Two and a half years of Titan

How we justify all that high-dollar hardware.

Moderator: Hoser

Two and a half years of Titan

Postposted on Thu Apr 04, 2013 10:12 pm

About two and a half years ago I started playing Titan Quest and the Immortal Throne expansion via Steam. I have only one character, a warrior that specializes in dual-wield and offensive skills. The game is a time sink, but a fun one. I invested countless hours over the years building my character and getting up to the last few sections in Hades.

Earlier today my computer randomly shut off in the middle of playing. I restarted, and got back in TQ. My charachter is there and he has his inventory items, but the quest log is completely gone! The only quest available to me is the torch quest from Rhodes. Apparently the crash corrupted the quest data of my character :cry: :cry: :cry: The corruption is odd; for example, Orpheus is standing there in town, where he went after I rescued him from the cyclops, but his lover's dialogue indicates that he is not yet saved and will not add her quest to my log even after I talk to her.

I suppose I could go back and play the entire game over again so that I could continue from where I was, but this is so disheartening I'm not sure I will. This whole thing reminds me of playing Diablo multiplayer back when the game was new, and getting disconnected from the server as I was going to retrieve my items after a death.

Has this ever happened to anyone else?
Sheep Rustlers in the sky! <S> Slapt | <S> FUI | Air Warrior II/III
FireGryphon
Darth Gerbil
Gold subscriber

Re: Two and a half years of Titan

Postposted on Thu Apr 04, 2013 11:13 pm

Restore from a recent backup?
Usacomp2k3
Gerbil God

Postposted on Fri Apr 05, 2013 9:37 am

Definitely restore from backup. Sounds like a simple enough file-corruption issue.

If you don't have backups, let this be your umpteenth lesson.

I other news, I never played the expansion for TQ. Is it better or worse than the original game?