Is 250w Enough?

Enclosures, modding, blowholes, and the power needed to run it all.

Moderators: Nemesis, SpotTheCat

Is 250w Enough?

Postposted on Sun Apr 20, 2003 10:38 am

Hey, I Was Looking At Building A LAN Party PC And I Was Going To Get a IN-WIN "IW-V500" Micro-ATX Case But It Only Ships With A 250w PS, Now I Got All The Stuff I Want Here Already Except For The Board, So That & The Case Are The Only Things I'm Buying....Anyway, Heres A List Of The Stuff I Plan On Putting In This Box:

- MSI KM2M-L Micro-ATX Motherboard (Onboard Sound, Video & LAN)
- AMD Athlon 1.33GHz Processor
- 256MB Of PC-2100 DDR RAM (2 Sticks = 512MB)
- Seagate 40GB, 7200 RPM Hard Drive
- Lite-On 40x12x48x CD-RW Drive
- Radeon 9000 64MB DDR Video Card

Do You Think 250w Will Do It?
Or Should I Pick Up A Good Enermax 350w Replacement?
Q-Frost
Gerbil
 
Posts: 31
Joined: Sat Dec 21, 2002 3:16 am
Location: Sarnia, Ontario, Canada

Postposted on Sun Apr 20, 2003 10:55 am

I'm running a shuttle system, and the 250W PSU works great with a DVD/CD-RW, 80 gig 7200rpm hd, 200 gig 7200 rpm hd, R9700pro, pci card for the hd (just out of laziness on my part), as well as two extra lighted 80mm intake fans. I've had 0 problems with power. I also run a 1900+ Paly chip that's rather hot, and I've never noticed a problem. If you aren't going to run your system overclocked, you should be fine.

As for the case itself, will that case even accept a standard psu? The shuttle cube I have (micro-atx = cube, right?) has a custom psu in it. If you are set on adding that psu, you may have to do a mod job like was done here: http://www.gibtek.co.uk/hardware/alienhandbagp2.php
Sony a7
Sony Zeiss 55/1.8 SSM, 24-70/4 SSM
Minolta 17-35/2.8-4 D, 100-300 APO
TheEmrys
Minister of Gerbil Affairs
Silver subscriber
 
 
Posts: 2142
Joined: Wed May 29, 2002 8:22 pm
Location: Northern Colorado

Postposted on Sun Apr 20, 2003 11:08 am

No, There IS A Difference Between The Two Formats..MicroATX Is Those Smaller, Usually Integrated Motherboards You See, The Reason I'm Going Micro As Opposed To Full Size Or A Shuttle Cube Is:

1. The Shuttles Are Too Damned Expensive :-?
2. I've Lugged My Current Full Size ATX Around To LAN's ...It's A Pain In The Ass To Say The Least...

So you Think 250w Will Do It, Eh? ...I'm Just Worried Cause My Friend Build A System And Cheaped Out On His Case & PS (A 250w) And He's Running A XP1800+ a 512 RAM & Two 60GB Drives ...And It Craps Out On Him When He Tries To Access Both HDD's At Once...Or Use High Settings On His Radeon 9700 ...Just Resets...
I Live To Game, I Game To Live!
~Q-Frost
Q-Frost
Gerbil
 
Posts: 31
Joined: Sat Dec 21, 2002 3:16 am
Location: Sarnia, Ontario, Canada

Postposted on Sun Apr 20, 2003 11:22 am

I would say that it will be close with what you have. It really depends on what the output is on the rails, if it is too low you are going to run into problems. I would say run a 300W at least to be safe.
Image
Abit BP6 2X 300A@450 mhz, 1.5 GB PC133 ECC, Renditon Verite V2200, SB AWE32, Adaptec 2940U2W, 4.3GB Quantum Atlas 10K, Plextor Ultraplex
Starfalcon
Gerbilus Supremus
 
Posts: 11698
Joined: Mon Oct 14, 2002 10:43 am
Location: Evergreen Park, IL

Postposted on Sun Apr 20, 2003 12:38 pm

is it a branded 250W power supply?
<a href=http://www.gentoo.org>Gentoo GNU/Linux</a>
yarbo
Gerbil Elite
 
Posts: 687
Joined: Thu Jun 13, 2002 11:16 pm
Location: Southern California

Postposted on Sun Apr 20, 2003 5:14 pm

Probobly Not...
I Live To Game, I Game To Live!
~Q-Frost
Q-Frost
Gerbil
 
Posts: 31
Joined: Sat Dec 21, 2002 3:16 am
Location: Sarnia, Ontario, Canada

Postposted on Sun Apr 20, 2003 7:39 pm

You'd be hard pressed to find a branded PSU that is under 300 watts right now. Even then, the wattage would be kind of iffy as to how much you could run on it.
"God created man. Samuel Colt made them equal."

"Government does not tax to get the money it needs; government finds a need for the money it gets." - Ronald Reagan
eckslax
Gerbil Elder
 
Posts: 5332
Joined: Sat Oct 05, 2002 4:22 pm
Location: Vast Right Wing Conspiracy HQ

Postposted on Sun Apr 20, 2003 8:32 pm

:-? You may be lucky and find it's cool ... or you may find you get anything from random resets or corruption to component death or a PSU fire! That last one is extreme but still possible. A quality built / branded PSU counts for an awful lot, eg an Antec 300W is better than most generic 350W or even 400W. It's your choice of course but unless your budget is very limited I'd always go for a decent PSU, a higher W may not cost much more and will last far longer too!
Austin
Grand Gerbil Poohbah
 
Posts: 3673
Joined: Sat Apr 20, 2002 8:04 am
Location: Birmingham ENGLAND (some say Mars, or was it Uranus)

Postposted on Mon Apr 21, 2003 1:33 am

Yea I Figured As Much, Hmm...A Enermax 350w Should Do The Trick...
Now, What To Do With The 250w :P
I Live To Game, I Game To Live!
~Q-Frost
Q-Frost
Gerbil
 
Posts: 31
Joined: Sat Dec 21, 2002 3:16 am
Location: Sarnia, Ontario, Canada

Postposted on Mon Apr 21, 2003 2:29 am

I know you're Canadian and all, but you might want to try capitalizing only proper nouns and the first word in a sentence. It's how the rest of the English speaking world does it.

(Just breaking your testes, in case I seem serious)
Forge
Darth Gerbil
 
Posts: 7957
Joined: Wed Dec 26, 2001 7:00 pm
Location: SouthEast PA

Postposted on Mon Apr 21, 2003 2:43 am

WoW i never noticed. Don't forget to capitalize the I. I forget that, MS word gave me that habbit. :lol:
Shake it to the limit!
PING
YBK
Minister of Gerbil Affairs
 
Posts: 2859
Joined: Fri Jul 26, 2002 2:38 am
Location: Sydney

Postposted on Mon Apr 21, 2003 8:40 am

eckslax wrote:You'd be hard pressed to find a branded PSU that is under 300 watts right now. Even then, the wattage would be kind of iffy as to how much you could run on it.


http://www.newegg.com/app/ViewProduct.a ... 17-103-911
<a href=http://www.gentoo.org>Gentoo GNU/Linux</a>
yarbo
Gerbil Elite
 
Posts: 687
Joined: Thu Jun 13, 2002 11:16 pm
Location: Southern California

Postposted on Mon Apr 21, 2003 9:33 am

yarbo wrote:
eckslax wrote:You'd be hard pressed to find a branded PSU that is under 300 watts right now. Even then, the wattage would be kind of iffy as to how much you could run on it.


http://www.newegg.com/app/ViewProduct.a ... 17-103-911

He didnt say that you couldnt find a less than 300watt branded PSU, only that it would be hard to find one.
Yahoolian
Grand Gerbil Poohbah
 
Posts: 3576
Joined: Sun Feb 16, 2003 3:43 pm
Location: MD

Postposted on Mon Apr 21, 2003 9:52 am

Sorry, It's A Old, Old Habbit...Sorta My In Message "Sig" If You Will :)
I Live To Game, I Game To Live!
~Q-Frost
Q-Frost
Gerbil
 
Posts: 31
Joined: Sat Dec 21, 2002 3:16 am
Location: Sarnia, Ontario, Canada

Re: Is 250w Enough?

Postposted on Mon Apr 21, 2003 3:29 pm

Q-Frost wrote:
Do You Think 250w Will Do It?
Or Should I Pick Up A Good Enermax 350w Replacement?


250w will work fine, as long as you dont increase voltages or anything. Also, you have a radeon 9000 vid card, which unlike the higher models that require extra voltages. Just 1 harddrive, and 1 cdrw, so yes, definately fine.
FTO
Gerbil
 
Posts: 26
Joined: Mon Apr 21, 2003 3:00 pm

Postposted on Mon Apr 21, 2003 4:34 pm

Personally, I would feel more confortable with a 300 watt+ PSU, better yet, 350+.
Alex
Maximum Gerbil
 
Posts: 4088
Joined: Thu Sep 19, 2002 9:02 pm
Location: Hot Springs, AR

Postposted on Sun May 04, 2003 10:22 pm

Q-Frost wrote:Sorry, It's A Old, Old Habbit...Sorta My In Message "Sig" If You Will :)
It Makes What You Are Saying Sound Choppy

IMWYASSC

if we could only talk in all acronims
SpotTheCat
Gerbilus Supremus
 
Posts: 12260
Joined: Wed Jan 29, 2003 12:47 am
Location: a regular hole


Return to Cases and Power Supplies

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests