2008 11:53 am

Re: TES V: Skyrim

Postposted on Tue Jan 03, 2012 1:25 pm

yogibbear wrote:Normal, game is GPU constrained and doesn't thread brilliantly either.


It is somewhat CPU dependent as well, Sandy bridge gets a noticeable boost in fps over Phenoms clock for clock.
Skyrim likes higher CPU clock frequencies as well.
ish718
Gerbil First Class
 
Posts: 183
Joined: Fri Feb 22, 2008 1:03 am

Re: TES V: Skyrim

Postposted on Tue Jan 10, 2012 11:16 am

ish718 wrote:
yogibbear wrote:Normal, game is GPU constrained and doesn't thread brilliantly either.


It is somewhat CPU dependent as well, Sandy bridge gets a noticeable boost in fps over Phenoms clock for clock.
Skyrim likes higher CPU clock frequencies as well.

Certainly noticed the performance boost going from a 3.2 ghz C2Q to a 4.2 ghz BD

(yes, I noticed a performance boost with Bulldozer. Seriously.)
My Dreamcast PC thread
Main Rig: FX-6100 / Radeon 6950 / Velociraptor HD because old school rotations
pikaporeon
Graphmaster Gerbil
 
Posts: 1312
Joined: Mon Nov 19, 2007 4:42 pm
Location: Mississauga, ON, Canada.

Re: TES V: Skyrim

Postposted on Tue Jan 10, 2012 7:47 pm

I have no complaints here at 2560x1600 with Ultra graphics settings.
i7-4770K, H70, Gryphon Z87, 16 GiB, R9-290, SSD, 2 HD, Blu-ray, SB ZX, TJ08-E, SS-660XP², 3007WFP+2001FP, RK-9000BR, MX518
JustAnEngineer
Gerbil God
Gold subscriber
 
 
Posts: 15402
Joined: Sat Jan 26, 2002 7:00 pm
Location: The Heart of Dixie

Re: TES V: Skyrim

Postposted on Sat Jan 21, 2012 7:11 pm

The terrain is wild. I've named my horse "Mako M35".
JustAnEngineer
Gerbil God
Gold subscriber
 
 
Posts: 15402
Joined: Sat Jan 26, 2002 7:00 pm
Location: The Heart of Dixie

Re: TES V: Skyrim

Postposted on Sat Jan 21, 2012 7:27 pm

lol since purchasing this 1-2 months ago. I haven't played it since. Lost interest in it real quick. Oh well. Better luck next time!
thegleek
Darth Gerbil
Gold subscriber
 
 
Posts: 7360
Joined: Tue Jun 10, 2003 11:06 am
Location: Detroit, MI

Re: TES V: Skyrim

Postposted on Sat Jan 21, 2012 9:11 pm

I have a Q9400 @ 3.2 and a 9600GT, as well as a PS3. Would I still be better off getting Skrim for the PC or would it require a graphics card update so it would be cheaper going PS3?
tfp
Grand Gerbil Poohbah
 
Posts: 3070
Joined: Wed Sep 24, 2003 11:09 am

Re: TES V: Skyrim

Postposted on Sat Feb 11, 2012 5:53 am

Just started trying to play Skyrim yesterday and it has been a nightmare. Ultra setting immediately BSoDs my system if I try to start a new game, throwing an error in the ATi drivers. If I set settings to high and then manually adjust all the parameters to ultra levels from the config utility in the launcher, I'm able to get into the game and play it. I thought I was good to go, but just now, I had the game hard freeze my entire computer again :x . Anyone have any advice to share about running Skyrim stably? For reference, my system:

Phenom X4 9950 OC'ed to 3.0GHz
8GB DDR2-1066
6950 2GB x2 in CFX
Xonar DX with UniXonar 1.4
Catalyst 12.1 with 12.1 CAP2
Windows 7 SP1 x64
Zoomastigophora
Gerbil Elite
 
Posts: 611
Joined: Tue Nov 11, 2008 7:10 pm

Re: TES V: Skyrim

Postposted on Sat Feb 11, 2012 9:37 am

Have you tried it without overclocking?
i7-4770K, H70, Gryphon Z87, 16 GiB, R9-290, SSD, 2 HD, Blu-ray, SB ZX, TJ08-E, SS-660XP², 3007WFP+2001FP, RK-9000BR, MX518
JustAnEngineer
Gerbil God
Gold subscriber
 
 
Posts: 15402
Joined: Sat Jan 26, 2002 7:00 pm
Location: The Heart of Dixie

Re: TES V: Skyrim

Postposted on Sat Feb 11, 2012 9:47 am

Got this the other day on the Steam sale.

WOW. Pretty! Deep!

There is one piece of eye candy that gets me every time I see it: running water. On High settings (the 4850 doesn't have the chops for Ultra[1]) rivers and waterfalls look /amazing/.

I haven't gotten too far into the game yet (just finished the Golden Claw sidequest and after that visited the Jarl) but I can see I'll have a few months' entertainment out of this puppy. My thanks to you early adopters for helping to get the bugs cleared out. :P


[1] Shows how amazing the 48xx cards were for their time, that it can run a really nice-looking game 3-4 years after release without sweating too much.
Think for yourself, schmuck!
i5-2500K@4.3|Asus P8P67-LE|8GB DDR3-1600|Powercolor R7850 2G|1.5TB 7200.11|1988 Model M|Saitek X-45 & P880|Logitech MX 518|Dell 2209WA|Sennheiser PC151|Asus Xonar DX
bthylafh
Grand Gerbil Poohbah
 
Posts: 3152
Joined: Mon Dec 29, 2003 11:55 pm
Location: Southwest Missouri, USA

Re: TES V: Skyrim

Postposted on Sat Feb 11, 2012 10:15 am

Zoomastigophora wrote: Anyone have any advice to share about running Skyrim stably?
For reference, my system:

Phenom X4 9950 OC'ed to 3.0GHz
8GB DDR2-1066
6950 2GB x2 in CFX
Xonar DX with UniXonar 1.4
Catalyst 12.1 with 12.1 CAP2
Windows 7 SP1 x64

I can suggest a couple of things.
Disable CFX
Roll back your drivers to v11.11
My game is set @:

Image

I'm running the recently released HD textures in addition to Skyrim HD 2K Textures (Full Version 1.4)
Game runs smooth. No issues. No crashes.
Gigabyte GA-990FXA-UD3 | AMD FX8350 Black Edition | Corsair XMS3 16GB DDR3 | XFX Radeon HD 7950 3GB | Win7 x64
HT Omega Claro | Technics SL-1210 MKll w/ Stanton 681EEE MKlll | Klipsch Promedia v4.1 | Sennheiser HD 580 Precision
IAmGhostDog
Gerbil Elite
 
Posts: 589
Joined: Sun Oct 10, 2004 10:56 am
Location: Milwaukee, Wisconsin

Re: TES V: Skyrim

Postposted on Sat Feb 11, 2012 10:32 am

I find it pretty odd that guys are having issues. I ran Ultra @ 1920x1200 with an i7 860 at stock and a 5850 at stock. The game did crash to desktop quite a few times in the first couple weeks but since then hasn't been an issue at all. I even had some mods running for extra textures and such from early on.
i7 860 - GA-P55-USB3 - 8GiB - HD7850 - SSD - 3.64TB HDD - Xonar D1 - U2410 - Win7 Pro x64.
DancinJack
Minister of Gerbil Affairs
 
Posts: 2037
Joined: Sat Nov 25, 2006 3:21 pm
Location: Austin, TX

Re: TES V: Skyrim

Postposted on Sat Feb 11, 2012 10:57 am

Zoomastigophora wrote:Just started trying to play Skyrim yesterday and it has been a nightmare. Ultra setting immediately BSoDs my system if I try to start a new game, throwing an error in the ATi drivers. If I set settings to high and then manually adjust all the parameters to ultra levels from the config utility in the launcher, I'm able to get into the game and play it. I thought I was good to go, but just now, I had the game hard freeze my entire computer again :x . Anyone have any advice to share about running Skyrim stably? For reference, my system:

Phenom X4 9950 OC'ed to 3.0GHz
8GB DDR2-1066
6950 2GB x2 in CFX
Xonar DX with UniXonar 1.4
Catalyst 12.1 with 12.1 CAP2
Windows 7 SP1 x64

Alright, this seems to fix the problem:

Image

There must be a problem with Skyrim's Antrisopic Filtering and Anti-Aliasing settings. Because if you do it manually with your Catalyst (override it), then it works at 50fps maxed out settings. No lag at all!

(For the newest Catalyst)

Just make sure you turn off Antrisopic and Anti-Aliasing in the skyrim menu. And run these manually in your catalyst.

-taken from tomshardware.com
thegleek
Darth Gerbil
Gold subscriber
 
 
Posts: 7360
Joined: Tue Jun 10, 2003 11:06 am
Location: Detroit, MI

Re: TES V: Skyrim

Postposted on Sat Feb 11, 2012 3:31 pm

I haven't had any problem running with the Ultra Settings at 2560x1600 on a single Radeon HD6970. That's 8X AA and 16X AF. I'm using the Catalyst 12.2 drivers.
i7-4770K, H70, Gryphon Z87, 16 GiB, R9-290, SSD, 2 HD, Blu-ray, SB ZX, TJ08-E, SS-660XP², 3007WFP+2001FP, RK-9000BR, MX518
JustAnEngineer
Gerbil God
Gold subscriber
 
 
Posts: 15402
Joined: Sat Jan 26, 2002 7:00 pm
Location: The Heart of Dixie

Re: TES V: Skyrim

Postposted on Sat Feb 11, 2012 3:49 pm

I also had 0 issues with teh game, simply using (maxing out) the game's own AA/AF settings and not changing any default settings in CCC... This is running on 6970 card with latest non-beta drivers (12.1). With CrossFired cards it may be different, though - Rage3d's forums filled with all kind of complaints for all kind of games from people with CF setups, that's why I decided that I will never use more than 1 single-GPU card (regardless of manufacturer).
My subscription allows you people to exist on this site and makes me a better human being than you'll ever be
JohnC
Gerbil Jedi
Gold subscriber
 
 
Posts: 1881
Joined: Fri Jan 28, 2011 2:08 pm
Location: NY/NJ/FL

Re: TES V: Skyrim

Postposted on Sat Feb 11, 2012 4:10 pm

I'll start working through everyone's suggestions. I want to disable CFX as a last ditch resort though. I'll report back as I try things out.
Zoomastigophora
Gerbil Elite
 
Posts: 611
Joined: Tue Nov 11, 2008 7:10 pm

Re: TES V: Skyrim

Postposted on Sun Feb 12, 2012 10:22 am

thegleek wrote:Alright, this seems to fix the problem:

[img]*snip*[/img]

There must be a problem with Skyrim's Antrisopic Filtering and Anti-Aliasing settings.

No there's not.
In CCC select Use Application Settings
I look at that pic you posted and I pretty much have the direct opposite of what I'm looking at.
Gigabyte GA-990FXA-UD3 | AMD FX8350 Black Edition | Corsair XMS3 16GB DDR3 | XFX Radeon HD 7950 3GB | Win7 x64
HT Omega Claro | Technics SL-1210 MKll w/ Stanton 681EEE MKlll | Klipsch Promedia v4.1 | Sennheiser HD 580 Precision
IAmGhostDog
Gerbil Elite
 
Posts: 589
Joined: Sun Oct 10, 2004 10:56 am
Location: Milwaukee, Wisconsin

Re: TES V: Skyrim

Postposted on Sun Feb 12, 2012 10:28 am

JohnC wrote:With CrossFired cards it may be different, though - Rage3d's forums filled with all kind of complaints for all kind of games from people with CF setups

That's what I've been reading. Issues with this game have been solved by turning off CFX
Zoomastigophora wrote: I want to disable CFX as a last ditch resort though.

It's the first thing I suggested and the first thing you should try.
One of your 6950's has plenty of horse power to run this game
Gigabyte GA-990FXA-UD3 | AMD FX8350 Black Edition | Corsair XMS3 16GB DDR3 | XFX Radeon HD 7950 3GB | Win7 x64
HT Omega Claro | Technics SL-1210 MKll w/ Stanton 681EEE MKlll | Klipsch Promedia v4.1 | Sennheiser HD 580 Precision
IAmGhostDog
Gerbil Elite
 
Posts: 589
Joined: Sun Oct 10, 2004 10:56 am
Location: Milwaukee, Wisconsin

Re: TES V: Skyrim

Postposted on Sun Feb 12, 2012 10:47 pm

So here's an important question. I'm one of the world's biggest TES addicts. However, I need a well-thought answer to the following question:

TL;DR version: Is Skyrim balanced without mods?

Full question: Oblivion, for all its greatness, did one thing very wrong. If one went out of his/her way to explore everything aside from the main quest, and thus leveled up a lot doing so, the game's auto-balancer would do a really poor job of leveling up monsters and loot accordingly, and not in a good way. I remember at one point being in the wild and getting my ass kicked by goblins wearing glass armor. So that went out the window, and thankfully on my second run, I had the foresight to use Oscuro's Oblivion Overhaul (a balance and tweak mod), which fixed the balancing among other stuff. So the question is: will I need to hunt down a similar balance mod for Skyrim, or is the stock game balanced enough so that can I go spelunking without the event of a simple imp tearing me a new behind?
There is a fixed amount of intelligence on the planet, and the population keeps growing :(
morphine
Gerbil Khan
Silver subscriber
 
 
Posts: 9954
Joined: Fri Dec 27, 2002 8:51 pm
Location: Portugal (that's next to Spain)

Re: TES V: Skyrim

Postposted on Sun Feb 12, 2012 10:54 pm

Without getting into the "selling" aspect of this game... If I didn't want my PC version of this game anymore. Can I resell it?
thegleek
Darth Gerbil
Gold subscriber
 
 
Posts: 7360
Joined: Tue Jun 10, 2003 11:06 am
Location: Detroit, MI

Re: TES V: Skyrim

Postposted on Sun Feb 12, 2012 10:54 pm

Morphine: From what I've read, that depends. Some areas have monsters that are at a fixed level for the entire game (usually areas a low-level character shouldn't enter), and other areas have monsters that will be at approx the same level as the player the first time the area is loaded, then stay at that level forever.

It doesn't sound like monsters level with the player the way they could in Fallout [3|New Vegas], with always stronger enemies being present as you level up, up to a point.
Think for yourself, schmuck!
i5-2500K@4.3|Asus P8P67-LE|8GB DDR3-1600|Powercolor R7850 2G|1.5TB 7200.11|1988 Model M|Saitek X-45 & P880|Logitech MX 518|Dell 2209WA|Sennheiser PC151|Asus Xonar DX
bthylafh
Grand Gerbil Poohbah
 
Posts: 3152
Joined: Mon Dec 29, 2003 11:55 pm
Location: Southwest Missouri, USA

Re: TES V: Skyrim

Postposted on Sun Feb 12, 2012 11:21 pm

morphine wrote:TL;DR version: Is Skyrim balanced without mods?

In my opinion - yes it is. Aside from "consolized" GUI and few pointless, unfinished game mechanics (like "marriage") I never had any problems with "balance" or any other aspects of Skyrim's gameplay. Whatever "auto-leveling" system is there - it is definitely NOT as "random" or aggressive as the horrible system in Oblivion.
My subscription allows you people to exist on this site and makes me a better human being than you'll ever be
JohnC
Gerbil Jedi
Gold subscriber
 
 
Posts: 1881
Joined: Fri Jan 28, 2011 2:08 pm
Location: NY/NJ/FL

Re: TES V: Skyrim

Postposted on Sun Feb 12, 2012 11:44 pm

morphine wrote:Is Skyrim balanced without mods?
Yes, but...
There are certain enemies who are easier or harder to defeat depending on your playing style. Sound-insulated rooms with individual medium-strong foes who are foolishly sitting with their backs to the door are a cakewalk for a sneaky assassin with a sharp blade. However, a large group of attacking undead is better handled by the liberal application of magical fire, IMO.

In the Destruction magic line, the perks "dual casting" and "impact" are a must-have. Once you can stagger your opponent on cue with a fire bolt, you can stop them from using their most powerful attacks (like dragon breath). This is great when it's a one-on-one battle with a boss. It's not so great when there are TWO ancient dragons attacking a small village simultaneously and you're trying to keep some of the NPCs from being killed. I'll also point out that when you're immolated in dragon's fire, it's difficult to see well enough to line up your attacks.

Note that if it becomes too challenging or too easy for you, you can change the combat difficulty level at any time. I've left it on the default of "Adept" the whole time.
i7-4770K, H70, Gryphon Z87, 16 GiB, R9-290, SSD, 2 HD, Blu-ray, SB ZX, TJ08-E, SS-660XP², 3007WFP+2001FP, RK-9000BR, MX518
JustAnEngineer
Gerbil God
Gold subscriber
 
 
Posts: 15402
Joined: Sat Jan 26, 2002 7:00 pm
Location: The Heart of Dixie

Re: TES V: Skyrim

Postposted on Mon Feb 13, 2012 12:52 am

morphine wrote:So here's an important question. I'm one of the world's biggest TES addicts. However, I need a well-thought answer to the following question:

TL;DR version: Is Skyrim balanced without mods?

Full question: Oblivion, for all its greatness, did one thing very wrong. If one went out of his/her way to explore everything aside from the main quest, and thus leveled up a lot doing so, the game's auto-balancer would do a really poor job of leveling up monsters and loot accordingly, and not in a good way. I remember at one point being in the wild and getting my ass kicked by goblins wearing glass armor. So that went out the window, and thankfully on my second run, I had the foresight to use Oscuro's Oblivion Overhaul (a balance and tweak mod), which fixed the balancing among other stuff. So the question is: will I need to hunt down a similar balance mod for Skyrim, or is the stock game balanced enough so that can I go spelunking without the event of a simple imp tearing me a new behind?


I'm actually very impressed with Skyrim. I loathed Oblivion for a myriad of reasons, the ridiculous leveling system being one of them. The level-scaling in Skyrim is much better tweaked. I do find the game to be significantly easier than Oblivion. So no, I don't think a mod is needed. Skyrim is a pretty good game. In my very opinionated eyes I'm still waiting for a worthy successor to Morrowind, but I don't think it will ever come given the direction the series/company is going in.
SecretMaster
Gerbil Elite
 
Posts: 955
Joined: Mon Jul 23, 2007 11:01 pm
Location: New York

Re: TES V: Skyrim

Postposted on Mon Feb 13, 2012 1:08 am

JustAnEngineer wrote: However, a large group of attacking undead is better handled by the liberal application of magical fire, IMO.

Never really had to use any magic in such situations... In fact, the only skill/perk "trees" I concentrated on were Archery, Sneak, Light Armor and Smithing, with a little bit of Enchanting, the rest of the stuff I ignored. At high enough levels of Archery and Sneak (plus a little bit of Enchanting) your bow turns into railgun (on default in-game difficulty), making all those dragons into an annoying "trash mob", same goes for all those large cave rooms with large groups of Draugr/undead :wink:
My subscription allows you people to exist on this site and makes me a better human being than you'll ever be
JohnC
Gerbil Jedi
Gold subscriber
 
 
Posts: 1881
Joined: Fri Jan 28, 2011 2:08 pm
Location: NY/NJ/FL

Re: TES V: Skyrim

Postposted on Mon Feb 13, 2012 5:05 am

I've regularly maintained, and regularly met agreement after asserting it, that Skyrim is Bethesda's technically and mechanically best game at release thus far.
SPOOFE
Grand Gerbil Poohbah
 
Posts: 3167
Joined: Sun Mar 04, 2007 5:50 pm
Location: Woodland Hills, CA

Re: TES V: Skyrim

Postposted on Mon Feb 13, 2012 5:29 am

I don't know if this has been posted before, but to anyone having problems with funky physics (especially indoors) and flashing screen (with splashing sound), I was able to fix it by limiting the framerate to 50 (using http://skyrim.nexusmods.com/downloads/file.php?id=34) and disabling vsync. I'm pretty sure it was caused by having my refreshrate at 120hz. I haven't found yet how I can force the in-game refreshrate to 60hz.

The whole physics/flashing thing was pretty much just a nuisance at first, but all flashing hell broke loose in a particular quest that made the game unplayable. If I had any propensity to epileptic seizures, I'd have had a serious problem :-?
Firestarter
Gerbil XP
 
Posts: 478
Joined: Sun Apr 25, 2004 11:12 am

Re: TES V: Skyrim

Postposted on Sat Feb 18, 2012 5:52 pm

"Aye. Now there's a beautiful sword--like a sliver of midnight."
i7-4770K, H70, Gryphon Z87, 16 GiB, R9-290, SSD, 2 HD, Blu-ray, SB ZX, TJ08-E, SS-660XP², 3007WFP+2001FP, RK-9000BR, MX518
JustAnEngineer
Gerbil God
Gold subscriber
 
 
Posts: 15402
Joined: Sat Jan 26, 2002 7:00 pm
Location: The Heart of Dixie

PreviousNext

Return to Gaming

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests