Bizzare networking issue

The network is the forum.

Moderators: Steel, notfred

Bizzare networking issue

Postposted on Sun Aug 07, 2011 8:40 pm

My friends computer has a strange issue, it had not been on for 2 weeks, and was working fine. Yesterday it was turned on and the onboard NIC was no longer working or showing up. Tried switching to the 2nd onboard NIC that still had the light on, that one also did not work or show up in windows. The I proceeded to go through 4 different PCI NICs in different PCI slots. They all showed up in windows, installed drivers, although the lights never came on in the cards and showed as disconnected in windows. Tried several different known working cables, along with bringing it back to my place to see if it was the cable modem. Nothing has seemed to work, I could def use some advice on what the problem may be...because I am pretty well baffled by the behavior. Computer seems to be working fine besides this bizzare networking issue. Anyone with an idea, feel free to post away with some advice.

AMD A64X2
2G DDR2
NV 7800
Windows XP
Image
Abit BP6 2X 300A@450 mhz, 1.5 GB PC133 ECC, Renditon Verite V2200, SB AWE32, Adaptec 2940U2W, 4.3GB Quantum Atlas 10K, Plextor Ultraplex
Starfalcon
Gerbilus Supremus
 
Posts: 11670
Joined: Mon Oct 14, 2002 9:43 am
Location: Evergreen Park, IL

Re: Bizzare networking issue

Postposted on Sun Aug 07, 2011 9:13 pm

Did you disable the onboard NICs in the BIOS?
There are people that embrace the Oxford comma and people who don't. Never get between these people when drink has been taken. I use the Oxford comma and always will. The rest can sod off.
Captain Ned
Global Moderator
Gold subscriber
 
 
Posts: 19773
Joined: Wed Jan 16, 2002 6:00 pm
Location: Vermont, USA

Re: Bizzare networking issue

Postposted on Sun Aug 07, 2011 9:14 pm

Scenario:
Both the cable modem and PC NIC port are fried, when you tested at your location, you did so using the bad PC NIC?
#182 TT: 13/DNVT, Precedence: Flash Override. Switch: Node Center. MSE forever.
Contingency
Gerbil Jedi
 
Posts: 1531
Joined: Sat Jun 19, 2004 3:03 pm
Location: al.us

Re: Bizzare networking issue

Postposted on Mon Aug 08, 2011 5:30 am

Maybe the Windows network stack has got borked? Try an Ubuntu live CD and see if it works, that should show whether you are fighting software or hardware issues.
notfred
Grand Gerbil Poohbah
 
Posts: 3650
Joined: Tue Aug 10, 2004 9:10 am
Location: Ottawa, Canada

Re: Bizzare networking issue

Postposted on Mon Aug 08, 2011 5:59 am

Contingency wrote:Scenario:
Both the cable modem and PC NIC port are fried, when you tested at your location, you did so using the bad PC NIC?


This or you're using a bad Ethernet cable.
TwistedKestrel
Gerbil Team Leader
 
Posts: 212
Joined: Mon Jan 06, 2003 3:29 pm

Re: Bizzare networking issue

Postposted on Mon Aug 08, 2011 8:17 am

Actually I think NotFred is more likely correct.

This sounds more like a driver or network stack issue than hardware failure especially since both onboard and card nic's are showing the same issue.
Especially since he is checking the lights on the socket.

Having seen something similar I would try booting up in safe mode and removing ALL nic drivers from the device manager.
(You may want to check add/remote program as well.)

Reboot and see if windows picks up the onboard nics and if so install the LATEST drivers.

If notfred's suggestion works and mine does not then you are looking at a wipe and reinstall.
I wish to see things not as they are but as they should be.
Aranarth
Gerbil Elite
 
Posts: 580
Joined: Tue Jan 17, 2006 5:56 am
Location: Big Rapids, Mich. (Est Time Zone)

Re: Bizzare networking issue

Postposted on Mon Aug 08, 2011 8:49 am

Isn't there a program that will rebuild/reset the TCP/IP Stack in XP. It has been years since I used it but I do believe that there was a utility to do this.

It might be something to checkout before a wipe and reinstall at least.
DrkSide
Gerbil
 
Posts: 82
Joined: Thu Sep 16, 2010 8:08 pm

Re: Bizzare networking issue

Postposted on Mon Aug 08, 2011 8:56 am

One thing you can do from the command line:

Open up the command prompt as an administrator
Type the following:

"netsh int ip reset resetlog.txt"
"netsh winsock reset"

then reboot.

You can also try getting the latest NIC driver. If it's a Realtek NIC, get one straight from them and not the motherboard maker. I've had an updated Realtek driver fix just this problem.
Think for yourself, schmuck!
i5-2500K@4.3|Asus P8P67-LE|8GB DDR3-1600|Powercolor R7850 2G|1.5TB 7200.11|1988 Model M|Saitek X-45 & P880|Logitech MX 518|Dell 2209WA|Sennheiser PC151|Asus Xonar DX
bthylafh
Grand Gerbil Poohbah
 
Posts: 3073
Joined: Mon Dec 29, 2003 10:55 pm
Location: Southwest Missouri, USA

Re: Bizzare networking issue

Postposted on Mon Aug 08, 2011 9:41 am

bthylafh wrote:One thing you can do from the command line:

Open up the command prompt as an administrator
Type the following:

"netsh int ip reset resetlog.txt"
"netsh winsock reset"

then reboot.

You can also try getting the latest NIC driver. If it's a Realtek NIC, get one straight from them and not the motherboard maker. I've had an updated Realtek driver fix just this problem.


This. Pretty much says it all. If the above doesn't work, check the BIOS too; reset to defaults if necessary, or see if there is an updated version and re-flash.
Core i7-2600K @4.2GHz, GIGABYTE GA-Z68XP-UD5, 4x4GB G.Skill RipJaws PC1866
Corsair 650D case, Seasonic X750 Gold PSU
WD `Raptor 600GB boot, WD Caviar Black 1TB data, NEC 7200 DVDRW
2x Radeon 6970 2GB in Crossfire, X-Fi Titanium, Dell 2407WFP
LoneWolf15
Gerbil XP
Silver subscriber
 
 
Posts: 375
Joined: Tue Feb 17, 2004 7:36 am
Location: SW Meecheegan

Re: Bizzare networking issue

Postposted on Mon Aug 08, 2011 9:56 am

I went through something similar about a month ago with a VM running on ESX. Called VMware support and worked with them to figure it out. Turned out to be an issue with IPSec in Windows. (http://support.microsoft.com/kb/912023). Go with notfred's suggestion, and try running a live CD to determine if it's a hardware or software issue first.
Intel i7 860, Asus P7P55D Pro, 4x2GB Corsair XMS3 1600 (CMX4GX3M2A1600C9), EVGA GTX 560 Ti Superclocked
Seagate 7200.7 160GB, WD Caviar Black 640GB, WD Caviar Green 1TB, WD Caviar Green 2TB
Dell 2408WFP and Dell 2407WFP-HC for dual-24" goodness
emorgoch
Gerbil Elite
 
Posts: 686
Joined: Tue Mar 27, 2007 10:26 am
Location: Toronto, ON

Re: Bizzare networking issue

Postposted on Mon Aug 08, 2011 11:53 am

To reply back to all the questions, yes both onboard ports are enabled in the bios, I had turned it both on and off multiple times to no change. The replacement PCI NICs I used along with the cable were both known working parts. I have the most current bios available as it is an epox board and they have since gone out of buisiness. Going to try the live CD and see if that works.
Image
Abit BP6 2X 300A@450 mhz, 1.5 GB PC133 ECC, Renditon Verite V2200, SB AWE32, Adaptec 2940U2W, 4.3GB Quantum Atlas 10K, Plextor Ultraplex
Starfalcon
Gerbilus Supremus
 
Posts: 11670
Joined: Mon Oct 14, 2002 9:43 am
Location: Evergreen Park, IL

Re: Bizzare networking issue

Postposted on Mon Aug 08, 2011 12:29 pm

When you do an ipconfig what do you get? 0.0.0.0 usually means disabled network card/stack. 169.x.x.x usually means something broken in regards to DHCP. (when windows can't find a dhcp server, it grabs an address in the 169 network.)

What anti-virus/internet security program do you use? Any chance it has been set to block all network traffic? You could do that with ZoneAlarm (been years since I used it). Hit a button on the interface and it would block all in/out network traffic until you hit the same button again.
someuid
Gerbil
 
Posts: 13
Joined: Wed Jul 27, 2011 10:07 am

Re: Bizzare networking issue

Postposted on Mon Aug 08, 2011 10:41 pm

It doesn't show anything for a ipconfig beyond saying the media is disconnected. Windows acts like there is nothing connected to the NIC, although the cable is plugged in.
Image
Abit BP6 2X 300A@450 mhz, 1.5 GB PC133 ECC, Renditon Verite V2200, SB AWE32, Adaptec 2940U2W, 4.3GB Quantum Atlas 10K, Plextor Ultraplex
Starfalcon
Gerbilus Supremus
 
Posts: 11670
Joined: Mon Oct 14, 2002 9:43 am
Location: Evergreen Park, IL

Re: Bizzare networking issue

Postposted on Mon Aug 08, 2011 11:07 pm

LiveCD to verify. Windows networking stack is horked.
I've been here long enough that I think I can forgo a signature.
Forge
Darth Gerbil
 
Posts: 7868
Joined: Wed Dec 26, 2001 6:00 pm
Location: SouthEast PA

Re: Bizzare networking issue

Postposted on Tue Aug 09, 2011 2:19 pm

So any way to fix the networking stack, or is it time for a re install?
Image
Abit BP6 2X 300A@450 mhz, 1.5 GB PC133 ECC, Renditon Verite V2200, SB AWE32, Adaptec 2940U2W, 4.3GB Quantum Atlas 10K, Plextor Ultraplex
Starfalcon
Gerbilus Supremus
 
Posts: 11670
Joined: Mon Oct 14, 2002 9:43 am
Location: Evergreen Park, IL

Re: Bizzare networking issue

Postposted on Tue Aug 09, 2011 2:29 pm

Did you try the commands I posted?
Think for yourself, schmuck!
i5-2500K@4.3|Asus P8P67-LE|8GB DDR3-1600|Powercolor R7850 2G|1.5TB 7200.11|1988 Model M|Saitek X-45 & P880|Logitech MX 518|Dell 2209WA|Sennheiser PC151|Asus Xonar DX
bthylafh
Grand Gerbil Poohbah
 
Posts: 3073
Joined: Mon Dec 29, 2003 10:55 pm
Location: Southwest Missouri, USA

Re: Bizzare networking issue

Postposted on Tue Aug 09, 2011 7:15 pm

Yeah I did, still showing the same problem with the cable showing up as disconnected.
Image
Abit BP6 2X 300A@450 mhz, 1.5 GB PC133 ECC, Renditon Verite V2200, SB AWE32, Adaptec 2940U2W, 4.3GB Quantum Atlas 10K, Plextor Ultraplex
Starfalcon
Gerbilus Supremus
 
Posts: 11670
Joined: Mon Oct 14, 2002 9:43 am
Location: Evergreen Park, IL

Re: Bizzare networking issue

Postposted on Tue Aug 09, 2011 7:35 pm

This might help:

http://majorgeeks.com/WinSock_XP_Fix_d4372.html

If this fails, you could try "sfc /scannow", and if that fails, all I can suggest is doing a repair install of Windows.
Think for yourself, schmuck!
i5-2500K@4.3|Asus P8P67-LE|8GB DDR3-1600|Powercolor R7850 2G|1.5TB 7200.11|1988 Model M|Saitek X-45 & P880|Logitech MX 518|Dell 2209WA|Sennheiser PC151|Asus Xonar DX
bthylafh
Grand Gerbil Poohbah
 
Posts: 3073
Joined: Mon Dec 29, 2003 10:55 pm
Location: Southwest Missouri, USA

Re: Bizzare networking issue

Postposted on Tue Aug 09, 2011 7:45 pm

Well going to give that a try then, just did a bios upgrade on it in hopes the onboard would show back up, but no go on that.
Image
Abit BP6 2X 300A@450 mhz, 1.5 GB PC133 ECC, Renditon Verite V2200, SB AWE32, Adaptec 2940U2W, 4.3GB Quantum Atlas 10K, Plextor Ultraplex
Starfalcon
Gerbilus Supremus
 
Posts: 11670
Joined: Mon Oct 14, 2002 9:43 am
Location: Evergreen Park, IL

Re: Bizzare networking issue

Postposted on Tue Aug 09, 2011 8:02 pm

Well no go on both, guess its time for a nuke and reinstall....was trying to avoid that but looks like it is the only solution. It just is so strange how this completely came out of the blue...and nothing seems to be able to fix it.
Image
Abit BP6 2X 300A@450 mhz, 1.5 GB PC133 ECC, Renditon Verite V2200, SB AWE32, Adaptec 2940U2W, 4.3GB Quantum Atlas 10K, Plextor Ultraplex
Starfalcon
Gerbilus Supremus
 
Posts: 11670
Joined: Mon Oct 14, 2002 9:43 am
Location: Evergreen Park, IL

Re: Bizzare networking issue

Postposted on Tue Aug 09, 2011 9:03 pm

Did you try a Linux livecd yet? I didn't see any mention, and it's important to be certain it's software before you nuke the installed copy.
I've been here long enough that I think I can forgo a signature.
Forge
Darth Gerbil
 
Posts: 7868
Joined: Wed Dec 26, 2001 6:00 pm
Location: SouthEast PA

Re: Bizzare networking issue

Postposted on Tue Aug 09, 2011 10:48 pm

Well figured out the issue, PCI slot I had the card in was damaged, put another card in a different PCI slot worked fine. No idea what caused all the damage though. Thanks for all the help everyone, funny how I ended up trying to use the only damaged PCI slot on the board too...friend will be happy to get the system back minus a nuke from orbit too.
Image
Abit BP6 2X 300A@450 mhz, 1.5 GB PC133 ECC, Renditon Verite V2200, SB AWE32, Adaptec 2940U2W, 4.3GB Quantum Atlas 10K, Plextor Ultraplex
Starfalcon
Gerbilus Supremus
 
Posts: 11670
Joined: Mon Oct 14, 2002 9:43 am
Location: Evergreen Park, IL

Re: Bizzare networking issue

Postposted on Tue Aug 09, 2011 11:22 pm

Starfalcon wrote:Well figured out the issue, PCI slot I had the card in was damaged, put another card in a different PCI slot worked fine.


Starfalcon wrote:The I proceeded to go through 4 different PCI NICs in different PCI slots.


I used to think it was cynical to automatically assume the person at the other end of the line was either an idiot or a liar. After seeing this play a out a half dozen or so times, I realized there was an element of truth in it.
#182 TT: 13/DNVT, Precedence: Flash Override. Switch: Node Center. MSE forever.
Contingency
Gerbil Jedi
 
Posts: 1531
Joined: Sat Jun 19, 2004 3:03 pm
Location: al.us

Re: Bizzare networking issue

Postposted on Wed Aug 10, 2011 5:17 am

There could've been some bad NICs in the mix as well, so it could have also been bad luck (depending on which NICs were tried in each slot).
(this space intentionally left blank)
just brew it!
Administrator
Gold subscriber
 
 
Posts: 36922
Joined: Tue Aug 20, 2002 9:51 pm
Location: Somewhere, having a beer

Re: Bizzare networking issue

Postposted on Wed Aug 10, 2011 9:19 am

Recently had a problem exactly like this one - NIC was present but didn't work, period, full stop.

Only thing is, turned out to be some stray charge in the PSU. Unplugging it from the wall and re-plugging it did the trick.
There is a fixed amount of intelligence on the planet, and the population keeps growing :(
morphine
Gerbil Khan
Silver subscriber
 
 
Posts: 9867
Joined: Fri Dec 27, 2002 7:51 pm
Location: Portugal (that's next to Spain)

Re: Bizzare networking issue

Postposted on Wed Aug 10, 2011 12:52 pm

just brew it! wrote:There could've been some bad NICs in the mix as well, so it could have also been bad luck (depending on which NICs were tried in each slot).



Yeah looks like I had a few defective NIC cards too...I ended up tossing 4 of them. Most had been in a box for years anyway, the trusty 3c905-tx saves the day. I ended up having the defective ones in good slots and the good one in the defective one. Less clutter FTW.
Image
Abit BP6 2X 300A@450 mhz, 1.5 GB PC133 ECC, Renditon Verite V2200, SB AWE32, Adaptec 2940U2W, 4.3GB Quantum Atlas 10K, Plextor Ultraplex
Starfalcon
Gerbilus Supremus
 
Posts: 11670
Joined: Mon Oct 14, 2002 9:43 am
Location: Evergreen Park, IL


Return to Networking

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests