Developing on the Wii U, inside story

How we justify all that high-dollar hardware.

Moderator: Hoser

Developing on the Wii U, inside story

Postposted on Sat Jan 11, 2014 5:08 pm

http://www.eurogamer.net/articles/digit ... side-story

This is insanity. I'm a programmer and if a dev tool took a few minutes gathering variables every time I *CLICKED* on the code, I'd throw the machineout the window.
tipoo
Gerbil

Re: Developing on the Wii U, inside story

Postposted on Mon Jan 13, 2014 11:04 am

Wow, that's a pretty harsh article, and for good reasons. I didn't realize the development scene was so bad, but combined with the lukewarm reception of the WiiU, it makes a lot of sense. Nintendo is in a really tough spot for sure. :(
Duct Tape Dude
Gerbil First Class
Gold subscriber

Postposted on Mon Jan 13, 2014 12:13 pm

I can see the ff. reasons why Wii U is going to have a hard time:

1. The Xbone and PS4 are very similar, simplifying game development for both consoles.

2. it's like the chicken and the egg thing: Nobody will develop games for Wii U if there aren't many units sold, and Nintendo can't sell many units if gamers think there are few hit titles for the console.

3. As the article says, the SDKs and tool chains Nintendo is supplying devs is/was sorely lacking.

4. PS4 and Xbone both have much more powerful hardware underneath, as world+dog knows by now.

Jeez. Given how Nintendo is a veteran in the world of game consoles one would think they're past these teething problems. Perhaps if we were talking about a new entrant then I'd understand. But ... Nintendo? The creator of the successful NES, SNES, N64, and more recently, the Wii? Why did they bungle up so badly with their latest?
As you get older, you don't lose your friends.. you just find out who the real ones are.
ronch
Gerbil Elite

Postposted on Mon Jan 13, 2014 12:26 pm