Older router to blame? (Ventrillo + gaming)

The network is the forum.

Moderators: Steel, notfred

Older router to blame? (Ventrillo + gaming)

Postposted on Tue Mar 30, 2010 7:44 am

I have an older D-Link router (SEE EDIT) that's been pretty good to me. It lacks some of the newer features like QoS that I would like to have. My biggest reason for wanting to replace it, if needed, is that recently my ventrillo server has been having problems. Very frequently, everyone is silent. Then all of a sudden, everyone's chat, as if it was queued, comes through at once. Something like 5-7 minutes of audio at once in addition to anything else they say, all lumped together.

I could be wrong, but it appeared as if rebooted my router/modem solved it short term but then the last few days, I've been getting DC'd from games when I have never DC'd before. The router is somewhat older as mentioned so there's that. Any ideas before I plop down some cash for a new one with all kinds of shiny new features I didn't have? I like D-Link and have had this router for probably 5+ years. I was looking at their new 825 model, Dual band and QoS for streaming to my soon to be Patriot box office device.

thanks.

edit: I confused an old router I also had, the linksys wrt54. The D-link I have I can't recall the model off my head. This link shows what it looks like, but it's the entire router, not just an access point. http://www.dlink.com/products/?pid=326
Corsair 600T | ASUS P8P67 PRO | Intel 2500k @ 4.4Ghz | EVGA 560 TI | G.SKILL Ripjaws Series 8GB | Corsair HX650 650W
steelcity_ballin
Gerbilus Supremus
Silver subscriber
 
 
Posts: 11911
Joined: Mon May 26, 2003 5:55 am
Location: Pittsburgh PA

Re: Older router to blame? (Ventrillo + gaming)

Postposted on Tue Mar 30, 2010 9:04 am

steelcity_ballin wrote:My biggest reason for wanting to replace it, if needed, is that recently my ventrillo server has been having problems. Very frequently, everyone is silent. Then all of a sudden, everyone's chat, as if it was queued, comes through at once. Something like 5-7 minutes of audio at once in addition to anything else they say, all lumped together.


I have that happen to me as well. If you find a solution, let me know.
Intel i7 860, Asus P7P55D Pro, 4x2GB Corsair XMS3 1600 (CMX4GX3M2A1600C9), EVGA GTX 560 Ti Superclocked
Seagate 7200.7 160GB, WD Caviar Black 640GB, WD Caviar Green 1TB, WD Caviar Green 2TB
Dell 2408WFP and Dell 2407WFP-HC for dual-24" goodness
emorgoch
Gerbil Elite
 
Posts: 686
Joined: Tue Mar 27, 2007 11:26 am
Location: Toronto, ON

Re: Older router to blame? (Ventrillo + gaming)

Postposted on Tue Mar 30, 2010 9:10 am

emorgoch wrote:
steelcity_ballin wrote:My biggest reason for wanting to replace it, if needed, is that recently my ventrillo server has been having problems. Very frequently, everyone is silent. Then all of a sudden, everyone's chat, as if it was queued, comes through at once. Something like 5-7 minutes of audio at once in addition to anything else they say, all lumped together.


I have that happen to me as well. If you find a solution, let me know.


Frequently power-cycling my router seems to cure it for a few. This is a bandaid for me though, not a solution.
Corsair 600T | ASUS P8P67 PRO | Intel 2500k @ 4.4Ghz | EVGA 560 TI | G.SKILL Ripjaws Series 8GB | Corsair HX650 650W
steelcity_ballin
Gerbilus Supremus
Silver subscriber
 
 
Posts: 11911
Joined: Mon May 26, 2003 5:55 am
Location: Pittsburgh PA

Re: Older router to blame? (Ventrillo + gaming)

Postposted on Tue Mar 30, 2010 10:02 am

I had this happen to me in the past and I was pretty convinced my ISP, or one of it's connections, was blocking or throttling ventrilo. I had gone over and over with them about it with them denying blocking anything, but the instant I switched ISP's everything started working again.
Desktop: FX-8350 | 32 GB | XFX Radeon 6950 | Windows 7 x64
Laptop: i7 740QM | 12 GB | Mobility Radeon 5850 | Windows 8.1.1.1.1 x64
SuperSpy
Gerbil Jedi
Gold subscriber
 
 
Posts: 1570
Joined: Thu Sep 12, 2002 9:34 pm
Location: TR Forums

Re: Older router to blame? (Ventrillo + gaming)

Postposted on Tue Mar 30, 2010 10:10 am

SuperSpy wrote:I had this happen to me in the past and I was pretty convinced my ISP, or one of it's connections, was blocking or throttling ventrilo. I had gone over and over with them about it with them denying blocking anything, but the instant I switched ISP's everything started working again.


So then, the ISP packet-shaping could a be a lead. Seems like an invasion of privacy to identify the type of packets being sent, even though they may not be particularly interested in what the underlying data is.
Corsair 600T | ASUS P8P67 PRO | Intel 2500k @ 4.4Ghz | EVGA 560 TI | G.SKILL Ripjaws Series 8GB | Corsair HX650 650W
steelcity_ballin
Gerbilus Supremus
Silver subscriber
 
 
Posts: 11911
Joined: Mon May 26, 2003 5:55 am
Location: Pittsburgh PA

Re: Older router to blame? (Ventrillo + gaming)

Postposted on Tue Mar 30, 2010 11:35 am

Welcome to the Net Neutrality world.
notfred
Grand Gerbil Poohbah
 
Posts: 3731
Joined: Tue Aug 10, 2004 10:10 am
Location: Ottawa, Canada

Re: Older router to blame? (Ventrillo + gaming)

Postposted on Sat Apr 10, 2010 4:20 am

It's not too hard to justify ditching a DI-624 or comparable router these days. If you believe the router is causing your problem, fault isolation is as easy as turning on Windows firewall and connecting directly to the modem.
#182 TT: 13/DNVT, Precedence: Flash Override. Switch: Node Center. MSE forever.
Contingency
Gerbil Jedi
 
Posts: 1532
Joined: Sat Jun 19, 2004 4:03 pm
Location: al.us


Return to Networking

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest