how can you use your cable box for ur modem?

The network is the forum.

Moderators: Steel, notfred

how can you use your cable box for ur modem?

Postposted on Mon Oct 17, 2011 7:29 pm

Ok I have a cable box in one room and a modem and wireless adapter in another (and there's no phone connection in my house so the adapter provides it),and I want modem in the room with the cable box for my PS2 witch i still play.The cable box has a HD hook up so i don't need the output cable from the box.Will my cable modem still get internet from the cable out on the cable box?
VuLCaNxVET
Gerbil In Training
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Mon Oct 17, 2011 7:09 pm

Re: how can you use your cable box for ur modem?

Postposted on Mon Oct 17, 2011 7:35 pm

No.

What you want is a simple high-frequency splitter and a couple of short RG-6 cables.
i7-4770K, H70, Gryphon Z87, 16 GiB, R9-290, SSD, 2 HD, Blu-ray, SB ZX, TJ08-E, SS-660XP², 3007WFP+2001FP, RK-9000BR, MX518
JustAnEngineer
Gerbil God
Gold subscriber
 
 
Posts: 15385
Joined: Sat Jan 26, 2002 7:00 pm
Location: The Heart of Dixie

Re: how can you use your cable box for ur modem?

Postposted on Mon Oct 17, 2011 8:32 pm

sweet dude.ill check that out thnx
VuLCaNxVET
Gerbil In Training
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Mon Oct 17, 2011 7:09 pm


Return to Networking

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests