Intel to G5 migration running 10.5

From OSX to iPods, iTunes to Mac Minis, and all other things Apple.

Moderators: David, Thresher

Intel to G5 migration running 10.5

Postposted on Sun Apr 25, 2010 3:14 pm

Im going to be migrating my 2008 c2d mini running 10.5 to a 2006 dual G5 pro that a friend doesn't need anymore. Will there be any issues since the Intel to G5 conversion is technically a downgrade, even though my mini has 1GB of RAM and the pro has 7GBs?
Image
ChrisDTC
Gerbil XP
 
Posts: 485
Joined: Sat Jul 14, 2007 10:02 am
Location: Texas

Re: Intel to G5 migration running 10.5

Postposted on Sun Apr 25, 2010 3:51 pm

Why? If I were you I'd sell that G5 rig and upgrade the memory in your Mini.
Skrying
Gerbil Jedi
 
Posts: 1792
Joined: Wed Jul 09, 2008 1:37 am
Location: Missouri

Re: Intel to G5 migration running 10.5

Postposted on Sun Apr 25, 2010 4:21 pm

I second Skyring's advice and would like to add that the CPU in your Mini is also upgradable. Those can be found on eBay or Cragislist. You can also get a faster larger 7200rpm drive for your Mini to speed it up further. All-in-all a much better investment than the obsolete G5.
Last edited by Synchromesh on Sun Apr 25, 2010 6:57 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Synchromesh
Graphmaster Gerbil
 
Posts: 1001
Joined: Tue Apr 12, 2005 10:56 am
Location: The Land of Beetles.

Re: Intel to G5 migration running 10.5

Postposted on Sun Apr 25, 2010 4:26 pm

Skrying wrote:Why? If I were you I'd sell that G5 rig and upgrade the memory in your Mini.

Agreed. The G5 is a pretty old chip at this point, and not being able to run Snow Leopard will make you sad very soon.
Core i7 920, 3x2GB Corsair DDR3 1600, 80GB X25-M, 1TB WD Caviar Black, MSI X58 Pro-E, Radeon 4890, Cooler Master iGreen 600, Antec P183, opticals
SNM
Emperor Gerbilius I
 
Posts: 6206
Joined: Fri Dec 30, 2005 10:37 am

Re: Intel to G5 migration running 10.5

Postposted on Mon Apr 26, 2010 6:03 am

If it's a 2008 Mac Mini, it's upgradeable in theory but not really all that far. It's only capable of taking 667MHz Core 2 Duos on an old socket (Socket M), so the max you'll get is 2.33GHz.

Also, your max RAM in the Mini will be 3GB that you can use - if you add 2x2GB to it, and go to About This Mac you'll see 4GB there but if you launch Activity Monitor and look at the memory tab you'll see 3.ish because the system can only address 4GB total due to a chipset limitation.

If I were you I'd sell both systems and get a souped-up current-gen Mini or maybe an iMac (which doesn't cost a fortune to get up to 8GB) if you don't already have an IPS display.
I do not understand what I do. For what I want to do, I do not do. But what I hate, I do.
derFunkenstein
Gerbil God
Gold subscriber
 
 
Posts: 21360
Joined: Fri Feb 21, 2003 9:13 pm
Location: WHAT?

Re: Intel to G5 migration running 10.5

Postposted on Mon Apr 26, 2010 8:48 am

Crazy people! G5 = <3

How are you going to migrate it? Just swap drives and call 'er done? I haven't tried that type of swap but Mac OS has always been pretty good about just running on different hardware.
Scrotos
Graphmaster Gerbil
 
Posts: 1035
Joined: Tue Oct 02, 2007 12:57 pm
Location: Denver, CO.

Re: Intel to G5 migration running 10.5

Postposted on Mon Apr 26, 2010 9:11 am

you won't be able to just swap drives if your Mini's partition scheme is the default GPT. PowerPC Macs can only boot hard drives formatted APM (Apple Partition Map).
I do not understand what I do. For what I want to do, I do not do. But what I hate, I do.
derFunkenstein
Gerbil God
Gold subscriber
 
 
Posts: 21360
Joined: Fri Feb 21, 2003 9:13 pm
Location: WHAT?

Re: Intel to G5 migration running 10.5

Postposted on Mon Apr 26, 2010 9:39 am

Ohhh good call, that.
Scrotos
Graphmaster Gerbil
 
Posts: 1035
Joined: Tue Oct 02, 2007 12:57 pm
Location: Denver, CO.


Return to Apple Sanctuary

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest