Micro ATX cube case

Enclosures, modding, blowholes, and the power needed to run it all.

Moderators: Nemesis, SpotTheCat

Postposted on Fri Feb 15, 2002 11:26 am

I want to put this motherboard, into this case. Possible?

Things that concern me... will it fit? Is that 120 watt power supply enough? Is there room for adding AGP/PCI cards?
Xenolith
Gerbil First Class
 
Posts: 100
Joined: Thu Feb 07, 2002 7:00 pm
Location: Shakopee, MN

Postposted on Fri Feb 15, 2002 11:44 am

First what all are you planning on putting into this case? Tell us what CPU, drives, HSF, vid card, etc. But before that I definitely would recommend NOT putting a tbird or higher into it that power supply is just way to low. Are you set on using that abit board? Does it need to be a small profile case?

<font size=-1>[ This Message was edited by: ANApex on 2002-02-15 10:45 ]</font>
ANApex
Gerbil XP
 
Posts: 447
Joined: Thu Dec 27, 2001 7:00 pm
Location: PA

Postposted on Fri Feb 15, 2002 12:21 pm

I'm a minimalist, plus that case looks cool. The system will be primarily used for gaming and bringing to LAN parties.

I want to put an Athlon XP chip into the system. Initially no cards, just the on-board stuff will be used. There will be only one 3.5" HD, because I doubt there will be room for more. Plus a CD-writer.

What is the minimum power supply for a system like this?

If you know of another micro-ATX M-board with the nforce chipset, that would be an option.
Xenolith
Gerbil First Class
 
Posts: 100
Joined: Thu Feb 07, 2002 7:00 pm
Location: Shakopee, MN

Postposted on Fri Feb 15, 2002 12:44 pm

Well I would recommend and I'm sure most others here would recommend to use nothing less then a 300W PSU for an XP. I even scanned through AMDs recommended PSUs and didn't see anything dipping below 140W (And the 140W was for like an Athlon 600). So you might wanna start looking for another case.
ANApex
Gerbil XP
 
Posts: 447
Joined: Thu Dec 27, 2001 7:00 pm
Location: PA

Postposted on Fri Feb 15, 2002 1:05 pm

On 2002-02-15 11:44, ANApex wrote:
Well I would recommend and I'm sure most others here would recommend to use nothing less then a 300W PSU for an XP. I even scanned through AMDs recommended PSUs and didn't see anything dipping below 140W (And the 140W was for like an Athlon 600). So you might wanna start looking for another case.


...or case modding so a 300 watt PSU would fit. Do Micro-ATX boards work with regular ATX PSU, or do they need a special power supply?

<font size=-1>[ This Message was edited by: Xenolith on 2002-02-15 12:09 ]</font>
Xenolith
Gerbil First Class
 
Posts: 100
Joined: Thu Feb 07, 2002 7:00 pm
Location: Shakopee, MN

Postposted on Fri Feb 15, 2002 2:14 pm

As far as I know a standard ATX connection is fine for uATX.
ANApex
Gerbil XP
 
Posts: 447
Joined: Thu Dec 27, 2001 7:00 pm
Location: PA

Postposted on Fri Feb 15, 2002 2:32 pm

<a href="http://www.pcpowerandcooling.com/products/power_supplies/highperformance/turbocools/index_hp_1u.htm">200, 250, and 300W 1U power supplies</a>.

mATX uses an ATX power connector. The only difference is the form factor of the board.
"Welcome back my friends to the show that never ends. We're so glad you could attend. Come inside! Come inside!"
Ryu Connor
Global Moderator
Gold subscriber
 
 
Posts: 3591
Joined: Thu Dec 27, 2001 7:00 pm
Location: Marietta, GA

Postposted on Mon Apr 01, 2002 2:03 pm

Is there room for adding AGP/PCI cards?


That's a good question... wondering this myself.

Do uATX and Desktop cases support regular AGP/PCI devices or do you have to use special "smaller" cards?


<font size=-1>[ This Message was edited by: Wulf on 2002-04-01 13:04 ]</font>
Wulf
Gerbil
 
Posts: 31
Joined: Sun Mar 31, 2002 7:00 pm

Postposted on Mon Apr 01, 2002 2:18 pm

All the desktop HP Vectras here have regular PCI, but it's half height. The desktop IBMs downstairs use standard PCI, full height. You'll have to check with the case manufacturer, which would also be the best place to ask about exact mobo dimensions and clearances.
Forge
Lord High Gerbil
Silver subscriber
 
 
Posts: 8059
Joined: Wed Dec 26, 2001 7:00 pm
Location: SouthEast PA

Postposted on Mon Apr 01, 2002 2:22 pm

Thanks, I'll check in those directions than. :smile:
Wulf
Gerbil
 
Posts: 31
Joined: Sun Mar 31, 2002 7:00 pm

Postposted on Mon Apr 01, 2002 3:03 pm

I dunno if that board will fit, but i can tell you that i've built about 10 systems in thsoe cases with the 120w p/s and NEVER had a problem using Duron 600's all the way up to an Athlon XP 1600+.
Corrado
Minister of Gerbil Affairs
 
Posts: 2568
Joined: Sun Feb 17, 2002 7:00 pm
Location: Gilbertsville, PA

Postposted on Tue Apr 02, 2002 3:18 pm

I have pretty much given up on this config.

1) Can't find the case, out of stock everywhere. It appears to be out of production. Too bad, it seems to be a popular case.

2) I don't think the board fits in the case.

Now I am waiting for Shuttle to come out with a SFF bare bones with an AGP slot. I will probably have to wait until summer.

Nice to know that the wimpy power supply can handle the Palimino Athlon XP. The next generation of chips from AMD use even less juice.
Xenolith
Gerbil First Class
 
Posts: 100
Joined: Thu Feb 07, 2002 7:00 pm
Location: Shakopee, MN

Postposted on Tue Apr 02, 2002 3:53 pm

Did you try directron.com?

Last time I checked they still had the case.

My buddy runs a 1GHz Duron in that case. The only difficulty he has is with cooling sometimes. he had to put in a case fan, and open the area up under the handle to let hot air out of the top of the case.
Princess Die
Gerbil XP
 
Posts: 389
Joined: Wed Mar 06, 2002 7:00 pm
Location: Pittsburgh, PA

Postposted on Tue Apr 02, 2002 4:03 pm

On 2002-04-02 14:53, Princess Die wrote:
Did you try directron.com?

........................


Yup (link)

Its been out of stock for over two months. I have very little hope that it will ever be in stock.
Xenolith
Gerbil First Class
 
Posts: 100
Joined: Thu Feb 07, 2002 7:00 pm
Location: Shakopee, MN


Return to Cases and Power Supplies

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests