STEAM on a MAC (MBP Specifically)

From OSX to iPods, iTunes to Mac Minis, and all other things Apple.

Moderators: David, Thresher

STEAM on a MAC (MBP Specifically)

Postposted on Sat Mar 29, 2008 11:07 am

Has anyone tried to get STEAM running on a MBP/MAC?
(\_/)
(O.o)
(''')(''')
Wounded Warrior Project
Watch out for evil Terra-Tron; He Does not like you!
tanker27
Darth Gerbil
 
Posts: 7175
Joined: Tue Feb 26, 2002 7:00 pm
Location: Georgia

Re: STEAM on a MAC (MBP Specifically)

Postposted on Sat Mar 29, 2008 11:15 am

MAC


Stop that. It's "Mac" unless you're talking about a MAC address, and Steam's not an acronym either.

Back on topic, I've gotten it to work in Ubuntu with a recent official WINE. Red Orchestra works mostly OK, except that it won't keep the mouse pointer inside the window & so it's not really playable.
Think for yourself, schmuck!
i5-2500K@4.3|Asus P8P67-LE|8GB DDR3-1600|Powercolor R7850 2G|1.5TB 7200.11|1988 Model M|Saitek X-45 & P880|Logitech MX 518|Dell 2209WA|Sennheiser PC151|Asus Xonar DX
bthylafh
Grand Gerbil Poohbah
 
Posts: 3149
Joined: Mon Dec 29, 2003 11:55 pm
Location: Southwest Missouri, USA

Re: STEAM on a MAC (MBP Specifically)

Postposted on Sat Mar 29, 2008 12:01 pm

Damn someones crabby today. :P :wink:
(\_/)
(O.o)
(''')(''')
Wounded Warrior Project
Watch out for evil Terra-Tron; He Does not like you!
tanker27
Darth Gerbil
 
Posts: 7175
Joined: Tue Feb 26, 2002 7:00 pm
Location: Georgia

Re: STEAM on a MAC (MBP Specifically)

Postposted on Sat Mar 29, 2008 5:51 pm

Yep, I run Steam via Boot Camp on a Vista Ultimate install. Runs perfectly. Note: I have a MacBook (not PRO)
Asus P8Z77-V PRO | Core i5-3550 | EVGA GTX 780 Ti SC w/ACX | 16GB Patriot Viper DDR3-1866 | Fractal Define R4 | EVGA Supernova 750 G2 PSU | Dell U2712HM LCD | Win 8.1 64bit
Steam/Xbox LIVE/PSN: PerfectCr
My gaming tattoos
PerfectCr
Darth Gerbil
Gold subscriber
 
 
Posts: 7924
Joined: Wed Mar 17, 2004 7:02 am
Location: Orlando, FL

Re: STEAM on a MAC (MBP Specifically)

Postposted on Sat Mar 29, 2008 5:55 pm

Before Gandhi got his panties in a bunch over something retarded, he had the Steam client and Source Engine stuff working under the Crossover trial. That's the only solution I can think of that circumvents needing a Windows license.
I do not understand what I do. For what I want to do, I do not do. But what I hate, I do.
derFunkenstein
Gerbil God
Gold subscriber
 
 
Posts: 21287
Joined: Fri Feb 21, 2003 9:13 pm
Location: WHAT?

Re: STEAM on a MAC (MBP Specifically)

Postposted on Sat Mar 29, 2008 5:57 pm

derFunkenstein wrote:Before Gandhi got his panties in a bunch over something retarded, he had the Steam client and Source Engine stuff working under the Crossover trial. That's the only solution I can think of that circumvents needing a Windows license.

Yeah I tried that but Crossover sucks for Steam, it's slow as molasses. You're better of springing for the Vista license to run it smoothly.
Asus P8Z77-V PRO | Core i5-3550 | EVGA GTX 780 Ti SC w/ACX | 16GB Patriot Viper DDR3-1866 | Fractal Define R4 | EVGA Supernova 750 G2 PSU | Dell U2712HM LCD | Win 8.1 64bit
Steam/Xbox LIVE/PSN: PerfectCr
My gaming tattoos
PerfectCr
Darth Gerbil
Gold subscriber
 
 
Posts: 7924
Joined: Wed Mar 17, 2004 7:02 am
Location: Orlando, FL

Re: STEAM on a MAC (MBP Specifically)

Postposted on Sat Mar 29, 2008 6:11 pm

I was half-afraid that'd be the case, just thought I'd toss it out there since a 60-day trial is free, and since tanker has a more game-worthy GPU than the X3100 or GMA950 from the Macbooks/minis. Then again the cost between a copy of Vista Home Basic and Crossover is just abotu $0.
I do not understand what I do. For what I want to do, I do not do. But what I hate, I do.
derFunkenstein
Gerbil God
Gold subscriber
 
 
Posts: 21287
Joined: Fri Feb 21, 2003 9:13 pm
Location: WHAT?

Re: STEAM on a MAC (MBP Specifically)

Postposted on Sat Mar 29, 2008 6:22 pm

I own all the id games from Steam and a bunch more. I don't game much on PC's anymore but I love having Steam for the occasional Quake III game, or Quake 1 for that matter. The original Half Life runs well to on the MacBook. I imagine it runs exceptionally well on a MBP. Just get a Vista license and install it via Boot Camp. You'll be much happier. I also find Vista runs much better on my MacBook than it ever did on my PC. Granted, I only access Vista to use Steam.
Asus P8Z77-V PRO | Core i5-3550 | EVGA GTX 780 Ti SC w/ACX | 16GB Patriot Viper DDR3-1866 | Fractal Define R4 | EVGA Supernova 750 G2 PSU | Dell U2712HM LCD | Win 8.1 64bit
Steam/Xbox LIVE/PSN: PerfectCr
My gaming tattoos
PerfectCr
Darth Gerbil
Gold subscriber
 
 
Posts: 7924
Joined: Wed Mar 17, 2004 7:02 am
Location: Orlando, FL

Re: STEAM on a MAC (MBP Specifically)

Postposted on Mon Mar 31, 2008 6:31 am

Thanks for the info PerfectCr. I have a unused Vista ultimate license at my disposal. (Got it at work from our M$ vendors, nice little perk).

Question though how many GB did you set the "vista" partition?
(\_/)
(O.o)
(''')(''')
Wounded Warrior Project
Watch out for evil Terra-Tron; He Does not like you!
tanker27
Darth Gerbil
 
Posts: 7175
Joined: Tue Feb 26, 2002 7:00 pm
Location: Georgia

Re: STEAM on a MAC (MBP Specifically)

Postposted on Mon Mar 31, 2008 8:37 pm

Vista by itself uses 10GB, I'd think you'd want a minimum of 25GB (for Vista, swap, whatever else it wants, and enough free space that it doesn't whine constantly when it gets below 10% free) + the amount you need for Steam.
I do not understand what I do. For what I want to do, I do not do. But what I hate, I do.
derFunkenstein
Gerbil God
Gold subscriber
 
 
Posts: 21287
Joined: Fri Feb 21, 2003 9:13 pm
Location: WHAT?

Re: STEAM on a MAC (MBP Specifically)

Postposted on Mon Mar 31, 2008 9:02 pm

I use a venerable and otherwise unused XP32 for my Boot Camp needs, when I can be bothered with it.

Crossover running Source slow has everything to do with Crossover not using 3D acceleration in most configs.

You can hack around a bit and enable proper 3D in Crossover, or you can compile/run vanilla Wine, both will run Steam/Source nicely.

Steam is actually a godsend for multi-OS peoples. Several games that I have will run fine via Steam (no CD checks), but will fail when using the original media. Using cracked executables greatly increases the chances of something breaking in a difficult-to-reproduce manner.
Siglessness is boring.
Image - M4800-Eight1
Image - Vargr-Z97
Forge
Lord High Gerbil
 
Posts: 8010
Joined: Wed Dec 26, 2001 7:00 pm
Location: SouthEast PA

Re: STEAM on a MAC (MBP Specifically)

Postposted on Tue Apr 01, 2008 6:10 am

derFunkenstein wrote:Vista by itself uses 10GB, I'd think you'd want a minimum of 25GB (for Vista, swap, whatever else it wants, and enough free space that it doesn't whine constantly when it gets below 10% free) + the amount you need for Steam.



And suddenly my 250GB HD on my new MBP is looking small.
(\_/)
(O.o)
(''')(''')
Wounded Warrior Project
Watch out for evil Terra-Tron; He Does not like you!
tanker27
Darth Gerbil
 
Posts: 7175
Joined: Tue Feb 26, 2002 7:00 pm
Location: Georgia

Re: STEAM on a MAC (MBP Specifically)

Postposted on Tue Sep 16, 2008 8:51 am

Sorry to bump this old thread but I just got a Macbook Pro (2.4GHz, 2GB Ram, 8600M GT 256MB, etc..) and Steam and all the games runs great under Vista Boot Camped. I am pleasantly surprised by the 3D gaming performance under Vista. I installed Gear of War PC last night and I get a solid 30 - 45 FPS at the native 1440x900 resolution with all setting cracked (except DX10 off).
Asus P8Z77-V PRO | Core i5-3550 | EVGA GTX 780 Ti SC w/ACX | 16GB Patriot Viper DDR3-1866 | Fractal Define R4 | EVGA Supernova 750 G2 PSU | Dell U2712HM LCD | Win 8.1 64bit
Steam/Xbox LIVE/PSN: PerfectCr
My gaming tattoos
PerfectCr
Darth Gerbil
Gold subscriber
 
 
Posts: 7924
Joined: Wed Mar 17, 2004 7:02 am
Location: Orlando, FL

Re: STEAM on a MAC (MBP Specifically)

Postposted on Tue Sep 16, 2008 9:37 am

Yeah thats what I resorted to, is to boot camp and run Steam. I just wish it would run natively in OS X
(\_/)
(O.o)
(''')(''')
Wounded Warrior Project
Watch out for evil Terra-Tron; He Does not like you!
tanker27
Darth Gerbil
 
Posts: 7175
Joined: Tue Feb 26, 2002 7:00 pm
Location: Georgia

Re: STEAM on a MAC (MBP Specifically)

Postposted on Tue Sep 16, 2008 10:04 am

tanker27 wrote:I just wish it would run natively in OS X

With most of the games being directX-based, performance with emulated DX graphics would probably be pretty bad, especially compared to running native-to-the-hardware by booting into Windows.

The OpenGL one's probably would be ok.
Usacomp2k3
Gerbil God
 
Posts: 21291
Joined: Thu Apr 01, 2004 4:53 pm
Location: Orlando, FL

Re: STEAM on a MAC (MBP Specifically)

Postposted on Tue Sep 16, 2008 10:13 am

Usacomp2k3 wrote:
tanker27 wrote:I just wish it would run natively in OS X

With most of the games being directX-based, performance with emulated DX graphics would probably be pretty bad, especially compared to running native-to-the-hardware by booting into Windows.

You can at least try it now -- VMWare Fusion 2 supports Shader Model 2.0.

OpenGL, for some reason, not so much.
Core i7 920, 3x2GB Corsair DDR3 1600, 80GB X25-M, 1TB WD Caviar Black, MSI X58 Pro-E, Radeon 4890, Cooler Master iGreen 600, Antec P183, opticals
SNM
Emperor Gerbilius I
 
Posts: 6206
Joined: Fri Dec 30, 2005 10:37 am

Re: STEAM on a MAC (MBP Specifically)

Postposted on Tue Sep 16, 2008 12:56 pm

SNM wrote:OpenGL, for some reason, not so much.

Can't it run native in OSX and linux?
Usacomp2k3
Gerbil God
 
Posts: 21291
Joined: Thu Apr 01, 2004 4:53 pm
Location: Orlando, FL

Re: STEAM on a MAC (MBP Specifically)

Postposted on Tue Sep 16, 2008 7:09 pm

Usacomp2k3 wrote:Can't it run native in OSX and linux?

Most likely because it's originally a Windows program, VMWare also needs to translate the OpenGL function calls from the Windows API based OpenGL. Unlike Java, which is compiled into byte-code when it is compiled (an intermediate machine language, so to speak), C/C++ (which most games are written with) based OpenGL is compiled into whatever binary format the compiler is set to. If it's the Windows API, then those OpenGL calls are trying to find some dll file in the Windows directory and interface with it, something that OSX isn't going to have.
2600K @ 4.8GHz; XSPC Rasa/RX240/RX120 Phobya Xtreme 200; Asus P8Z68-V Pro; 16GB Corsair Vengeance 1333 C9; 2x7970 OC w/ Razor 7970; Force GT 120GB; 3x F3 1TB; Corsair HX750; X-Fi Titanium; Corsair Obsidian 650D; Dell 2408WFP Rev. A01; 2x Dell U2412m
mortifiedPenguin
Gerbil Elite
 
Posts: 812
Joined: Mon Oct 08, 2007 7:46 pm

Re: STEAM on a MAC (MBP Specifically)

Postposted on Wed Sep 17, 2008 8:01 am

mortifiedPenguin wrote:
Usacomp2k3 wrote:Can't it run native in OSX and linux?

Most likely because it's originally a Windows program, VMWare also needs to translate the OpenGL function calls from the Windows API based OpenGL. Unlike Java, which is compiled into byte-code when it is compiled (an intermediate machine language, so to speak), C/C++ (which most games are written with) based OpenGL is compiled into whatever binary format the compiler is set to. If it's the Windows API, then those OpenGL calls are trying to find some dll file in the Windows directory and interface with it, something that OSX isn't going to have.

Gotcha. I've never done any graphics programming, so I have no idea how it calls stuff. Thanks for the information.
Usacomp2k3
Gerbil God
 
Posts: 21291
Joined: Thu Apr 01, 2004 4:53 pm
Location: Orlando, FL

Re: STEAM on a MAC (MBP Specifically)

Postposted on Wed Sep 17, 2008 10:02 am

To me it's not a big deal just to reboot into Windows to run Steam apps.
Asus P8Z77-V PRO | Core i5-3550 | EVGA GTX 780 Ti SC w/ACX | 16GB Patriot Viper DDR3-1866 | Fractal Define R4 | EVGA Supernova 750 G2 PSU | Dell U2712HM LCD | Win 8.1 64bit
Steam/Xbox LIVE/PSN: PerfectCr
My gaming tattoos
PerfectCr
Darth Gerbil
Gold subscriber
 
 
Posts: 7924
Joined: Wed Mar 17, 2004 7:02 am
Location: Orlando, FL

Re: STEAM on a MAC (MBP Specifically)

Postposted on Thu Sep 18, 2008 8:59 am

My brother used Steam with crosseover games 7 and it worked perfectly on his MBP. In fact, it wasn't slow at all.

Adi
adisor19
Gerbil First Class
Silver subscriber
 
 
Posts: 158
Joined: Sat May 17, 2003 12:18 am

Re: STEAM on a MAC (MBP Specifically)

Postposted on Thu Sep 18, 2008 9:10 am

adisor19 wrote:My brother used Steam with crosseover games 7 and it worked perfectly on his MBP. In fact, it wasn't slow at all.

Adi

Last time I tried Crossover it was slow as hell. Have they fixed those issue?
Asus P8Z77-V PRO | Core i5-3550 | EVGA GTX 780 Ti SC w/ACX | 16GB Patriot Viper DDR3-1866 | Fractal Define R4 | EVGA Supernova 750 G2 PSU | Dell U2712HM LCD | Win 8.1 64bit
Steam/Xbox LIVE/PSN: PerfectCr
My gaming tattoos
PerfectCr
Darth Gerbil
Gold subscriber
 
 
Posts: 7924
Joined: Wed Mar 17, 2004 7:02 am
Location: Orlando, FL

Re: STEAM on a MAC (MBP Specifically)

Postposted on Thu Sep 18, 2008 9:20 am

I am running TF2 under Vista Ultimate x86 via Boot Camp on my 2.33 MBP. The X1600 does a decent job of pushing the pixels at 1440x900.
i7-3770K@4.7 | H100 | P8Z77-V PREMIUM | 16GB | 2 GTX 770 4GB SLI | M500 960GB | EVO 840 250GB | AX850 | Obsidian 550D | R.A.T. 9 | U2713H | U2711
End User
Gerbil Elite
Gold subscriber
 
 
Posts: 949
Joined: Fri Apr 16, 2004 6:47 pm
Location: Toronto, Canada


Return to Apple Sanctuary

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Yahoo [Bot] and 1 guest