HP DV6-6140US Llano A8-3500M Laptop

Laptops, PDAs, Cell Phones, and all other tech that you carry with you.

Moderators: mac_h8r1, Nelliesboo, David

HP DV6-6140US Llano A8-3500M Laptop

Postposted on Fri Aug 12, 2011 9:58 pm

Hey guys, I am considering purchase of this laptop from Office Depot for $600 (http://www.officedepot.com/a/products/659317/HP-Pavilion-dv6-6140us-Laptop-Computer/?cm_mmc=Mercent-_-Google-_-Computers_and_Servers-_-659317&mr:trackingCode=7C30F2CA-39AE-E011-9F24-0019B9C043EB&mr:referralID=NA offer good through 8/13/11). specs are here ... http://h10025.www1.hp.com/ewfrf/wc/document?docname=c02888160&cc=us&dlc=en&lc=en&product=5128784&tmp_track_link=ot_search#N24.
Most pertinent are the A8-3500M Llano quadcore, USB3, LED screen and somewhat less important but nice is bluetooth support and blu-ray disk. What I am wondering is whether I can swap in my Intel 320 160GB SSD and dump the 640GB drive in this puppy. I cannot find anything in their support that suggests it can be done. In fact, I found one reference in the hardware manual that suggested that SSD's were only supported for Intel CPU's and chipsets.

Its my birthday and I am thinking this would be a nice upgrade from my old laptop (Toshiba Satellite A105-S4021). But only if I can swap the 160GB Intel SSD into the new unit. Thanks ahead of time for the help. :D
AMD Phenom II X4 955 BE | MSI 790FX-GD70 | 4x2GB DDR3 | 3 x Intel X25-M G2 | Samsung Series 830 | XFX Radeon HD 7870 | BenQ FP241VW 24" | Grado SR80 | Logitech G710+ | SeaSonic SS-660XP 80+ Pt | Cooler Master Hyper 212+ | WinXP64 | Back-UPS NS 1250
Mr Bill
Gerbil XP
 
Posts: 426
Joined: Mon Jan 21, 2002 7:00 pm
Location: Colorado Western Slope

Re: HP DV6-6140US Llano A8-3500M Laptop

Postposted on Fri Aug 12, 2011 11:16 pm

Mr Bill wrote:What I am wondering is whether I can swap in my Intel 320 160GB SSD and dump the 640GB drive in this puppy. I cannot find anything in their support that suggests it can be done. In fact, I found one reference in the hardware manual that suggested that SSD's were only supported for Intel CPU's and chipsets.D

You need an Intel CPU about as much as you need Gillette shaving cream to use their razor.

This is common marketing fluff; Intel just wants more of your money. It should work fine.
Intel Core i7-875K, Asus P7P55D-E Pro, Win 7 Home Premium
MSI GTX 560 Ti OC, Mushkin 2x2GB DDR3-1333, Corsair TX650
Cooler Master Hyper 212+, Logitech Z-2300, ASUS Xonar DX
Samsung Spinpoint F3 1TB, Dell Ultrasharp U2410, Antec P183
DeadOfKnight
Gerbil Elite
Gold subscriber
 
 
Posts: 636
Joined: Tue May 18, 2010 1:20 pm

Re: HP DV6-6140US Llano A8-3500M Laptop

Postposted on Sat Aug 13, 2011 4:05 pm

DeadOfKnight wrote:You need an Intel CPU about as much as you need Gillette shaving cream to use their razor.

This is common marketing fluff; Intel just wants more of your money. It should work fine.

I wouldn't count on it. In theory it should work, but some laptop kits can have a lot of vendor lock-in via crippled BIOS support. Further Google time might be required.
He who laughs last, laughs first next time.
ludi
Gerbil Elder
 
Posts: 5485
Joined: Fri Jun 21, 2002 10:47 pm
Location: Sunny Colorado front range

Re: HP DV6-6140US Llano A8-3500M Laptop

Postposted on Sat Aug 13, 2011 10:31 pm

Today was the last day of the sale, so I pulled the trigger. I guess I will just have to try muddling through. Whew, I am used to WinNT, 2K, XP. Win7 is a little bit of a pain. I had a heck of a time just trying to find where to change my workgroup (but I did).
AMD Phenom II X4 955 BE | MSI 790FX-GD70 | 4x2GB DDR3 | 3 x Intel X25-M G2 | Samsung Series 830 | XFX Radeon HD 7870 | BenQ FP241VW 24" | Grado SR80 | Logitech G710+ | SeaSonic SS-660XP 80+ Pt | Cooler Master Hyper 212+ | WinXP64 | Back-UPS NS 1250
Mr Bill
Gerbil XP
 
Posts: 426
Joined: Mon Jan 21, 2002 7:00 pm
Location: Colorado Western Slope

Re: HP DV6-6140US Llano A8-3500M Laptop

Postposted on Sun Aug 14, 2011 6:36 pm

Well ludi, you are right. I just tried the old slap it in there and see if it works and you can't get past the first bios screen. The drive is tagged as defective right off the bat. I guess my only hope is to find a bios update that accomodates SSD's. :cry:
AMD Phenom II X4 955 BE | MSI 790FX-GD70 | 4x2GB DDR3 | 3 x Intel X25-M G2 | Samsung Series 830 | XFX Radeon HD 7870 | BenQ FP241VW 24" | Grado SR80 | Logitech G710+ | SeaSonic SS-660XP 80+ Pt | Cooler Master Hyper 212+ | WinXP64 | Back-UPS NS 1250
Mr Bill
Gerbil XP
 
Posts: 426
Joined: Mon Jan 21, 2002 7:00 pm
Location: Colorado Western Slope

Re: HP DV6-6140US Llano A8-3500M Laptop

Postposted on Sun Aug 14, 2011 7:09 pm

Or get a crucial ssd or some other non-intel ssd.
Life doesn't change after marriage, it changes after children!
anotherengineer
Gerbil Elite
 
Posts: 608
Joined: Fri Sep 25, 2009 1:53 pm
Location: Timmins, ON Canada, Yes I know, Up in the sticks

Re: HP DV6-6140US Llano A8-3500M Laptop

Postposted on Mon Aug 15, 2011 1:18 pm

I am thinking it might bra matter of reformatting the SSD to the new 4K standard; which may require an SSD firmware upgrade.
AMD Phenom II X4 955 BE | MSI 790FX-GD70 | 4x2GB DDR3 | 3 x Intel X25-M G2 | Samsung Series 830 | XFX Radeon HD 7870 | BenQ FP241VW 24" | Grado SR80 | Logitech G710+ | SeaSonic SS-660XP 80+ Pt | Cooler Master Hyper 212+ | WinXP64 | Back-UPS NS 1250
Mr Bill
Gerbil XP
 
Posts: 426
Joined: Mon Jan 21, 2002 7:00 pm
Location: Colorado Western Slope

Re: HP DV6-6140US Llano A8-3500M Laptop

Postposted on Wed Aug 24, 2011 1:46 pm

Good news! After applying the recent (anti-bricking) Intel Series 320 firmware update; the laptop now sees the 160GB SSD as a device. Then it was a simple matter of using the Intel (Acronis based) migration software to move the whole lot from the laptop drive to the SSD. Got it working this morning. Yippee! :P
AMD Phenom II X4 955 BE | MSI 790FX-GD70 | 4x2GB DDR3 | 3 x Intel X25-M G2 | Samsung Series 830 | XFX Radeon HD 7870 | BenQ FP241VW 24" | Grado SR80 | Logitech G710+ | SeaSonic SS-660XP 80+ Pt | Cooler Master Hyper 212+ | WinXP64 | Back-UPS NS 1250
Mr Bill
Gerbil XP
 
Posts: 426
Joined: Mon Jan 21, 2002 7:00 pm
Location: Colorado Western Slope

Re: HP DV6-6140US Llano A8-3500M Laptop

Postposted on Thu Aug 25, 2011 10:59 am

Primary hard disk performance went from a score of 5.9 to 7.4 using the Win 7 performance benchmark. Atto shows max reads and writes of 280MB/s and 172MB/s.
AMD Phenom II X4 955 BE | MSI 790FX-GD70 | 4x2GB DDR3 | 3 x Intel X25-M G2 | Samsung Series 830 | XFX Radeon HD 7870 | BenQ FP241VW 24" | Grado SR80 | Logitech G710+ | SeaSonic SS-660XP 80+ Pt | Cooler Master Hyper 212+ | WinXP64 | Back-UPS NS 1250
Mr Bill
Gerbil XP
 
Posts: 426
Joined: Mon Jan 21, 2002 7:00 pm
Location: Colorado Western Slope

Re: HP DV6-6140US Llano A8-3500M Laptop

Postposted on Thu Aug 25, 2011 11:26 am

Great news,

I have been thinking of doing the exact thing. Perhaps, not using INTEL....Crucial or Corsair....

How do you find the laptop in general? :wink:
mdk77777
Gerbil XP
 
Posts: 350
Joined: Fri Dec 12, 2008 3:42 pm

Re: HP DV6-6140US Llano A8-3500M Laptop

Postposted on Thu Aug 25, 2011 11:16 pm

Its my first experience with Windows 7. My previous laptop is a Toshiba A105-S4021 with 4GB and the same SDD running WinXP. The CPU in that was a 1.66GHz centrino. So, it was a little light in CPU power, especially when using Adobe Lightroom to look a pictures. It took 30-60 seconds to render a picture. Also, web browsing seemed to catch all the time when scrolling down a page and having to refresh.

The HP is much quicker, subjectively feels like less than 10 seconds to render a picture. Web browsing is smooth. The laptop immediately synched with my bluetooth phone. Plugging in an HDMI cable immediately worked with my TV, effortless. I watched an Amazon primetime move that way over my wireless and both sound and resolution were great. CPU usage was a few % playing video. I installed VLC and played a blu-ray music video and that sounded good and looked great.

Hmm, This is a 15.6" screen, what I do not like is the slightly less screen area compared to my Toshiba. The screen is the same length but just over an inch narrower in width. Resolution on the Toshiba was something like 1280x800. On the HP its something like 1366x768. Photographs look squished. I went back to the store and now I sort of wish I had gone for a 17.3 inch just to have the taller screen. I like the LED backlighting but my Toshiba screen has wider viewing angles and deeper blacks for astrophotography pics downloaded from Hubble. It seems like with this screen, I am constantly tilting it to try and figure out what is the straight on view. This bugs me the most, screen quality is not as good as the Toshiba.

I would have bought the Toshiba version of the Llano, but, only the HP had the A8-3500M CPU. All the Toshiba models are A6-3400M or lower. Also, only the HP had the USB3 support, which, by the way, I have not tried out yet.

I'm going to put civilization V on this and play some and I will write about that later.

CPUZ shows the cores running at 800MHz and then jumping to 2.4GHz on load but I cannot see how many cores jump up. I figured maybe a USB powered cooling fan support might let more cores stay cool but no clear way to see whats going on. I'll see if hardware monitor will run and give that a try.
AMD Phenom II X4 955 BE | MSI 790FX-GD70 | 4x2GB DDR3 | 3 x Intel X25-M G2 | Samsung Series 830 | XFX Radeon HD 7870 | BenQ FP241VW 24" | Grado SR80 | Logitech G710+ | SeaSonic SS-660XP 80+ Pt | Cooler Master Hyper 212+ | WinXP64 | Back-UPS NS 1250
Mr Bill
Gerbil XP
 
Posts: 426
Joined: Mon Jan 21, 2002 7:00 pm
Location: Colorado Western Slope

Re: HP DV6-6140US Llano A8-3500M Laptop

Postposted on Fri Aug 26, 2011 6:34 pm

Thanks for the information.

I'm thinking of using the HP and adding the SSD for a laptop for my daughter.

I forked over the extra cash for 1920x1200 on my old DELL LAT., and have never regretted it.

SSD and higher resolution screens seem so much more important than an I7 processor to me. :wink:

However, your comments would definitely cause me to upgrade to the 1920x1080 screen option on the HP.

Thanks again. :wink:
mdk77777
Gerbil XP
 
Posts: 350
Joined: Fri Dec 12, 2008 3:42 pm

Re: HP DV6-6140US Llano A8-3500M Laptop

Postposted on Wed Sep 14, 2011 1:44 pm

I'm not aware of an HP model that uses the Llano and also offers a higher resolution screen option.
AMD Phenom II X4 955 BE | MSI 790FX-GD70 | 4x2GB DDR3 | 3 x Intel X25-M G2 | Samsung Series 830 | XFX Radeon HD 7870 | BenQ FP241VW 24" | Grado SR80 | Logitech G710+ | SeaSonic SS-660XP 80+ Pt | Cooler Master Hyper 212+ | WinXP64 | Back-UPS NS 1250
Mr Bill
Gerbil XP
 
Posts: 426
Joined: Mon Jan 21, 2002 7:00 pm
Location: Colorado Western Slope

Re: HP DV6-6140US Llano A8-3500M Laptop

Postposted on Wed Sep 14, 2011 1:56 pm

Mr Bill wrote:I'm not aware of an HP model that uses the Llano and also offers a higher resolution screen option.


It's an upgrade but it's there, something like +$150
X __________________________
khands
Graphmaster Gerbil
Silver subscriber
 
 
Posts: 1219
Joined: Mon Dec 01, 2008 12:32 pm
Location: Chicagoland

Re: HP DV6-6140US Llano A8-3500M Laptop

Postposted on Fri Sep 30, 2011 9:33 am

khands wrote:
Mr Bill wrote:I'm not aware of an HP model that uses the Llano and also offers a higher resolution screen option.


It's an upgrade but it's there, something like +$150
Would you please post a link? I cannot find it for this laptop.
AMD Phenom II X4 955 BE | MSI 790FX-GD70 | 4x2GB DDR3 | 3 x Intel X25-M G2 | Samsung Series 830 | XFX Radeon HD 7870 | BenQ FP241VW 24" | Grado SR80 | Logitech G710+ | SeaSonic SS-660XP 80+ Pt | Cooler Master Hyper 212+ | WinXP64 | Back-UPS NS 1250
Mr Bill
Gerbil XP
 
Posts: 426
Joined: Mon Jan 21, 2002 7:00 pm
Location: Colorado Western Slope

Re: HP DV6-6140US Llano A8-3500M Laptop

Postposted on Fri Sep 30, 2011 9:50 am

Mr Bill wrote:
khands wrote:
Mr Bill wrote:I'm not aware of an HP model that uses the Llano and also offers a higher resolution screen option.


It's an upgrade but it's there, something like +$150
Would you please post a link? I cannot find it for this laptop.


Start here
Laptop: HP Pavilion 17-e016dx. AMD A8-5550M, 4GB RAM, 750GB HDD, AMD Radeon HD 8550G integrated video, 17.3" display, 1600*900 (HD+) resolution, SD card reader, Windows 8.1 (DL Classic Shell)
riviera74
Gerbil Elite
 
Posts: 865
Joined: Mon May 29, 2006 6:14 am
Location: FM, FL, USA


Return to Mobile Tech

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest