Will this PSU cut it for the time being?

Enclosures, modding, blowholes, and the power needed to run it all.

Moderators: Nemesis, SpotTheCat

Will this PSU cut it for the time being?

Postposted on Fri Nov 12, 2010 6:54 pm

Hey guys, its been a while since my last post on these forums. I could use a little helpful advice. My OCZ 700W GameExtreme PSU has obviously began to die because my computer just powers off 3-4 min after start up. I already ordered a new OCZ 700W ModExtreme from newegg to replace it. But in the time being, i was wondering if i could use a new Antec Earthwatts 500W PSU in my PC. I just happen to have one sitting around. I havent upgraded my PC in quite some time so dont be shocked by the old stuff: Core 2 Duo E8400, 4 x 1 Gb DDR2 Crucial Ballastix Tracers, 76 GB WD Raptor, 1 TB WD Caviar Black, NEC DVD-RW, EVGA Nvidia 260 GTX, EVGA 680i motherboard, and SB Extreme Music. Thanks in advance for any advice anyone can offer.
i7-4770k, ASRock Z87 Extreme6, Radeon R9 270, 16 GB G.Skill Ripjaws X DDR3-1600, Creative SB Z, OCZ Vertex 460 240 GB SSD, 2x 1TB WD Black HDD, Windows 8.1 Pro
ALIAS
Gerbil Elite
 
Posts: 672
Joined: Sun Feb 15, 2004 5:59 pm
Location: Texas

Re: Will this PSU cut it for the time being?

Postposted on Fri Nov 12, 2010 7:03 pm

The GTX 260 needs 36 amps on the +12V rail. The Earthwatts 500 has two +12V1@22A rails for a total of 44A so you'll be fine.
i5-3570K@4533MHz|GTX980|Dell U2711
Dashak
Gerbil First Class
 
Posts: 149
Joined: Fri Feb 03, 2006 8:13 pm
Location: Madison, Wisconsin

Re: Will this PSU cut it for the time being?

Postposted on Fri Nov 12, 2010 7:27 pm

Dashak wrote: The Earthwatts 500 has two +12V1@22A rails for a total of 44A so you'll be fine.


Actually, the combined rating on that EarthWatts is 408W (34A) according to the label (can't just add the rails together, need to look at the label). Still will probably work, though.
Intel 2500K & Scythe Mugen2 | ASRock H67M-GE | 8GB DDR3 | Boot drive: OCZ Vertex 3
TV tuner: Aver HDDuet | Xonar DG | Fractal Design R4 | Rosewill Capstone 450M
insulin_junkie72
Gerbil XP
 
Posts: 498
Joined: Sun Nov 26, 2006 4:19 pm
Location: WI, USA

Re: Will this PSU cut it for the time being?

Postposted on Fri Nov 12, 2010 8:46 pm

thanks for the replies guys. turns out i had a brand new Antec Earthwatts 380W PSU, not a 500W. but i did have the 500W one in my office computer that i only use for paying bills so i took it out put the 380W one in there. Looks like the 500W one is about 2 years old but i rarely ever use that computer nor has it actually been in that computer for over a year. I think it came with the Sonata III case I bought a couple of years ago. Im gonna give it a shot. hopefully nothing else goes wrong.
i7-4770k, ASRock Z87 Extreme6, Radeon R9 270, 16 GB G.Skill Ripjaws X DDR3-1600, Creative SB Z, OCZ Vertex 460 240 GB SSD, 2x 1TB WD Black HDD, Windows 8.1 Pro
ALIAS
Gerbil Elite
 
Posts: 672
Joined: Sun Feb 15, 2004 5:59 pm
Location: Texas

Re: Will this PSU cut it for the time being?

Postposted on Sun Nov 14, 2010 12:48 pm

Thanks insulin, I didn't know that. I thought it might balance out to a little less, but not 10A less. Is it usually 80% of the total rating for two rails?
i5-3570K@4533MHz|GTX980|Dell U2711
Dashak
Gerbil First Class
 
Posts: 149
Joined: Fri Feb 03, 2006 8:13 pm
Location: Madison, Wisconsin

Re: Will this PSU cut it for the time being?

Postposted on Sun Nov 14, 2010 1:11 pm

I already ordered a new OCZ 700W ModExtreme from newegg to replace it.


Why exactly?

If someone sells me shoddy goods, I look elsewhere.
mdk77777
Gerbil XP
 
Posts: 346
Joined: Fri Dec 12, 2008 3:42 pm

Re: Will this PSU cut it for the time being?

Postposted on Sun Nov 14, 2010 3:20 pm

The Earthwatts PSU will be more than enough to run your current system. That 700w model is overkill. If you can still cancel your order for the OCZ one do it. I have almost the exact same system as you (with a few more HDs) and have been running it on an older 500w Antec psu for about 2 years now. Not a single problem. While I do plan on replacing the PSU since it is almost 5 years old, I don't anticipate on needing anything more than about 500w. Unless you have reason to think there is something wrong with the Earthwatts psu you have there will be no problem using it.

And if you plan on upgrading in the future and think you will need more power, buy the psu then. No need to spend money now on something that will most likely be cheaper in the future.

Edit: Heh. I just realized that I missed your post saying that the PSU isn't an Earthwatts model. In any case, it sounds like it is probably an Antec model in which case my previous statements still stand.
Last edited by imtheunknown176 on Mon Nov 15, 2010 9:46 am, edited 1 time in total.
imtheunknown176
Gerbil First Class
 
Posts: 194
Joined: Tue Jul 19, 2005 12:17 am

Re: Will this PSU cut it for the time being?

Postposted on Sun Nov 14, 2010 5:00 pm

I have to agree that there is no need to buy the OCZ since it is similar to the antec though I am uneasy about the earthwatts since those older GPUs are little power hungry volcanos. Just use the earthwatts a year or two as long as it keeps working. in your next build get a more solid PSU like corsair.
OCZ makes good stuff but the quality and reliability is all over the map on their PSUs so I have to put them in the bargain quality bracket.
potatochobit
Gerbil Elite
 
Posts: 919
Joined: Mon Dec 01, 2008 4:56 pm


Return to Cases and Power Supplies

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 8 guests