Quick Cisco VLAN question

The network is the forum.

Moderators: Steel, notfred

Quick Cisco VLAN question

Postposted on Fri Jun 20, 2014 1:36 pm

I'm going over some practice exams, to get ready to take TSHOOT. and have a quick question.

The practice question was asking what the default native VLAN was on a Catalyst switch using IOS. Obviously the answer is VLAN1, but one of the other answers was VLAN 0. It went on to state that VLAN 0 is invalid and can never be used. Odd thing is, if you type "switchport voice vlan dot1p" to an interface connected to a cisco phone and a PC, it creates a trunk, and designates VLAN 0 for voice traffic, and sends the PC data as untagged packets to the native VLAN.

So, which one is correct? Is VLAN 0 never valid, or only in a specific instance, like dot1p?
Hz so good
Gerbil Elite
 
Posts: 733
Joined: Wed Dec 04, 2013 5:08 pm

Re: Quick Cisco VLAN question

Postposted on Fri Jun 20, 2014 2:04 pm

Ignoring Cisco specific stuff, VLAN 0 is never valid because it is .1p rather than .1q. VLANs are .1q hence valid from 1-4094, 0 and 4095 are reserved values in 802.1Q
notfred
Grand Gerbil Poohbah
 
Posts: 3775
Joined: Tue Aug 10, 2004 10:10 am
Location: Ottawa, Canada

Re: Quick Cisco VLAN question

Postposted on Fri Jun 20, 2014 2:10 pm

notfred wrote:Ignoring Cisco specific stuff, VLAN 0 is never valid because it is .1p rather than .1q. VLANs are .1q hence valid from 1-4094, 0 and 4095 are reserved values in 802.1Q



AH! Ok, that makes sense. Much thanks! :)
Hz so good
Gerbil Elite
 
Posts: 733
Joined: Wed Dec 04, 2013 5:08 pm

Re: Quick Cisco VLAN question

Postposted on Fri Jun 20, 2014 2:11 pm

I'm not really into networking with Cisco gear, but I think this might help: https://supportforums.cisco.com/discussion/11369936/what-vlan0
CPU: Intel Core-i7 2600 GPU: Nvidia GTX 770 4GB MoBo: ASRock z77 Pro4 RAM: (2x8) 16GB G.Skill 1600MHz Case: Thermaltake Commander PSU: 650W SeaSonic X SSD: 128GB Crucial M4 SSD HDD: 500GB Western Digital Green OS: Windows 7
Techgoudy
Gerbil
 
Posts: 72
Joined: Tue Oct 02, 2012 5:01 pm

Re: Quick Cisco VLAN question

Postposted on Fri Jun 20, 2014 2:16 pm

Techgoudy wrote:I'm not really into networking with Cisco gear, but I think this might help: https://supportforums.cisco.com/discussion/11369936/what-vlan0



Good link! Thanks! :)
Hz so good
Gerbil Elite
 
Posts: 733
Joined: Wed Dec 04, 2013 5:08 pm

Re: Quick Cisco VLAN question

Postposted on Sat Jun 21, 2014 8:19 pm

I've never heard those bits referred to as 'CoS bits' before, when someone says CoS, that to me means the IP layer QoS field, the COS, TOS, PREC, DSCP field depending on which set of standards you want to follow. The VLAN bits are always referred to as Priority bits or P-bits.
notfred
Grand Gerbil Poohbah
 
Posts: 3775
Joined: Tue Aug 10, 2004 10:10 am
Location: Ottawa, Canada

Re: Quick Cisco VLAN question

Postposted on Sat Jun 21, 2014 8:44 pm

notfred wrote:I've never heard those bits referred to as 'CoS bits' before, when someone says CoS, that to me means the IP layer QoS field, the COS, TOS, PREC, DSCP field depending on which set of standards you want to follow. The VLAN bits are always referred to as Priority bits or P-bits.



Here's how Wendell Odom explains it in the SWITCH courseware:

"IEEE 802.1QEach frame is tagged with a 12-bit VLAN ID and a User field. The
User field contains three 802.1p priority bits that indicate the frame CoS, a unitless
value ranging from 0 (lowest-priority delivery) to 7 (highest-priority delivery). Frames
from the native VLAN are not tagged (no VLAN ID or User field), so they receive a
default CoS that is configured on the receiving switch."


I think the dude in the linked thread conflated the two.

(I can't bag on the guy, I totally flaked that dot1p was different from dot1q...)
Hz so good
Gerbil Elite
 
Posts: 733
Joined: Wed Dec 04, 2013 5:08 pm


Return to Networking

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google Adsense [Bot] and 4 guests