Need suggestions on opt. airflow for a CM Storm Scout case

Enclosures, modding, blowholes, and the power needed to run it all.

Moderators: Nemesis, SpotTheCat

Need suggestions on opt. airflow for a CM Storm Scout case

Postposted on Tue Sep 15, 2009 7:52 pm

Hello fellow Gerbils, I'm new to the forums although I've been reading Tech Report for quite sometime. I really enjoy reading all the articles and in-depth reviews here on the site, its become one of my daily rituals to check in my morning routine (and occasionally during a slow day at work ^_^;;) A little about me, I'm a bit of a beginner PC enthusiast ( I know my way around a PC for the most part, although I haven't done any seriously crazy PC mods or LN2 Overclocking), I work at a call center in Arizona, and spend much of my free time playing video games with my friend and fellow enthusiast Darren or tinkering with my Rig, Lenneth.

Now on to my question: I've been trying to find the optimum Airflow for my CM Storm Scout case. I'm planning on migrating to a new 58XX series video card in the near future, and I want to keep my temps in check/possible overclocking ahead of time before I decide to make the move. (That's all assuming it'll fit in the case, its already a tad cramped in there. -_-;;) For those who aren't familiar with my case, I currently have 1 x 120mm Fan on the bottom slot on side of the case (will be adding the upper slot 120mm soon), it has 1x 120mm fan on the upper rear, 1x140mm mounted on top, and 1x140mm fan mounted bottom front. (I'll have pictures up a little later to illustrate for those wanting a visual) Here's a list of how its currently setup, not much changed from the factory setup (although the top fan is wrong, must've been setup wrong in the factory) with the exception of the added side fan:

Front 140mm: Intake
Side 120mm: Intake
Rear 120mm: Exhaust
Top 140mm: Intake (again, must've been put together wrong in the factory, going to change it once I finalize the airflow setup)