Mac OS X on an AMD system!

From OSX to iPods, iTunes to Mac Minis, and all other things Apple.

Moderators: David, Thresher

Mac OS X on an AMD system!

Postposted on Mon Jul 13, 2009 11:50 pm

Okay, I've decided that i want to try and install Mac OS X on my computer. Here's the spec's
Athlon 6000+ 65nm 3.1ghz
MSI DKA790GX (not the platinum)
2x2 corsair DDR2 800
2x2 kingston DDR2 800
WD 640gb
HD 3870 512mb
What I knew before tonight, Macs are intel only
What I found on the internets tonight (tell me if this is wrong) It is possible to do it, i just need a patched OS.
I don't know if i want to buy anything yet, I'll be using torrented software until I decide if I want a dedicated machine (I'd buy officially supported hardware, and legal software).
I googled and wound up these places http://www.raymond.cc/blog/archives/2006/04/21/apple-mac-os-x-1046-on-intel-and-amd/
http://wiki.osx86project.org/wiki/index.php/HCL_10.5.6#AMD
I'm already DL'ing the software but before I dice up my hard drive, should I
A. Stop Now, its not going to work
B. Back up Windows Vista (just got SP2)
C. I have 359 GB free on this hard drive, how much should I give to OS X, if any.
D. Use a different physical drive (My brother's buddy might be giving me another hard drive, other than that the only others i have are really old pata drives that hold like 40 GB.)


TL;DR I have AMD stuff and want Mac OS X... how will I make it happen
Last edited by Chun¢ on Tue Jul 14, 2009 8:32 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Image
Chun¢
Gerbil XP
 
Posts: 454
Joined: Mon Oct 20, 2008 7:46 pm

Re: Mac OS X on an AMD system!

Postposted on Tue Jul 14, 2009 12:04 am

Lots of people have made hackintosh AMD machines. I did it on my intel machine a while back, but the novelty of OSX wore off after a week or two so I removed it. If you have a board it will work with and the BIOS set up correctly, if you can bake cookies, you can hackintosh.
Image
ChrisDTC
Gerbil XP
 
Posts: 485
Joined: Sat Jul 14, 2007 10:02 am
Location: Texas

Re: Mac OS X on an AMD system!

Postposted on Tue Jul 14, 2009 12:13 am

okay. I thought that AMD and Macs were something akin to matches and gasoline, best kept separate...
Image
Chun¢
Gerbil XP
 
Posts: 454
Joined: Mon Oct 20, 2008 7:46 pm

Re: Mac OS X on an AMD system!

Postposted on Tue Jul 14, 2009 1:43 am

Chun¢ wrote:okay. I thought that AMD and Macs were something akin to matches and gasoline, best kept separate...

more like more fun together
Image
ChrisDTC
Gerbil XP
 
Posts: 485
Joined: Sat Jul 14, 2007 10:02 am
Location: Texas

Re: Mac OS X on an AMD system!

Postposted on Tue Jul 14, 2009 3:35 am

Something stopping you running it in a VM? Most of the gains with less of the draw backs!

The latest version of VirtualBox is pretty damn fast
Asus U6EP
hazardous_being
Gerbil XP
 
Posts: 322
Joined: Tue Mar 11, 2003 11:43 pm
Location: Auckland, New Zealand

Re: Mac OS X on an AMD system!

Postposted on Tue Jul 14, 2009 3:44 am

hazardous_being wrote:Something stopping you running it in a VM? Most of the gains with less of the draw backs!

The latest version of VirtualBox is pretty damn fast


It doesn't work out that well. You can run OS X in a VM but you can't do it in VirtualBox and the VMware solution needs a bit of tweaking to get it done.
Skrying
Gerbil Jedi
 
Posts: 1792
Joined: Wed Jul 09, 2008 1:37 am
Location: Missouri

Re: Mac OS X on an AMD system!

Postposted on Tue Jul 14, 2009 5:55 am

It's possible but unlike the last hackintosh thread I won't be much use. It's easiest to do on Intel. You'll have to get a modified distro and linking to such a place will violate rule 1 because those places do also have pirated software (which technically this would be if you don't have a license, but I'm sure you know that already)
I do not understand what I do. For what I want to do, I do not do. But what I hate, I do.
derFunkenstein
Gerbil God
Gold subscriber
 
 
Posts: 21393
Joined: Fri Feb 21, 2003 9:13 pm
Location: WHAT?

Re: Mac OS X on an AMD system!

Postposted on Tue Jul 14, 2009 9:31 am

Yeah, I figure that if i fall in love with it, I'll buy a cheap Pentium machine and a license. I'm all for pirating music and movies, but operating systems aren't my jive...
I like the idea of VM, but I'd rather not messing with that yet...
Image
Chun¢
Gerbil XP
 
Posts: 454
Joined: Mon Oct 20, 2008 7:46 pm

Re: Mac OS X on an AMD system!

Postposted on Tue Jul 14, 2009 10:30 am

the box set is cheap, compared to a Vista Business license, and it comes with iLife so that's my suggestion. Can't help with the current hardware, but good luck. I had Tiger on an Athlon 64 once and it flew, but the machine was an nForce 3 with a GeForce FX 5200, not even close to what you have now. :lol:
I do not understand what I do. For what I want to do, I do not do. But what I hate, I do.
derFunkenstein
Gerbil God
Gold subscriber
 
 
Posts: 21393
Joined: Fri Feb 21, 2003 9:13 pm
Location: WHAT?

Re: Mac OS X on an AMD system!

Postposted on Tue Jul 14, 2009 2:39 pm

Can I ask why you are mixing ram types?
(\_/)
(O.o)
(''')(''')
Wounded Warrior Project
Watch out for evil Terra-Tron; He Does not like you!
tanker27
Darth Gerbil
 
Posts: 7284
Joined: Tue Feb 26, 2002 7:00 pm
Location: Georgia

Re: Mac OS X on an AMD system!

Postposted on Tue Jul 14, 2009 2:51 pm

I think he left the "2" off the second set of RAM. I personally won't even mix manufacturers, so I'd be all Corsair all the time, but eh.
I do not understand what I do. For what I want to do, I do not do. But what I hate, I do.
derFunkenstein
Gerbil God
Gold subscriber
 
 
Posts: 21393
Joined: Fri Feb 21, 2003 9:13 pm
Location: WHAT?

Re: Mac OS X on an AMD system!

Postposted on Tue Jul 14, 2009 8:31 pm

I fried my ram installing a hard drive, and RMA'D it. After a month, I figured it got lost in the mail, and bought 4 gigs of Corsair goodness. 2 weeks after that, I get an email from kingston that said my RMA shipped and should get to me in a few days. I wondered "Will this work...?" and now i have 8 gigs. Would this pose a problem?

EDIT : I just saw what you ment, and edited the OP. sorry, It was early.
EDIT 2: Electric Jigelow I'm an idiot and fix'd the # instead of 2. the # is above 3 not 2!
Last edited by Chun¢ on Tue Jul 14, 2009 9:28 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Image
Chun¢
Gerbil XP
 
Posts: 454
Joined: Mon Oct 20, 2008 7:46 pm

Re: Mac OS X on an AMD system!

Postposted on Tue Jul 14, 2009 8:35 pm

Chun¢ wrote:I fried my ram installing a hard drive, and RMA'D it. After a month, I figured it got lost in the mail, and bought 4 gigs of Corsair goodness. # weeks after that, I get an email from kingston that said my RMA shipped and should get to me in a few days. I wondered "Will this work...?" and now i have 8 gigs. Would this pose a problem?


Off topic, but as long as the settings match completely, and you're not pushing them too hard, it should. If it doesn't, dial the settings back a little and see if you still have problems.
Canon 6D|24-105/4L IS USM|70-300/4-5.6 IS USM|40/2.8 STM|50/1.4 USM|85/1.8 USM|Samyang/Bower 14/2.8 Full-Manual Rectilinear Wide-angle|24/2.8 IS USM|
Canon EOS-M|11-22/4-5.6 IS STM|22/2 STM|EF-M 18-55/3.5-5.6 IS STM|
Airmantharp
Gerbil Elder
Gold subscriber
 
 
Posts: 5074
Joined: Fri Oct 15, 2004 10:41 pm

Re: Mac OS X on an AMD system!

Postposted on Tue Jul 14, 2009 9:38 pm

okay the torrent is 100% and I have still have unaddressed
Backing up windows crucial or not , and how much space should I leave for OS X of ~356 Gigabytes
Image
Chun¢
Gerbil XP
 
Posts: 454
Joined: Mon Oct 20, 2008 7:46 pm

Re: Mac OS X on an AMD system!

Postposted on Wed Jul 15, 2009 6:04 am

Use a spare drive. There are ways to get both OSes on a drive, but they all involve installing OS X first, and they're all fairly difficult. If you've got a 40-80GB drive laying around, I'd do that instead. Just unplug your Windows drive while you install OS X and it'll get left alone.

And backups aren't an event; they're a way of life. You shouldn't have to ask that because you should have a backup. ;)
I do not understand what I do. For what I want to do, I do not do. But what I hate, I do.
derFunkenstein
Gerbil God
Gold subscriber
 
 
Posts: 21393
Joined: Fri Feb 21, 2003 9:13 pm
Location: WHAT?

Re: Mac OS X on an AMD system!

Postposted on Wed Jul 15, 2009 11:20 am

I just learned that the hard way! Well, I accidentally killed my file system on my drive, I get to reinstall windows too! alright! /sarcasm
On a related note, would an external work? I have pretty poor cable management as is, and i don't need any IDE cables adding to the problem
Image
Chun¢
Gerbil XP
 
Posts: 454
Joined: Mon Oct 20, 2008 7:46 pm

Re: Mac OS X on an AMD system!

Postposted on Wed Jul 15, 2009 11:21 am

Yeah, that should work, just be sure to get USB drivers installed when you install the OS.
I do not understand what I do. For what I want to do, I do not do. But what I hate, I do.
derFunkenstein
Gerbil God
Gold subscriber
 
 
Posts: 21393
Joined: Fri Feb 21, 2003 9:13 pm
Location: WHAT?

Re: Mac OS X on an AMD system!

Postposted on Wed Jul 15, 2009 11:46 am

alrighty, well i booted Gparted live to format my hard drive. It still has the separate partitons saved, could i just install the separate OS's on the separate partitions?
Image
Chun¢
Gerbil XP
 
Posts: 454
Joined: Mon Oct 20, 2008 7:46 pm

Re: Mac OS X on an AMD system!

Postposted on Wed Jul 15, 2009 12:02 pm

You're kind of on your own if you do - I just do my own on a separate drive. Insanely Mac might have some tutorial threads. Wander too far from the reservation and you'll find you're the only indian in the field.
I do not understand what I do. For what I want to do, I do not do. But what I hate, I do.
derFunkenstein
Gerbil God
Gold subscriber
 
 
Posts: 21393
Joined: Fri Feb 21, 2003 9:13 pm
Location: WHAT?

Re: Mac OS X on an AMD system!

Postposted on Wed Jul 15, 2009 12:04 pm

the setup DVD i got is stuck...
Image
Chun¢
Gerbil XP
 
Posts: 454
Joined: Mon Oct 20, 2008 7:46 pm

Re: Mac OS X on an AMD system!

Postposted on Wed Jul 15, 2009 12:12 pm

I'm gonna install Vista first, on my internal drive, then on this computer I'll look for a torrent that works.
Image
Chun¢
Gerbil XP
 
Posts: 454
Joined: Mon Oct 20, 2008 7:46 pm

Re: Mac OS X on an AMD system!

Postposted on Wed Jul 15, 2009 12:56 pm

Chun¢ wrote:I'm gonna install Vista first, on my internal drive, then on this computer I'll look for a torrent that works.


Got stuck? Did it have a kernal panic? Did you try the verbose install?
Skrying
Gerbil Jedi
 
Posts: 1792
Joined: Wed Jul 09, 2008 1:37 am
Location: Missouri

Re: Mac OS X on an AMD system!

Postposted on Wed Jul 15, 2009 8:54 pm

it kernel paniced, and then i did. elaborate...
I dl'd an iPC leopard 10.5.6
Image
Chun¢
Gerbil XP
 
Posts: 454
Joined: Mon Oct 20, 2008 7:46 pm

Re: Mac OS X on an AMD system!

Postposted on Sat Jul 18, 2009 5:36 pm

Update bump I'm using an iPC leopard disc. instead of just going to a kernel panic it shows me a gray screen with an apple logo, and after a bit a circle with a line through it comes up. what should i do?
Image
Chun¢
Gerbil XP
 
Posts: 454
Joined: Mon Oct 20, 2008 7:46 pm

Re: Mac OS X on an AMD system!

Postposted on Sat Jul 18, 2009 6:12 pm

Chun¢ wrote:Update bump I'm using an iPC leopard disc. instead of just going to a kernel panic it shows me a gray screen with an apple logo, and after a bit a circle with a line through it comes up. what should i do?


There could be a million things wrong... You have the proper kext's being installed? You need to do more research on the OSX86 forums out there.
Skrying
Gerbil Jedi
 
Posts: 1792
Joined: Wed Jul 09, 2008 1:37 am
Location: Missouri

Re: Mac OS X on an AMD system!

Postposted on Fri Jul 24, 2009 10:29 am

Well I'm now in a position that if I want to go on using OS X I'll need to figure this stuff out for myself. AMD 770 chipset, Phenom II.
I do not understand what I do. For what I want to do, I do not do. But what I hate, I do.
derFunkenstein
Gerbil God
Gold subscriber
 
 
Posts: 21393
Joined: Fri Feb 21, 2003 9:13 pm
Location: WHAT?

Re: Mac OS X on an AMD system!

Postposted on Fri Jul 24, 2009 10:57 am

In about a week or two i hope to have a phenom II 940, but until then I'll stick to windows
Image
Chun¢
Gerbil XP
 
Posts: 454
Joined: Mon Oct 20, 2008 7:46 pm

Re: Mac OS X on an AMD system!

Postposted on Fri Jul 24, 2009 11:58 am

My last build was a Phenom on a 770G chipset, which if i remember correctly has the SB600. The SB caused some problems i had to wait a while for a distro to be released with the right .kext files, but i eventually settled with iDeneb 10.5.6 (v1.4). I think the new v1.5 has just been released with further hardware support.

One thing I found is that if you install the wrong kexts for anything in the system it will refuse to load. I had to do multiple installs, starting with the CPU kernel and chipset kexts, then adding extra features such as network and sound later. Each install doesn't take long, less than 15 mins but be prepared to spend a while trying to locate problems. If i remember correctly it gives you an option to view the boot progress, so if it crashes you can see which file causes the problem and try another on the next run through. Tips from the iDeneb website -

Do Not Install the iDeneb Base System over an existing Base System! This could cause the failure of the installation! To always execute a fresh install;
If you have based on AMD and/or SSE2 you must select an alternative kernel, advised kernel Qoopz 9.7.0;
If you use kernel Qoopz, AnV, Voodoo you don't select the AMD Patch
SiUnit
Gerbil In Training
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Wed Jul 08, 2009 12:10 pm

Re: Mac OS X on an AMD system!

Postposted on Sun Jul 26, 2009 9:24 am

i just got virtual OSx tiger i think. its working okay.
Image
Chun¢
Gerbil XP
 
Posts: 454
Joined: Mon Oct 20, 2008 7:46 pm

Re: Mac OS X on an AMD system!

Postposted on Sun Aug 02, 2009 2:51 pm

I have an unstable hackintosh running atm only works in safe mode. Totally dies when not in safe mode however.
Image
Chun¢
Gerbil XP
 
Posts: 454
Joined: Mon Oct 20, 2008 7:46 pm

Next

Return to Apple Sanctuary

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests