Airport hookup (WiFi & hardwire)

Laptops, PDAs, Cell Phones, and all other tech that you carry with you.

Moderators: mac_h8r1, Nelliesboo, David

Airport hookup (WiFi & hardwire)

Postposted on Sun Apr 24, 2011 6:22 am

My wife just bought an Apple Ipad with Verizon G3. We just picked up an Airport Extreme router.
What we would like to do is to hook up the Airport router to our DSL for the Ipad wifi but we would like to keep our Imac hardwired only.
Help -Please
I can't figure out how to do this with the Airport Setup Guide supplied. :oops:
Ken
ken valkyrie
Gerbil In Training
 
Posts: 8
Joined: Sun Feb 13, 2011 9:05 am

Re: Airport hookup (WiFi & hardwire)

Postposted on Sun Apr 24, 2011 7:44 am

If Airport works like any other router, what you do is setup the wireless network, and then you can connect to it both wired and wirelessly; you can have both the wired ports and the wireless signal active at the same time. The Airport comes with a utility that you can use to configure it, so poke around in it, but I can't imagine it's much harder than a standard router. Just enable the wireless network and you should be good to go.
Sheep Rustlers in the sky! <S> Slapt | <S> FUI | Air Warrior II/III
FireGryphon
Darth Gerbil
Gold subscriber
 
 
Posts: 7341
Joined: Sat Apr 24, 2004 7:53 pm
Location: the abyss into which you gaze

Re: Airport hookup (WiFi & hardwire)

Postposted on Sun Apr 24, 2011 5:35 pm

Thanks FireGryphon,

Do you feel that that the 802.11n Airport with WPA/WPA2 encryption is just as secure "wireless" as it is hardwired to DSL ?
ken valkyrie
Gerbil In Training
 
Posts: 8
Joined: Sun Feb 13, 2011 9:05 am


Return to Mobile Tech

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests