Windows 7 connected...no internet?

The network is the forum.

Moderators: Steel, notfred

Windows 7 connected...no internet?

Postposted on Mon Jun 21, 2010 10:00 am

I recently purchased an Asus PCE-N13 wireless adapter for my desktop to replace a finicky Encore one. Windows 7 (x64)recognised and installed it fine although when it is connected there is a little yellow [!] next to the bars and it says "no internet access". I have 2 laptops and 2 iPod touches that connect without a hitch to the network and have internet access. One of the laptops also has Windows 7 x64. What am I doing wrong?

I have reset the modem, router, installed new adapter drivers from Asus and Ralink to no avail. This really stinks and any help or advice would be much appreciated! Thanks!
sokey70
Gerbil
 
Posts: 23
Joined: Tue Feb 24, 2009 11:35 pm

Re: Windows 7 connected...no internet?

Postposted on Mon Jun 21, 2010 10:34 am

Is it even getting an IP address?

Check in the Network and Sharing center > Change adapter settings > right click the connection and hit status > details button.

Does it have an IP address in the 192.168.x.x range, or whichever range you're using for your internal LAN? What about Gateway and DNS servers?
i5-2500k @ 4.5ghz | ASUS P8Z68-V | nVidia GTX780 | 32gb DDR3| 2x SSDs 2x HDD | Antec Solo II | Dell U2713HM
Mentawl
Gerbil XP
Silver subscriber
 
 
Posts: 452
Joined: Sun Dec 26, 2004 5:21 pm
Location: UK

Re: Windows 7 connected...no internet?

Postposted on Mon Jun 21, 2010 10:53 am

Do you have DHCP on in the router? Is MAC filtering enabled in the router?
Zoomastigophora
Gerbil Elite
 
Posts: 621
Joined: Tue Nov 11, 2008 7:10 pm

Re: Windows 7 connected...no internet?

Postposted on Mon Jun 21, 2010 10:55 am

It appears no, I am not the best at networking but am learning, this is what I have

Connection-specific DNS Suffix:
Description: 802.11n Wireless LAN Card
Physical Address: ?70-71-BC-0B-68-82
DHCP Enabled: Yes
Autoconfiguration IPv4 Address: 169.254.13.141
IPv4 Subnet Mask: 255.255.0.0
IPv4 Default Gateway:
IPv4 DNS Server:
IPv4 WINS Server:
NetBIOS over Tcpip Enabled: Yes
Link-local IPv6 Address: fe80::3c7c:1b68:1a09:d8d%20
IPv6 Default Gateway:
IPv6 DNS Servers: fec0:0:0:ffff::1%1, fec0:0:0:ffff::2%1, fec0:0:0:ffff::3%1
sokey70
Gerbil
 
Posts: 23
Joined: Tue Feb 24, 2009 11:35 pm

Re: Windows 7 connected...no internet?

Postposted on Mon Jun 21, 2010 10:56 am

I know that DHCP is enabled and am not sure on MAC filtering, I'll try to check.

Edit - I actually need to go but will be able to check the MAC filtering tonight about about 6, mountian time, 8 hours from when this is posted. Not that I want Vista back but I never had issues like this on that OS, could it be something with 7?
sokey70
Gerbil
 
Posts: 23
Joined: Tue Feb 24, 2009 11:35 pm

Re: Windows 7 connected...no internet?

Postposted on Mon Jun 21, 2010 11:36 am

Make sure the Asus adapter is not in 802.11n-only mode. My guess is that your router is 802.11b/g with no n and the card just needs to have its b/g capabilities enabled.
Life is hard; but it's harder if you're stupid. Big Al.
Captain Ned
Global Moderator
Gold subscriber
 
 
Posts: 20636
Joined: Wed Jan 16, 2002 7:00 pm
Location: Vermont, USA

Re: Windows 7 connected...no internet?

Postposted on Mon Jun 21, 2010 12:11 pm

Do you know how I would do that? I checl in the device manager on it's settings and don't see anything like that. The router does have an N signal although it was one of the first ones and I would be fine with it only running on G.
sokey70
Gerbil
 
Posts: 23
Joined: Tue Feb 24, 2009 11:35 pm

Re: Windows 7 connected...no internet?

Postposted on Mon Jun 21, 2010 12:37 pm

start on Page 21 of the manual (most likely on the driver CD), at the section titled Configuring with the WLAN utility (Infrastructure).
Life is hard; but it's harder if you're stupid. Big Al.
Captain Ned
Global Moderator
Gold subscriber
 
 
Posts: 20636
Joined: Wed Jan 16, 2002 7:00 pm
Location: Vermont, USA

Re: Windows 7 connected...no internet?

Postposted on Mon Jun 21, 2010 1:20 pm

1 suggestion : Check your antivirus & firewall program. Just the other day I couldn't get online & the firewall program blocked all access. what I did to fix it uninstall & reinstall my antivirus & firewall program & bingo back online.
Image
Dizzytaz00
Gerbil First Class
 
Posts: 106
Joined: Sat Dec 24, 2005 2:50 pm
Location: Berwick , PA USA

Re: Windows 7 connected...no internet?

Postposted on Mon Jun 21, 2010 2:59 pm

Thank you for all the suggestions thus far, I am currently at work and will try more when I get home. As for the firewall/anti-virus I was doing all of the configuration on a fresh install of Windows 7, I hadn't even put AV on it and I did disable the firewall but that didn't seem to work. I am thinking about returning and exchanging the card but so far I haven't found one that just *works* with 7 from what the people/reviewers say on newegg. Any suggestiosn as to a brand or good card if I can't work through this?
sokey70
Gerbil
 
Posts: 23
Joined: Tue Feb 24, 2009 11:35 pm

Re: Windows 7 connected...no internet?

Postposted on Mon Jun 21, 2010 7:31 pm

sokey70 wrote:It appears no, I am not the best at networking but am learning, this is what I have

Connection-specific DNS Suffix:
Description: 802.11n Wireless LAN Card
Physical Address: ?70-71-BC-0B-68-82
DHCP Enabled: Yes
Autoconfiguration IPv4 Address: 169.254.13.141
IPv4 Subnet Mask: 255.255.0.0
IPv4 Default Gateway:
IPv4 DNS Server:
IPv4 WINS Server:
NetBIOS over Tcpip Enabled: Yes
Link-local IPv6 Address: fe80::3c7c:1b68:1a09:d8d%20
IPv6 Default Gateway:
IPv6 DNS Servers: fec0:0:0:ffff::1%1, fec0:0:0:ffff::2%1, fec0:0:0:ffff::3%1


You've got a 169.254.x.x IP address, which is autoconfigured as stated, and I'm sure it won't work with any kind of IP network you've got going. If you're sure you have your passwords correct, you can try disabling DHCP and set a static IP address that is within your IP network (192.168.x.x or 10.1.x.x). You might also log into your router with another machine and see if you can browse the logs to see if there's an error message of some sort.
Calm seas never made a skilled mariner.
drsauced
Graphmaster Gerbil
 
Posts: 1477
Joined: Mon Apr 21, 2003 1:38 pm
Location: Here!

Re: Windows 7 connected...no internet?

Postposted on Tue Jun 22, 2010 9:04 am

UPADTE
Last night I tried to ping the router and a few computers on the network as well asa few other sites which worked intermittently. I checked the security log as suggested and it looks as though it did block something, I pretty sure those IP's were from my desktop too.

Firewall log:
Mon Jun 21 19:45:16 2010 1 Blocked by DoS protection 192.168.2.6
Mon Jun 21 19:48:09 2010 1 Blocked by DoS protection 192.168.2.6
Mon Jun 21 20:07:56 2010 1 Blocked by DoS protection 192.168.2.6
Mon Jun 21 20:12:05 2010 1 Blocked by DoS protection 192.168.2.6
Mon Jun 21 20:24:06 2010 1 Blocked by DoS protection 192.168.2.6
Mon Jun 21 20:32:19 2010 1 Blocked by DoS protection 192.168.2.6
Mon Jun 21 20:32:20 2010 1 Blocked by DoS protection 192.168.2.6
Mon Jun 21 20:35:41 2010 1 Blocked by DoS protection 192.168.2.6
Mon Jun 21 20:42:19 2010 1 Blocked by DoS protection 169.254.238.167
Mon Jun 21 20:58:23 2010 1 Blocked by DoS protection 192.168.2.4
Mon Jun 21 21:02:55 2010 1 Blocked by DoS protection 192.168.2.8
Mon Jun 21 21:02:56 2010 1 Blocked by DoS protection 192.168.2.8
Mon Jun 21 21:15:54 2010 1 Blocked by DoS protection 192.168.2.6
Mon Jun 21 21:16:21 2010 1 Blocked by DoS protection 192.168.2.6
Mon Jun 21 21:24:13 2010 1 Blocked by DoS protection 192.168.2.8
Mon Jun 21 21:24:38 2010 1 Blocked by DoS protection 192.168.2.8
Mon Jun 21 21:44:12 2010 1 Blocked by DoS protection 192.168.2.6
Mon Jun 21 21:46:11 2010 1 Blocked by DoS protection 192.168.2.10
Mon Jun 21 21:51:55 2010 1 Blocked by DoS protection 192.168.2.6
Mon Jun 21 21:55:15 2010 1 Blocked by DoS protection 192.168.2.10
Mon Jun 21 21:55:42 2010 1 Blocked by DoS protection 192.168.2.6
Mon Jun 21 21:55:50 2010 1 Blocked by DoS protection 192.168.2.10
Mon Jun 21 21:58:36 2010 1 Blocked by DoS protection 192.168.2.10
Mon Jun 21 22:03:38 2010 1 Blocked by DoS protection 192.168.2.10
Mon Jun 21 22:05:07 2010 1 Blocked by DoS protection 192.168.2.10
Mon Jun 21 22:20:05 2010 1 Blocked by DoS protection 192.168.2.6
Mon Jun 21 23:56:07 2010 1 Blocked by DoS protection 192.168.2.6
Tues Jun 22 00:03:57 2010 1 Blocked by DoS protection 192.168.2.6
Tues Jun 22 06:29:21 2010 1 Blocked by DoS protection 192.168.2.6
Tues Jun 22 06:54:06 2010 1 Blocked by DoS protection 192.168.2.6

The original list was huge and sso I deleted some of the times, if it would help to post that I can.

I checked and MAC filtering is not enabled. I also checked the manual to get it running in only G mode and couldn't find anything although I did set the router to only broadcast a G. The router is a Belkin N150.

Because of the frustration last night I uninstalled the new card (Asus PCE-N13) and put the Encore (Realtek 8185 chipset) back in to see what I could get. now it is either stuck on "identifying" or has a few bars connected with the yellow [!]. I am off today so access and applying suggestions will not have to wait till tonight, yea! Thanks in advance.
sokey70
Gerbil
 
Posts: 23
Joined: Tue Feb 24, 2009 11:35 pm

Re: Windows 7 connected...no internet?

Postposted on Tue Jun 22, 2010 9:12 am

Sounds almost like an odd issue I had under Vista, where it wouldn't get an IP from the DHCP server built into my router because the router didn't support the DHCP broadcast flag. It's unlikely to be the case with Windows 7, as by default I believe 7 is setup to time out on broadcast flag attempts and use regular ol' DHCP.

Anyways, if you want to see if that's the issue ( and it shouldn't break anything else if it's not ), it requires some registry editing.

Start > Run > Regedit

Browse to HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SYSTEM\CurrentControlSet\Services\Tcpip\Parameters\Interfaces\

You'll have several entries with a unique alphanumeric ID, or {GUID}. Find the one which has an IP address that's the same as your currently installed wireless card - probably the one with 169.254.x.x. With that entry selected, go to the edit menu, new 32bit DWord value. The value is to be called DhcpConnForceBroadcastFlag, and set the value to zero. Reboot afterwards and see if the wireless card picks up an IP address.
i5-2500k @ 4.5ghz | ASUS P8Z68-V | nVidia GTX780 | 32gb DDR3| 2x SSDs 2x HDD | Antec Solo II | Dell U2713HM
Mentawl
Gerbil XP
Silver subscriber
 
 
Posts: 452
Joined: Sun Dec 26, 2004 5:21 pm
Location: UK

Re: Windows 7 connected...no internet?

Postposted on Tue Jun 22, 2010 9:45 am

Okay in the registry under all of that the only this I see is (Default) and "Value Not Set" under the data. Should I create one that is as you stated?
sokey70
Gerbil
 
Posts: 23
Joined: Tue Feb 24, 2009 11:35 pm

Re: Windows 7 connected...no internet?

Postposted on Tue Jun 22, 2010 9:49 am

Make sure you have the GUID key itself selected, you should see a buncha values in the right hand pane when you have one of the long alphanumeric keys selected.
i5-2500k @ 4.5ghz | ASUS P8Z68-V | nVidia GTX780 | 32gb DDR3| 2x SSDs 2x HDD | Antec Solo II | Dell U2713HM
Mentawl
Gerbil XP
Silver subscriber
 
 
Posts: 452
Joined: Sun Dec 26, 2004 5:21 pm
Location: UK

Re: Windows 7 connected...no internet?

Postposted on Tue Jun 22, 2010 10:01 am

Here's a screengrab of my own registry, with the required key :

Image

As you can see, in my case I had 3 {GUID} values for my TCPIP interfaces, and the bottom one corresponds to my Intel NIC. You can see the DhcpConnForceBroadcastFlag value in the right pane when the bottom {GUID} is selected :)
i5-2500k @ 4.5ghz | ASUS P8Z68-V | nVidia GTX780 | 32gb DDR3| 2x SSDs 2x HDD | Antec Solo II | Dell U2713HM
Mentawl
Gerbil XP
Silver subscriber
 
 
Posts: 452
Joined: Sun Dec 26, 2004 5:21 pm
Location: UK

Re: Windows 7 connected...no internet?

Postposted on Tue Jun 22, 2010 10:39 am

Well, the registry looks fine, actually. Thanks for posting the log entries. I would guess that either it is telling the truth and one or more of your computers is zombied (not very likely), or it has an overactive filter. Is there a way to disable the firewall/DoS filtering in the Belkin router? While you're at it, I'm also wondering if there isn't a firmware update for it too?
Calm seas never made a skilled mariner.
drsauced
Graphmaster Gerbil
 
Posts: 1477
Joined: Mon Apr 21, 2003 1:38 pm
Location: Here!

Re: Windows 7 connected...no internet?

Postposted on Tue Jun 22, 2010 11:03 am

Okay the firmware is up-to-date and when I went to edit that value in the registry it said that is already existed, upon further investigation, it was indeed already there. Also, I can disable the firewall but would that be bad to leave it open like that? Do you think WPA2 would have anything to do with it not connecting all the way?

EDIT: I just restored all factory settings on the router and the computer connected just fine without any security (WPA2) enabled although it is only connected at 1-5 mbs and when I ping an IP it tends to be around 500ms. Any ideas on upping the connection speed? It has 4-5 bars so the connection is good it is just slow.
sokey70
Gerbil
 
Posts: 23
Joined: Tue Feb 24, 2009 11:35 pm

Re: Windows 7 connected...no internet?

Postposted on Tue Jun 22, 2010 12:32 pm

Hey, great! Progress! How far away from the router are you? Ping times will creep up the farther away from the router you are, and speed will also decrease with more security. But you're at the lowest settings, so I think it will only get faster :).

One thing I've had to do with my Linksys gear is to start with WEP and then up it to WPA2+AES security. I like WPA2+AES because the wireless chipsets often have hardware acceleration for AES encryption. I also tend to think that disabling the router's firewall is OK for a short time, the NAT function is pretty OK protection.
Calm seas never made a skilled mariner.
drsauced
Graphmaster Gerbil
 
Posts: 1477
Joined: Mon Apr 21, 2003 1:38 pm
Location: Here!

Re: Windows 7 connected...no internet?

Postposted on Tue Jun 22, 2010 1:29 pm

I know I'm excited, I love building computers but have not been a fan of networking yet. Anyway, would there be a difference in speed if I did WPA instead of WPA2? I am down a floor, through 2 walls, and about 15-20 ft away. What being in a house that was built in the forties probably doesn't help, this thing is solid.
sokey70
Gerbil
 
Posts: 23
Joined: Tue Feb 24, 2009 11:35 pm

Re: Windows 7 connected...no internet?

Postposted on Wed Jun 23, 2010 10:16 am

So it has been connected okay thus far, do you think that a high gain antenna on either the router or card would be better or would it not help at all?
sokey70
Gerbil
 
Posts: 23
Joined: Tue Feb 24, 2009 11:35 pm


Return to Networking

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests