Can't connect to Steam, GW2 or Teamspeak3

How we justify all that high-dollar hardware.

Moderator: Hoser

Can't connect to Steam, GW2 or Teamspeak3

Postposted on Tue Apr 15, 2014 7:31 pm

So, I came back home after a long weekend away from gaming and found that my Trendnet TEW-640 wasn't connecting to the internet. This looked like an issue I had seen before - it had switched from DHCP to static IP. So, I reset it, switched it back and thought all was good.

Things are not good. I can connect to the internet, but I can't connect to things like Steam, Guild Wars 2 or Teamspeak 3. I can connect to Origin and Battle.net though. I've tried disabling Windows Firewall, but no go. Still no connections. I've reset TCP/IP using http://support.microsoft.com/kb/299357, and I've deleted everything at C:\Users\<username>\AppData\Local\Temp\ but no go. Still broken.

Anyone have any ideas? This is really frustrating.
Gaming: i5-3570k/Z77 Extreme4/212 Evo/Corsair 500R/16GB Ballstix Tact 1600 CL8/Asus 7850 2GB/840 250gb, EVO 500gb, SG 3tb/Tachyon 550w/Win7

HTPC: i3 3225/H77/8gb g.skill 1.25v/1+2TB HDD/Asus BR/MSI 7850 2gb/Silverstone GD05B/Antec 380w/InfiniTV 4/Win7
southrncomfortjm
Gerbil Team Leader
Silver subscriber
 
 
Posts: 225
Joined: Mon Nov 12, 2012 7:57 pm

Re: Can't connect to Steam, GW2 or Teamspeak3

Postposted on Tue Apr 15, 2014 7:53 pm

Interesting - it doesn't seem to be an issue with the TEW-640. I can't directly connect to the FiOS router/modem, so I tried tethering to my phone. I can still connect to the internet just fine, but still can't connect to any of the services I mentioned above.

I just don't know what setting could have gotten flipped while the computer was off... it was working fine last Tuesday when I used it last, but didn't work today.
Gaming: i5-3570k/Z77 Extreme4/212 Evo/Corsair 500R/16GB Ballstix Tact 1600 CL8/Asus 7850 2GB/840 250gb, EVO 500gb, SG 3tb/Tachyon 550w/Win7

HTPC: i3 3225/H77/8gb g.skill 1.25v/1+2TB HDD/Asus BR/MSI 7850 2gb/Silverstone GD05B/Antec 380w/InfiniTV 4/Win7
southrncomfortjm
Gerbil Team Leader
Silver subscriber
 
 
Posts: 225
Joined: Mon Nov 12, 2012 7:57 pm

Re: Can't connect to Steam, GW2 or Teamspeak3

Postposted on Tue Apr 15, 2014 8:55 pm

Scan for malware. Check your hosts file. Check/reset your NIC drivers. Check windows logs for errors.


coal subscriber.
MSI X58A-GD65, i7-920@3.8, EVGA 660 GTX SC SLI, Neutron 240 GB,2.75 TB Spindle Storage,ASUS DVD-RW, 6GB Patriot, Win 7 & 8.1 & Kubuntu Triple Boot, ASUS VK278 on DisplayPort.
zenlessyank
Gerbil
 
Posts: 88
Joined: Tue Oct 16, 2012 5:15 pm

Re: Can't connect to Steam, GW2 or Teamspeak3

Postposted on Wed Apr 16, 2014 4:53 pm

zenlessyank wrote:Scan for malware. Check your hosts file. Check/reset your NIC drivers. Check windows logs for errors.


coal subscriber.


Can you give anymore details? I don't know what I'd be looking for in host files or windows logs. I don't even know where to find the host files.
Gaming: i5-3570k/Z77 Extreme4/212 Evo/Corsair 500R/16GB Ballstix Tact 1600 CL8/Asus 7850 2GB/840 250gb, EVO 500gb, SG 3tb/Tachyon 550w/Win7

HTPC: i3 3225/H77/8gb g.skill 1.25v/1+2TB HDD/Asus BR/MSI 7850 2gb/Silverstone GD05B/Antec 380w/InfiniTV 4/Win7
southrncomfortjm
Gerbil Team Leader
Silver subscriber
 
 
Posts: 225
Joined: Mon Nov 12, 2012 7:57 pm

Re: Can't connect to Steam, GW2 or Teamspeak3

Postposted on Wed Apr 16, 2014 5:04 pm

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Hosts_%28file%29

Google is your friend. Well, in this case.
Anyways, if you are askin' these kinds of questions then you may be in over your head. Not tryin to be a jerk, but network issues are usually the most complicated and can't be easily rectified with a simple 'do this ' answer.
MSI X58A-GD65, i7-920@3.8, EVGA 660 GTX SC SLI, Neutron 240 GB,2.75 TB Spindle Storage,ASUS DVD-RW, 6GB Patriot, Win 7 & 8.1 & Kubuntu Triple Boot, ASUS VK278 on DisplayPort.
zenlessyank
Gerbil
 
Posts: 88
Joined: Tue Oct 16, 2012 5:15 pm

Re: Can't connect to Steam, GW2 or Teamspeak3

Postposted on Wed Apr 16, 2014 5:06 pm

zenlessyank wrote:https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Hosts_%28file%29

Google is your friend. Well, in this case.
Anyways, if you are askin' these kinds of questions then you may be in over your head. Not tryin to be a jerk, but network issues are usually the most complicated and can't be easily rectified with a simple 'do this ' answer.


Definitely in over my head, especially since this makes no sense. Even tried doing a system restore to a point where everything worked and nada.

Thanks.
Gaming: i5-3570k/Z77 Extreme4/212 Evo/Corsair 500R/16GB Ballstix Tact 1600 CL8/Asus 7850 2GB/840 250gb, EVO 500gb, SG 3tb/Tachyon 550w/Win7

HTPC: i3 3225/H77/8gb g.skill 1.25v/1+2TB HDD/Asus BR/MSI 7850 2gb/Silverstone GD05B/Antec 380w/InfiniTV 4/Win7
southrncomfortjm
Gerbil Team Leader
Silver subscriber
 
 
Posts: 225
Joined: Mon Nov 12, 2012 7:57 pm

Re: Can't connect to Steam, GW2 or Teamspeak3

Postposted on Wed Apr 16, 2014 5:21 pm

Is it forwarding the necessary ports for those services? (Eg steam)
UberGerbil
Gerbil Khan
 
Posts: 9970
Joined: Thu Jun 19, 2003 3:11 pm

Re: Can't connect to Steam, GW2 or Teamspeak3

Postposted on Wed Apr 16, 2014 5:22 pm

Reset my host files to default using http://support.microsoft.com/kb/972034 and no luck.
Gaming: i5-3570k/Z77 Extreme4/212 Evo/Corsair 500R/16GB Ballstix Tact 1600 CL8/Asus 7850 2GB/840 250gb, EVO 500gb, SG 3tb/Tachyon 550w/Win7

HTPC: i3 3225/H77/8gb g.skill 1.25v/1+2TB HDD/Asus BR/MSI 7850 2gb/Silverstone GD05B/Antec 380w/InfiniTV 4/Win7
southrncomfortjm
Gerbil Team Leader
Silver subscriber
 
 
Posts: 225
Joined: Mon Nov 12, 2012 7:57 pm

Re: Can't connect to Steam, GW2 or Teamspeak3

Postposted on Wed Apr 16, 2014 5:23 pm

UberGerbil wrote:Is it forwarding the necessary ports for those services? (Eg steam)


Where would I check for that? Windows Firewall has no outbound rules. Inbound has entries for Guild wars 2 and steam. Should I be looking somewhere else? I'm guessing so, since disabling windows firewall doesn't fix the issue.
Gaming: i5-3570k/Z77 Extreme4/212 Evo/Corsair 500R/16GB Ballstix Tact 1600 CL8/Asus 7850 2GB/840 250gb, EVO 500gb, SG 3tb/Tachyon 550w/Win7

HTPC: i3 3225/H77/8gb g.skill 1.25v/1+2TB HDD/Asus BR/MSI 7850 2gb/Silverstone GD05B/Antec 380w/InfiniTV 4/Win7
southrncomfortjm
Gerbil Team Leader
Silver subscriber
 
 
Posts: 225
Joined: Mon Nov 12, 2012 7:57 pm

Re: Can't connect to Steam, GW2 or Teamspeak3

Postposted on Wed Apr 16, 2014 6:04 pm

install malwarebytes and do a full system scan...then do all that other stuff.....all the correct settings in the world for your network is moot if you are infected with a nasty.

http://www.malwarebytes.org/mwb-download/


If you have an extra network card install it and try using that connection and see if it helps.
MSI X58A-GD65, i7-920@3.8, EVGA 660 GTX SC SLI, Neutron 240 GB,2.75 TB Spindle Storage,ASUS DVD-RW, 6GB Patriot, Win 7 & 8.1 & Kubuntu Triple Boot, ASUS VK278 on DisplayPort.
zenlessyank
Gerbil
 
Posts: 88
Joined: Tue Oct 16, 2012 5:15 pm

Re: Can't connect to Steam, GW2 or Teamspeak3

Postposted on Wed Apr 16, 2014 6:40 pm

southrncomfortjm wrote:
UberGerbil wrote:Is it forwarding the necessary ports for those services? (Eg steam)
Where would I check for that? Windows Firewall has no outbound rules. Inbound has entries for Guild wars 2 and steam. Should I be looking somewhere else? I'm guessing so, since disabling windows firewall doesn't fix the issue.
I meant in your wireless router. If that is sitting between your computer and the device that's actually connecting to the internet (whether that''s your modem or cell phone) then it's (probably) doing NAT and you have to have the ports open on it. It's possible you had those open before and they got reset -- though presumably you'd remember doing that the last time.

It's also possible that something upstream has started blocking ports (eg your cable provider or the FIOS modem itself), but given that you had the same problem via tether that seems to not be the case.
UberGerbil
Gerbil Khan
 
Posts: 9970
Joined: Thu Jun 19, 2003 3:11 pm

Re: Can't connect to Steam, GW2 or Teamspeak3

Postposted on Wed Apr 16, 2014 7:53 pm

Simple solution wins. Roomate had inexplicably turned the firewall on the FiOS router from Medium to High without saying anything.

All fixed. Thanks guys.
Gaming: i5-3570k/Z77 Extreme4/212 Evo/Corsair 500R/16GB Ballstix Tact 1600 CL8/Asus 7850 2GB/840 250gb, EVO 500gb, SG 3tb/Tachyon 550w/Win7

HTPC: i3 3225/H77/8gb g.skill 1.25v/1+2TB HDD/Asus BR/MSI 7850 2gb/Silverstone GD05B/Antec 380w/InfiniTV 4/Win7
southrncomfortjm
Gerbil Team Leader
Silver subscriber
 
 
Posts: 225
Joined: Mon Nov 12, 2012 7:57 pm


Return to Gaming

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests