Is it possible with Windows?

The network is the forum.

Moderators: Steel, notfred

Is it possible with Windows?

Postposted on Sun Jan 10, 2010 6:08 pm

I have 2 PCs at home, desktop and laptop, they both were connected to internet via WiFi router, but after I installed GTX260, the WiFi card on the primary PC has gone completely dead (doesn't see any networks at all).

WiFi card was a crap to begin with (1 bar of reception), but now it's out and I don't want to spend more money on hardware right now (recent MoBo/GFX/PSU/HDD changes). So I want to reroute the internet to the primary PC.

So far I have a 1Gbps connection between the two.

Primary (desktop):
192.168.3.1
255.255.255.0
-.-.-.-

Secondary (laptop):
192.168.3.2
255.255.255.0
-.-.-.-

What I want to is to change the routing table on the laptop to forward all requests from PC through built in WiFi card if they ask for external networks.

I remember you could view route tables on XP through console, but I don't quite remember how, and I don't know how to edit them to forward requests.

ICS and network bridging solutions are not very cool because WiFi drops once in a while and bridge doesn't allow it to be repaired easily, but ICS messes up other places where I have to connect my laptop (changing IPs from DHCP to static very often sucks, but ICS polluting subnet with automatic addresses is even worse :roll: ). And my laptop has 256MB of RAM, so all changes take ages...

So is it possible to do what I want?
Core 2 Duo E6300, MSI P45 NEO-F, Club 3D GTX 260, 4Gb DDR2-800Mhz, Audigy X-Fi Fatal1ty Champ1on ed., 0.5Tb+1Tb Seagate Barracuda 7200.12, 630W AXP, Samsung SyncMaster BX2450, ViewSonic VP171b
Madman
Minister of Gerbil Affairs
 
Posts: 2317
Joined: Tue Apr 01, 2003 4:55 am
Location: Latvia

Re: Is it possible with Windows?

Postposted on Sun Jan 10, 2010 6:14 pm

set gateway on the pc to the laptop?
phez
Gerbil
 
Posts: 68
Joined: Sun Jun 17, 2007 11:25 am

Re: Is it possible with Windows?

Postposted on Sun Jan 10, 2010 6:30 pm

No go, tracert 192.168.1.1 (WiFi router) ends in:

1: * * *

EDIT: Current route on Laptop -
Code: Select all
===========================================================================
Interface List
0x1 ........................... MS TCP Loopback interface
0x170002 ...00 12 f0 d4 9b 7c ...... Intel(R) PRO/Wireless 2200BG Network Connec
tion - Packet Scheduler Miniport
0x170005 ...00 11 25 d3 f0 8a ...... Intel(R) PRO/1000 MT Mobile Connection - Pa
cket Scheduler Miniport
===========================================================================
===========================================================================
Active Routes:
Network Destination        Netmask          Gateway       Interface  Metric
          0.0.0.0          0.0.0.0      192.168.1.1   192.168.1.105       25
        127.0.0.0        255.0.0.0        127.0.0.1       127.0.0.1       1
      192.168.1.0    255.255.255.0    192.168.1.105   192.168.1.105       25
    192.168.1.105  255.255.255.255        127.0.0.1       127.0.0.1       25
    192.168.1.255  255.255.255.255    192.168.1.105   192.168.1.105       25
      192.168.3.0    255.255.255.0      192.168.3.2     192.168.3.2       10
      192.168.3.2  255.255.255.255        127.0.0.1       127.0.0.1       10
    192.168.3.255  255.255.255.255      192.168.3.2     192.168.3.2       10
        224.0.0.0        240.0.0.0    192.168.1.105   192.168.1.105       25
        224.0.0.0        240.0.0.0      192.168.3.2     192.168.3.2       10
  255.255.255.255  255.255.255.255    192.168.1.105   192.168.1.105       1
  255.255.255.255  255.255.255.255      192.168.3.2     192.168.3.2       1
Default Gateway:       192.168.1.1
===========================================================================
Persistent Routes:
  None
Core 2 Duo E6300, MSI P45 NEO-F, Club 3D GTX 260, 4Gb DDR2-800Mhz, Audigy X-Fi Fatal1ty Champ1on ed., 0.5Tb+1Tb Seagate Barracuda 7200.12, 630W AXP, Samsung SyncMaster BX2450, ViewSonic VP171b
Madman
Minister of Gerbil Affairs
 
Posts: 2317
Joined: Tue Apr 01, 2003 4:55 am
Location: Latvia

Re: Is it possible with Windows?

Postposted on Sun Jan 10, 2010 7:13 pm

what is the routing table on the desktop?
phez
Gerbil
 
Posts: 68
Joined: Sun Jun 17, 2007 11:25 am

Re: Is it possible with Windows?

Postposted on Sun Jan 10, 2010 8:30 pm

Code: Select all
===========================================================================
Interface List
 15...02 00 4c 4f 4f 50 ......Microsoft Loopback Adapter
 12...00 17 9a 74 2b 22 ......D-Link AirPlus DWL-G520 Wireless PCI Adapter(rev.B)
 11...00 21 85 19 98 32 ......Realtek RTL8168C(P)/8111C(P) Family PCI-E Gigabit Ethernet NIC (NDIS 6
.20)
  1...........................Software Loopback Interface 1
 17...00 00 00 00 00 00 00 e0 Microsoft ISATAP Adapter
 13...00 00 00 00 00 00 00 e0 Teredo Tunneling Pseudo-Interface
 18...00 00 00 00 00 00 00 e0 Microsoft ISATAP Adapter #2
 16...00 00 00 00 00 00 00 e0 Microsoft ISATAP Adapter #3
 19...00 00 00 00 00 00 00 e0 Microsoft ISATAP Adapter #4
===========================================================================

IPv4 Route Table
===========================================================================
Active Routes:
Network Destination        Netmask          Gateway       Interface  Metric
          0.0.0.0          0.0.0.0      192.168.3.2      192.168.3.1    266
        127.0.0.0        255.0.0.0         On-link         127.0.0.1    306
        127.0.0.1  255.255.255.255         On-link         127.0.0.1    306
  127.255.255.255  255.255.255.255         On-link         127.0.0.1    306
      192.168.2.0    255.255.255.0         On-link       192.168.2.1    286
      192.168.2.1  255.255.255.255         On-link       192.168.2.1    286
    192.168.2.255  255.255.255.255         On-link       192.168.2.1    286
      192.168.3.0    255.255.255.0         On-link       192.168.3.1    266
      192.168.3.1  255.255.255.255         On-link       192.168.3.1    266
    192.168.3.255  255.255.255.255         On-link       192.168.3.1    266
        224.0.0.0        240.0.0.0         On-link         127.0.0.1    306
        224.0.0.0        240.0.0.0         On-link       192.168.3.1    266
        224.0.0.0        240.0.0.0         On-link       192.168.2.1    286
  255.255.255.255  255.255.255.255         On-link         127.0.0.1    306
  255.255.255.255  255.255.255.255         On-link       192.168.3.1    266
  255.255.255.255  255.255.255.255         On-link       192.168.2.1    286
===========================================================================
Persistent Routes:
  Network Address          Netmask  Gateway Address  Metric
          0.0.0.0          0.0.0.0      192.168.3.2  Default
===========================================================================
Core 2 Duo E6300, MSI P45 NEO-F, Club 3D GTX 260, 4Gb DDR2-800Mhz, Audigy X-Fi Fatal1ty Champ1on ed., 0.5Tb+1Tb Seagate Barracuda 7200.12, 630W AXP, Samsung SyncMaster BX2450, ViewSonic VP171b
Madman
Minister of Gerbil Affairs
 
Posts: 2317
Joined: Tue Apr 01, 2003 4:55 am
Location: Latvia

Re: Is it possible with Windows?

Postposted on Sun Jan 10, 2010 9:30 pm

try this guide: http://www.home-network-help.com/ip-forwarding.html

replace network A with your desktop PC. ignore network B. network C should be your wireless connection. the registry thing will be done on your laptop.
phez
Gerbil
 
Posts: 68
Joined: Sun Jun 17, 2007 11:25 am

Re: Is it possible with Windows?

Postposted on Mon Jan 11, 2010 8:38 am

This seems exactly what I was looking for, I will try it later on.
Core 2 Duo E6300, MSI P45 NEO-F, Club 3D GTX 260, 4Gb DDR2-800Mhz, Audigy X-Fi Fatal1ty Champ1on ed., 0.5Tb+1Tb Seagate Barracuda 7200.12, 630W AXP, Samsung SyncMaster BX2450, ViewSonic VP171b
Madman
Minister of Gerbil Affairs
 
Posts: 2317
Joined: Tue Apr 01, 2003 4:55 am
Location: Latvia

Re: Is it possible with Windows?

Postposted on Mon Jan 11, 2010 7:54 pm

Nope, no go... But at least I know what to google for now.

EDIT: It seems that I need to add a static, permanent route on the laptop, so that it forwards requests from desktop to router.

But I forgot what you have to enter there...

Will this route everything from 192.168.3.0 subnet to external network?
route -p add 192.168.3.0 255.255.255.0 192.168.1.1

Metrics doesn't matter here as far as I understand, I have no loops or anything in the network.

Also, directly forwarding port, say 80, to desktop seems to be impossible, right?
Core 2 Duo E6300, MSI P45 NEO-F, Club 3D GTX 260, 4Gb DDR2-800Mhz, Audigy X-Fi Fatal1ty Champ1on ed., 0.5Tb+1Tb Seagate Barracuda 7200.12, 630W AXP, Samsung SyncMaster BX2450, ViewSonic VP171b
Madman
Minister of Gerbil Affairs
 
Posts: 2317
Joined: Tue Apr 01, 2003 4:55 am
Location: Latvia

Re: Is it possible with Windows?

Postposted on Tue Jan 12, 2010 1:34 pm

You should really check route -h!

Code: Select all
   > route ADD 157.0.0.0 MASK 255.0.0.0  157.55.80.1 METRIC 3 IF 2
            destination^      ^mask      ^gateway     metric^    ^
                                                        Interface^



So your destination should be 0.0.0.0 since you want to forward all of the packets that you receive from the device.

The mask should also be 0.0.0.0 indicating that you want the entire range of addresses forwarded.

The gateway should be the gateway through which you are forwarding it to, so in this case it would be 192.168.1.1

For the metric, I'm not sure, so I will leave that to notfred :P

As for the interface, this is the interface from which you are receiving the packet from, so do route print * and find the interface from which you are going to forward from and put it in there. It should be a hexadecimal value, I believe. Here's my route print *

Code: Select all
===========================================================================
Interface List
0x1 ........................... MS TCP Loopback interface
0x30002 ...00 22 fa d3 fa de ...... Intel(R) Wireless WiFi Link 5100 - Packet Scheduler Miniport
0x60004 ...00 25 b3 49 28 00 ...... Broadcom NetLink (TM) Gigabit Ethernet - Packet Scheduler Miniport
===========================================================================
===========================================================================
Active Routes:
Network Destination        Netmask          Gateway       Interface  Metric
          0.0.0.0          0.0.0.0       10.18.12.1     10.18.12.49       20
       10.18.12.0    255.255.255.0      10.18.12.49     10.18.12.49       20
      10.18.12.49  255.255.255.255        127.0.0.1       127.0.0.1       20
   10.255.255.255  255.255.255.255      10.18.12.49     10.18.12.49       20
        127.0.0.0        255.0.0.0        127.0.0.1       127.0.0.1       1
        224.0.0.0        240.0.0.0      10.18.12.49     10.18.12.49       20
  255.255.255.255  255.255.255.255      10.18.12.49     10.18.12.49       1
  255.255.255.255  255.255.255.255      10.18.12.49           30002       1
Default Gateway:        10.18.12.1
===========================================================================
Persistent Routes:
  None

Image
Nitrodist
Grand Gerbil Poohbah
 
Posts: 3280
Joined: Wed Jul 19, 2006 1:51 am
Location: Minnesota

Re: Is it possible with Windows?

Postposted on Wed Jan 13, 2010 11:43 am

Actually, I take that back.

The interface is through which the destination address is reachable. So, you already have that as your 0.0.0.0 range is allocated to your router which will perform the NAT and routing to the internet.

What you want is to forward the packets back to the other address with a lower metric of 1 so that it isn't forwarded back to the router (since its metric is 20).

route -p ADD 192.168.3.0 MASK 255.255.255.0 192.168.3.2 METRIC 1 IF [insert interface to other computer]

http://www.microsoft.com/resources/docu ... x?mfr=true
Image
Nitrodist
Grand Gerbil Poohbah
 
Posts: 3280
Joined: Wed Jul 19, 2006 1:51 am
Location: Minnesota

Re: Is it possible with Windows?

Postposted on Thu Jan 21, 2010 5:46 am

Nitrodist wrote:Actually, I take that back.

The interface is through which the destination address is reachable. So, you already have that as your 0.0.0.0 range is allocated to your router which will perform the NAT and routing to the internet.

What you want is to forward the packets back to the other address with a lower metric of 1 so that it isn't forwarded back to the router (since its metric is 20).

route -p ADD 192.168.3.0 MASK 255.255.255.0 192.168.3.2 METRIC 1 IF [insert interface to other computer]

http://www.microsoft.com/resources/docu ... x?mfr=true


I tried all kinds of stuff and still no go...

But don't I need something like this route -p ADD 192.168.3.0 MASK 255.255.255.0 192.168.1.1 METRIC 1 IF 0x2

Where 192.168.1.1 is address of the router and 0x2 is wireless interface to router.

That is - route all packets from network 192.168.3.x to next hop or gateway 192.168.1.1 and the cost of the route is 1, ie, very cheap.

EDIT: Is it even possible what I'm trying to achieve? I kinda need NAT functionality out of XP laptop :roll: Is it the same thing as routing?
Core 2 Duo E6300, MSI P45 NEO-F, Club 3D GTX 260, 4Gb DDR2-800Mhz, Audigy X-Fi Fatal1ty Champ1on ed., 0.5Tb+1Tb Seagate Barracuda 7200.12, 630W AXP, Samsung SyncMaster BX2450, ViewSonic VP171b
Madman
Minister of Gerbil Affairs
 
Posts: 2317
Joined: Tue Apr 01, 2003 4:55 am
Location: Latvia

Re: Is it possible with Windows?

Postposted on Fri Jan 22, 2010 6:30 pm

Is there a reason we haven't recommended him to simply bridge the two network connections together?

I've done that on my desktop between my wireless card and wired card to connect my server to the Internet.

So:
--- = Wired
~~~ = Wireless

Server <---> Desktop <~~~> Router <---> Internet

It sounds like the OP has the network setup similarly:

Laptop <---> Desktop <~~~> Router <---> Internet

The most difficult bit for me was figuring out how to put my wireless card into promiscuous mode, which was a single command to copy and paste into Command.

I guess what I want to know is why go through all this pain and agony?
The best things in life are free.
http://www.gentoo.org
Guy 1: Surely, you will fold with me.
Guy 2: Alright, but don't call me Shirley.
titan
Grand Gerbil Poohbah
 
Posts: 3276
Joined: Mon Feb 18, 2002 7:00 pm
Location: Great Smoky Mountains

Re: Is it possible with Windows?

Postposted on Fri Jan 22, 2010 7:22 pm

Yes, bridging is what I use now. But when I use bridge, the wireless tends to drop time after time, the MAC addresses are changed from what they are, so I have to change them for DMZ in router, and the interconnection doesn't work as expected between Laptop and PC, W7 doesn't see XP.
Core 2 Duo E6300, MSI P45 NEO-F, Club 3D GTX 260, 4Gb DDR2-800Mhz, Audigy X-Fi Fatal1ty Champ1on ed., 0.5Tb+1Tb Seagate Barracuda 7200.12, 630W AXP, Samsung SyncMaster BX2450, ViewSonic VP171b
Madman
Minister of Gerbil Affairs
 
Posts: 2317
Joined: Tue Apr 01, 2003 4:55 am
Location: Latvia

Re: Is it possible with Windows?

Postposted on Fri Jan 22, 2010 7:27 pm

Madman wrote:Yes, bridging is what I use now. But when I use bridge, the wireless tends to drop time after time, the MAC addresses are changed from what they are, so I have to change them for DMZ in router, and the interconnection doesn't work as expected between Laptop and PC, W7 doesn't see XP.

Have you set the wireless to promiscuous mode?

Look at the "Troubleshooting a Wireless Bridge" section of this article:
http://www.microsoft.com/windowsxp/usin ... ril22.mspx
The best things in life are free.
http://www.gentoo.org
Guy 1: Surely, you will fold with me.
Guy 2: Alright, but don't call me Shirley.
titan
Grand Gerbil Poohbah
 
Posts: 3276
Joined: Mon Feb 18, 2002 7:00 pm
Location: Great Smoky Mountains


Return to Networking

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests