AMD C-50 and Netflix HD

Laptops, PDAs, Cell Phones, and all other tech that you carry with you.

Moderators: mac_h8r1, Nelliesboo, David

AMD C-50 and Netflix HD

Postposted on Thu Aug 18, 2011 7:44 am

I just picked up an acer aspire one 722 with the C-50, 2 gig of ram with win 7. I had the impression that this would be able to stream Netflix HD. It does fine with youtube 1080p. I've got the latest drivers from AMD, windows updates and silverlight. Uninstalled macafee, but it's worse than a slide show for Netflix HD. Am I missing something or is the C-50 just too weak.

Thanks
Last edited by getbornagain on Thu Aug 18, 2011 8:09 am, edited 1 time in total.
getbornagain
Graphmaster Gerbil
 
Posts: 1028
Joined: Wed May 08, 2002 7:49 pm
Location: kansas

Re: AMD C-50 and Netflix HD

Postposted on Thu Aug 18, 2011 7:54 am

What do your resources look like (CPU/mem)?
Since you're streaming, could be a network bandwidth issue (if not your end, then theirs?)?
Workstation: Opteron 150
"Every Day": Athlon II X4 630
Server: Athlon X2 BE-2400
Gym: SN45G w/ Athlon XP 2500+ (800 MHz @ 1.3V)
sircharles32
Gerbil Team Leader
 
Posts: 249
Joined: Thu Jun 23, 2005 6:31 pm

Re: AMD C-50 and Netflix HD

Postposted on Thu Aug 18, 2011 8:47 am

Silverlight 4 doesn't support hardware acceleration video decoding. Silverlight 5 Beta does support that feature, however the Netflix player has not yet implemented this. You can try downloading the Silverlight 5 Beta though and see if it helps.
AMD Athlon II X4 620 (OC 3.25)
MSI 785GM-E65 AM3
Crucial 4GB (2 x 2GB) 240-Pin DDR3 1333
XFX Radeon HD 4850 1GB
Windows 7 Ultimate 32
Rulo
Gerbil
 
Posts: 13
Joined: Wed Nov 11, 2009 2:16 pm

Re: AMD C-50 and Netflix HD

Postposted on Thu Aug 18, 2011 12:06 pm

sircharles32 wrote:What do your resources look like (CPU/mem)?
Since you're streaming, could be a network bandwidth issue (if not your end, then theirs?)?


one core is pegged out, the other is 70 or 80%, memory I don't remember, but it's not maxed out. Unless it take over a 10mbit connection... anyways that'd be a buffer problem and wouldn't play I believe.

Rulo wrote:Silverlight 4 doesn't support hardware acceleration video decoding. Silverlight 5 Beta does support that feature, however the Netflix player has not yet implemented this. You can try downloading the Silverlight 5 Beta though and see if it helps.


I've look at the silverlight task manger thing (alt + ctrl + shift + m) and it says it's using hardware acceleration and using only 70%ish cpu I know.

I'll try Silverlight 5 beta tonight, thanks for the tip
getbornagain
Graphmaster Gerbil
 
Posts: 1028
Joined: Wed May 08, 2002 7:49 pm
Location: kansas

Re: AMD C-50 and Netflix HD

Postposted on Thu Aug 18, 2011 1:09 pm

I've look at the silverlight task manger thing (alt + ctrl + shift + m) and it says it's using hardware acceleration


The hardware acceleration that Silverlight uses is just for some composition elements of the image on the display, but it is not video decoding acceleration. If you look in here
http://www.microsoft.com/silverlight/future/
You’ll see that they talk about bringing
"Hardware Decode and presentation of H.264 improve performance for lower-power devices to render high-definition video using GPU support."
as a new feature for Silverlight 5. At the moment though Netflix is still not using these accelerated elements on their video player.
AMD Athlon II X4 620 (OC 3.25)
MSI 785GM-E65 AM3
Crucial 4GB (2 x 2GB) 240-Pin DDR3 1333
XFX Radeon HD 4850 1GB
Windows 7 Ultimate 32
Rulo
Gerbil
 
Posts: 13
Joined: Wed Nov 11, 2009 2:16 pm

Re: AMD C-50 and Netflix HD

Postposted on Thu Aug 18, 2011 9:29 pm

yeah silverlight 5 beta is better, but that is not to say it's watchable... it does give me hope it might work someday. Well that is if I still keep paying for netflix...
getbornagain
Graphmaster Gerbil
 
Posts: 1028
Joined: Wed May 08, 2002 7:49 pm
Location: kansas


Return to Mobile Tech

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests