Cisco Emulator

The network is the forum.

Moderators: Steel, notfred

Cisco Emulator

Postposted on Tue Apr 20, 2010 10:34 pm

I am taking classes for Cisco networking and I'm about to summer break. I want to find a FREE network emulator for summer practice so i dont lose all my newly found knowledge. They have one at boson.com but 400 bucks isn't free. Any idea? I need this program to be completely independent of the networking process currently going on with my computer.
dell inspiron 1545 laptop, duo core 2.3 ghz processor, 3 gigs of PC2-6400(400 MHz) ddr2 ram, 200mhz bus speed, 800 mhz FSB. 45nm, 35w, socket p (478), 1mb L2 cache, and a Mobile Intel(R) 4 Series Express Chipset Family "graphics card".
mattbak73
Gerbil
 
Posts: 68
Joined: Fri Nov 20, 2009 7:21 pm

Re: Cisco Emulator

Postposted on Wed Apr 21, 2010 10:15 am

When I got my CCNA like 10 years ago, I picked up some CCNA book on the cheap. It had a CD in it that offered a limited Cisco emulator. I would go to the local computer book store (for me it's Micro Center, maybe you will have luck with Borders or Barnes & Noble) and see what they have, see if any Cisco books include an emulator. For $50 or whatever the book costs, it's way cheaper.

I did find it pretty limited, though. Maybe you should go on eBay and pick up an used 1700 or something and just play around with that. That reminds me that I need to update the ios on my 2621 someday.
Scrotos
Graphmaster Gerbil
 
Posts: 1043
Joined: Tue Oct 02, 2007 12:57 pm
Location: Denver, CO.

Re: Cisco Emulator

Postposted on Wed Apr 21, 2010 11:33 am

I doubt you'll find a good one that is free or anything free at all. I haven't seen anything like that included with CCNA books (at least that isn't a trial). Routersims is good which isn't free but less than what you were looking at. If you are taking an official Cisco academy course then you will have access to packet tracer which is the best one.
| May the forces of evil become confused on the way to your house |
dolemitecomputers
Minister of Gerbil Affairs
 
Posts: 2605
Joined: Wed Dec 26, 2001 7:00 pm
Location: Utah

Re: Cisco Emulator

Postposted on Wed Apr 21, 2010 5:44 pm

Best free is Dynamips/Dynagen/GNS3/pemu, but that requires you to get hold of true IOS-images to load within. But thats probably your best bet if you can get hold of the IOS'es.
Aphasia
Grand Gerbil Poohbah
 
Posts: 3486
Joined: Tue Jan 01, 2002 7:00 pm
Location: Solna/Sweden

Re: Cisco Emulator

Postposted on Wed Apr 21, 2010 6:08 pm

Packet Tracer
Krogoth wrote:Care to enlightenment me?
grantmeaname
Gerbil Jedi
 
Posts: 1693
Joined: Fri Jan 18, 2008 7:49 pm
Location: Columbus, OH

Re: Cisco Emulator

Postposted on Wed Apr 21, 2010 11:52 pm

packet tracer came with my book for class but i didnt know it was a emulator. i'm only one class deep and its thru a local college so its not really the best class.
dell inspiron 1545 laptop, duo core 2.3 ghz processor, 3 gigs of PC2-6400(400 MHz) ddr2 ram, 200mhz bus speed, 800 mhz FSB. 45nm, 35w, socket p (478), 1mb L2 cache, and a Mobile Intel(R) 4 Series Express Chipset Family "graphics card".
mattbak73
Gerbil
 
Posts: 68
Joined: Fri Nov 20, 2009 7:21 pm

Re: Cisco Emulator

Postposted on Thu Apr 22, 2010 12:03 am

mattbak73 wrote:packet tracer came with my book for class but i didnt know it was a emulator. i'm only one class deep and its thru a local college so its not really the best class.

I took my only Cisco coursework through my county career center (although it was in my high school). Packet Tracer is an excellent emulator (in fact, make sure you keep a copy installed and a copy or two of the installer when you graduate from Cisco Networking Academy enrollment, since you can't get it elsewhere and it's such a good tool)
Krogoth wrote:Care to enlightenment me?
grantmeaname
Gerbil Jedi
 
Posts: 1693
Joined: Fri Jan 18, 2008 7:49 pm
Location: Columbus, OH

Re: Cisco Emulator

Postposted on Thu Apr 22, 2010 2:14 pm

Freekin sweet. Thanks guys.
dell inspiron 1545 laptop, duo core 2.3 ghz processor, 3 gigs of PC2-6400(400 MHz) ddr2 ram, 200mhz bus speed, 800 mhz FSB. 45nm, 35w, socket p (478), 1mb L2 cache, and a Mobile Intel(R) 4 Series Express Chipset Family "graphics card".
mattbak73
Gerbil
 
Posts: 68
Joined: Fri Nov 20, 2009 7:21 pm

Re: Cisco Emulator

Postposted on Thu Apr 22, 2010 2:21 pm

another question will packet tracer mess with the network i have set up at home right now?
dell inspiron 1545 laptop, duo core 2.3 ghz processor, 3 gigs of PC2-6400(400 MHz) ddr2 ram, 200mhz bus speed, 800 mhz FSB. 45nm, 35w, socket p (478), 1mb L2 cache, and a Mobile Intel(R) 4 Series Express Chipset Family "graphics card".
mattbak73
Gerbil
 
Posts: 68
Joined: Fri Nov 20, 2009 7:21 pm

Re: Cisco Emulator

Postposted on Thu Apr 22, 2010 8:34 pm

It won't. Everything is done within the application. You can add routers, switches, workstations, etc. and setup the network however you want. It will allow you to add different cards to the routers and IOS works just like it would in the real world.
It has a neat feature that will show you what happens within each layer as traffic passes through the network.
| May the forces of evil become confused on the way to your house |
dolemitecomputers
Minister of Gerbil Affairs
 
Posts: 2605
Joined: Wed Dec 26, 2001 7:00 pm
Location: Utah


Return to Networking

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests