TX Power on my new router?

The network is the forum.

Moderators: Steel, notfred

TX Power on my new router?

Postposted on Fri Feb 10, 2012 10:26 am

I've got a Netgear WNR2000v2 router. I flashed it with DD-WRT firmware. I'm assuming cranking up the TX Power will extend the wireless range. I'm given the option of 1-251mW with 71mW as default. Anyone know what is a safe amount to increase it? What will happen if I go too high?
JJCDAD
Gerbil Jedi
 
Posts: 1867
Joined: Fri Sep 17, 2004 3:11 pm
Location: Is this heaven? No, it's Iowa.

Re: TX Power on my new router?

Postposted on Fri Feb 10, 2012 10:51 am

Too high and the transmitters will overheat, and you'll piss off your neighbors by overriding their signals.

I remember reading once that it's not recommended to go past 84 mW with my old WRT54GL (default 42 mW), so that's where I left it.
Think for yourself, schmuck!
i5-2500K@4.3|Asus P8P67-LE|8GB DDR3-1600|Powercolor R7850 2G|1.5TB 7200.11|1988 Model M|Saitek X-45 & P880|Logitech MX 518|Dell 2209WA|Sennheiser PC151|Asus Xonar DX
bthylafh
Grand Gerbil Poohbah
 
Posts: 3128
Joined: Mon Dec 29, 2003 11:55 pm
Location: Southwest Missouri, USA

Re: TX Power on my new router?

Postposted on Fri Feb 10, 2012 1:17 pm

Increasing the Tx level on the router may not even help your range much. If the router can't "hear" the PC, you're not going to have a reliable connection no matter how much power the router is pumping out.
(this space intentionally left blank)
just brew it!
Administrator
Gold subscriber
 
 
Posts: 37483
Joined: Tue Aug 20, 2002 10:51 pm
Location: Somewhere, having a beer

Re: TX Power on my new router?

Postposted on Fri Feb 10, 2012 1:22 pm

just brew it! wrote:Increasing the Tx level on the router may not even help your range much. If the router can't "hear" the PC, you're not going to have a reliable connection no matter how much power the router is pumping out.

One of the few spots where increased power has helped me is the install I did for a friend. They put up a business building on one side of their property and bought business-class from Comcast, while still having resi-class in their house. A pair of WRT-54GLs and some increased transmitter power later, they now have a stable WDS system spanning both buildings with the business-class service, allowing them to drop the resi-class in the house. Since there are 2 APs/routers, 1 in each building, client TX power isn't an issue and the increased router TX power means both WRTs have no issues talking to and hearing each other.
It is one of the blessings of old friends that you can afford to be stupid with them. Ralph Waldo Emerson.
Captain Ned
Global Moderator
Gold subscriber
 
 
Posts: 20103
Joined: Wed Jan 16, 2002 7:00 pm
Location: Vermont, USA


Return to Networking

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests