Shutting down Windows with the touch of a button

Enclosures, modding, blowholes, and the power needed to run it all.

Moderators: Nemesis, SpotTheCat

Postposted on Sat Feb 09, 2002 5:43 pm

Hi,

We've got a computer that lives in one of the drawers in the spare room (seriously :smile: ) it acts as a router for our home network, it's on for most of the day.

As it doesn't have a monitor, keyboard or mouse the only way to shut it down safely is to use a virtualPC/PCAnywhere type package to take control of it and close it down with one of the other machines.

We have some very PC-unsavvy uses in the house so it'd be nice for them just to able to touch a button and it'd safely shut down.

Is there an easy way to do this? I'm not afraid of getting out the soldering iron and Borland C++ :wink:

I figure the best way would be to wire a switch to the joy port and write a program that monitors it and triggers the WinAPI shut down functions when the switch gets closed.

Barking up the wrong tree, or right idea?

paul.
Pauly
Gerbil
 
Posts: 40
Joined: Thu Jan 17, 2002 6:00 pm
Location: Manchester - UK

Postposted on Sat Feb 09, 2002 6:57 pm

If you are running windows could you just set the machine so that it shuts down when you hit the power button? You would have to attach a power button to the power switch connector on your motherboard. I assume that any button would work but the connectors might be a little tough to get a hold of unless you have an old case lying around.
Spune
Gerbil XP
 
Posts: 399
Joined: Tue Jan 01, 2002 6:00 pm
Location: Middle of nowhere AB Canada

Postposted on Sat Feb 09, 2002 8:09 pm

Yeah I figured that too but the mobo's too old. I doesn't do ACPI properly :sad:
Pauly
Gerbil
 
Posts: 40
Joined: Thu Jan 17, 2002 6:00 pm
Location: Manchester - UK

Postposted on Sat Feb 09, 2002 8:41 pm

Dope! and here I thought I had your answer, and it was so simple. Sorry, I'm sure someone else will be able to help you.
Spune
Gerbil XP
 
Posts: 399
Joined: Tue Jan 01, 2002 6:00 pm
Location: Middle of nowhere AB Canada

Postposted on Sun Feb 10, 2002 12:19 am

If it doesn't do ACPI correctly, then really, there is no way to shut the mobo off via software.
DiMaestro
Gerbil Elite
 
Posts: 827
Joined: Wed Dec 26, 2001 6:00 pm
Location: North Dakota NoMoah!

Postposted on Sun Feb 10, 2002 1:36 pm

I'm the dope! I should have realised that without ACPI its not gonna shutdown itself in ANY way.

Ho hum. I guess I could swap some mobos around.... Ugh...
<Paul leaves the room grumbling to himself>
Pauly
Gerbil
 
Posts: 40
Joined: Thu Jan 17, 2002 6:00 pm
Location: Manchester - UK

Postposted on Sun Mar 10, 2002 9:03 am

Hi,

Sorry to ask but what is ACPI? Is it to do with AT cases needing the on switch physically turning off to turn off?

Dave.
q_bot_w11
Gerbil
 
Posts: 98
Joined: Fri Mar 08, 2002 6:00 pm

Postposted on Sun Mar 10, 2002 3:40 pm

ACPI= Advanced Configuration and Power Interface.
K-Wulf
Gerbil First Class
 
Posts: 120
Joined: Thu Dec 27, 2001 6:00 pm
Location: The Netherlands


Return to Cases and Power Supplies

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests