Network w/2k thru router

The network is the forum.

Moderators: Steel, notfred

Postposted on Thu Mar 28, 2002 6:14 pm

I can see each computer either way, but the drives do not show up on either system.
I have the drives shared going into My Computer and right clicking on each drive, but the only thing that shows are printers and scheduled tasks in computers near me!

I know this is a stupid question but I can't find any place else that would have a handle on it.
videobruce
Gerbil Elite
 
Posts: 905
Joined: Wed Mar 20, 2002 7:00 pm
Location: Buffalo NY

Postposted on Thu Mar 28, 2002 6:42 pm

have you setup accounts for the shares so they can be accessed?
Your bargaining posture is highly dubious.
Coldfirex
Graphmaster Gerbil
 
Posts: 1109
Joined: Wed Dec 26, 2001 7:00 pm
Location: College Station, TX

Postposted on Thu Mar 28, 2002 7:14 pm

NO......no idea how to do it. (stupid answer to go alone with the stupid question)

<font size=-1>[ This Message was edited by: videobruce on 2002-03-28 18:18 ]</font>
videobruce
Gerbil Elite
 
Posts: 905
Joined: Wed Mar 20, 2002 7:00 pm
Location: Buffalo NY

Postposted on Thu Mar 28, 2002 7:21 pm

What kind of situation is this? At work? If it's a largish NT/2000 shop, there is probably a WINS and/or DNS server that you'll want to add to your network config.

What are the share names? Anything ending with "$" will not be browseable. In NT/2000 each drive has a default hidden share, so the C: drive would be accessible as C$ and so on. Before you do anything more, try mounting \hostnameC$ on another computer, and see what happens. If you want to share a whole drive visibly, you'll need to add another share <i>in addition to</i> the default hidden share.
You are false data.
Speed
Gerbil Elite
 
Posts: 706
Joined: Thu Dec 27, 2001 7:00 pm
Location: Chicago, IL USA

Postposted on Thu Mar 28, 2002 7:38 pm

Home system.
videobruce
Gerbil Elite
 
Posts: 905
Joined: Wed Mar 20, 2002 7:00 pm
Location: Buffalo NY

Postposted on Thu Mar 28, 2002 7:46 pm

So what's the router for? Don't tell me you're trying to do Windows shares over the Internet!!! :eek: That's a terrible security risk.
You are false data.
Speed
Gerbil Elite
 
Posts: 706
Joined: Thu Dec 27, 2001 7:00 pm
Location: Chicago, IL USA

Postposted on Thu Mar 28, 2002 7:52 pm

DSL
videobruce
Gerbil Elite
 
Posts: 905
Joined: Wed Mar 20, 2002 7:00 pm
Location: Buffalo NY

Postposted on Thu Mar 28, 2002 8:00 pm

Within the Sharing properties (where you can change the name of the name and stuff) under name click 'Add' and add the user you want to be able to access the share.
Your bargaining posture is highly dubious.
Coldfirex
Graphmaster Gerbil
 
Posts: 1109
Joined: Wed Dec 26, 2001 7:00 pm
Location: College Station, TX

Postposted on Thu Mar 28, 2002 8:13 pm

same workgroup configured?
Mac_Bug
Gerbil
 
Posts: 84
Joined: Mon Mar 25, 2002 7:00 pm

Postposted on Thu Mar 28, 2002 8:14 pm

videobruce, you really don't want to do that. If you want to share files over the Internet, try one of the many P2P programs that are available.
You are false data.
Speed
Gerbil Elite
 
Posts: 706
Joined: Thu Dec 27, 2001 7:00 pm
Location: Chicago, IL USA

Postposted on Fri Mar 29, 2002 6:45 pm

Videobruse: confusion runs amok in the responses. We need some clarification: are the two machines that are going to be sharing data in the same location, hooked up to the router? Or are you trying to share files across your DSL connection to another location? The answer that you require varies with which you are attempting.
lenzenm
Gerbil Team Leader
 
Posts: 293
Joined: Thu Dec 27, 2001 7:00 pm
Location: Greenfiled, WI


Return to Networking

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests