iPad, someone please convince me

Laptops, PDAs, Cell Phones, and all other tech that you carry with you.

Moderators: mac_h8r1, Nelliesboo, David

iPad, someone please convince me

Postposted on Sat Aug 21, 2010 11:17 am

Comrades

Like others here, I am a tech gizmo freak. I like shiny new things and I want them. But there is a practicality threshold that a toy must cross for me to buy it. It has to allow me to do something that I couldn't do before, or do something I can currently do, better.

I want an iPad. It appeals to my gizmo freak nature. But when I go into the store to buy it and I flick around on it's screen, something stops me. I can't quite get it across that practicality threshold. I think about myself using it to: take notes in meetings, read all those old Marvel comics I used to love, play scrabble during video conferences, read books on planes. Hmmm, that's $800 for a comic book reader. I also think about cool ways I could use it in my pnp rpg sessions and I can't quite find the apps for that. Like Jobs himself was quoted as saying: 'What can you do with it other than read web pages on the john?'

There is also the limitations. No usb, no HDD. No real way to save a word doc to an external drive. Yech, iTunes. No Flash. And worst of all, the feeling that everything you do on YOUR iPad costs you money. It's like you're being sold a shopping mall for you to spend money in. I really do want a Win7 Tablet. But a good one. Not one that is a hacked together PC that would break your toe if it fell on it. One that is a real computer. But who knows when that will arrive?

Sorry, I am rambling. So I ask my fellow Gerbils with iPads to tell me some of the cool things they do with their iPads. Convince me to buy one, please!
i7 2600k @ 4.7 GHZ | 16GB G-Skill DDR3-1600 | Asus P8P67 Pro | PCP&C Silencer 750 | Corsair Graphite 600T |
Boot: 2xOCZ Vertex 3 120gb | Media: 2x WD Black 2Tb | GTX760 4gb | Dell u2771 | Benq FP231W |
Acer 1810TZ | OCZ Vertex 2 120gb |