575w Logigsys With 760gtx power off cyris 3 and sam BFE

Enclosures, modding, blowholes, and the power needed to run it all.

Moderators: Nemesis, SpotTheCat

575w Logigsys With 760gtx power off cyris 3 and sam BFE

Postposted on Mon Nov 04, 2013 7:16 pm

Hi Guys:

I installed a 575w Logysis PSU along with an Asus GTX760 (the short kind that requires only an 8 pin power connector fed by 2 six pins via an adaptor) into my dell Optiplex 790 with i5 2400 8 gigs ram dvd burne I also installed a Seagate SSHD (hyprid ssd) 1 Tb. I've plaid all the way through Bioshock Infinate with no issues on max settings @ 1080p, ALong with a solid 30 min on Far cry 3 again max at 1080p. I've also played 1 hours straight on Sniper Elite V2 as well as MOH (*the BF3 engine is pretty tough too ).. My case is a little small so I simply removed the side cover for air flow..

Oddly enough I can play Crysis 3 almost indefinately from the opening of the game.. BUt if I stop playing and re start... the game will load up than my computer hard shuts off and re-boots! It doesn't matter for how long, I can go from the begining to five minutes in or to an hour and a half in. NO ISSUES as long as I play continuously. BUT if I save and stop playing. Than restart the game and try to continue the computer hard re-boots! I thought it was some kind of crysis 3 bug but I just fired up Serious Sam 3 BFE I again 1080p max settings... I was running for about 5 minutes @ 70 to 90 FPS and than hard shut off rite away in the middle of the game.THan re-boot..

What could cause this? I am providing links to the BRAND new Power supply and GTX 760 that I just bought from newegg last week. Please advise:

575w SLI Ready Logysis PSU PS575XBK

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.a ... 6817170017

ASUS GTX760-DC2OC-2GD5

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.a ... 814121775R
matnath1
Gerbil Team Leader
Gold subscriber
 
 
Posts: 258
Joined: Thu Jan 27, 2005 3:21 am

Re: 575w Logigsys With 760gtx power off cyris 3 and sam BFE

Postposted on Mon Nov 04, 2013 7:26 pm

The power supply is, umm...not the best. The '575W' rating is a 'max' rating (ugh) and it only has 300W (12V*25A) on the +12V line which is the one that matters for modern computers. Sooo...you basically have a 300W power supply. Solution: get a solid 450-500W PSU from Seasonic or Corsair, can't really go wrong with those brands. There are others that are fine too but I am too lazy to look up specific models.
MadManOriginal
Graphmaster Gerbil
 
Posts: 1439
Joined: Wed Jan 30, 2002 7:00 pm
Location: In my head...

Re: 575w Logigsys With 760gtx power off cyris 3 and sam BFE

Postposted on Mon Nov 04, 2013 7:28 pm

The hard resets most likely point to hardware malfunction of some kind. It can be software, but with a complete failure, it is most 100 percent your power supply. Not a real nice way to put it, but that PSU is terrible and a ticking time bomb. I strongly advise to not use that psu/computer until you can replace it with a better one. That PSU has very little/if at all OCP protection and can harm your hardware which most likely then wouldn't be covered under warranty. I would recommend getting a solid PSU from a reputable manufacture such as Corsair, Seasonic, or other high end brands. I would recommend a 500 and over watt PSU from those brands. Not all PSUs are created or represented equally. Check out http://www.jonnyguru.com for recent reviews of some good PSU and their makers.
AMD Phenom II X4 840|Foxconn 780V|EVGA GTX660|4GB DDR2 800|Intel X-25M|NZXT 210|Corsair CX400|M-Audio BX8a Deluxe
GeForce6200
Gerbil Elite
 
Posts: 864
Joined: Tue Mar 14, 2006 5:08 pm

Re: 575w Logigsys With 760gtx power off cyris 3 and sam BFE

Postposted on Mon Nov 04, 2013 7:37 pm

I posted links to a few PSUs in this comment:
http://techreport.com/discussion/25584/ ... ost=774324

If you'd like beefier models than those, consider:
$98 SeaSonic SSR-650RM Gold Modular (54 A @ +12V)
$45 with code "EMCWWXW48" -20MIR Corsair CX500 Bronze (38 A)

I don't think you'll find a better PSU for $25AR.
i7-4770K, H70, Gryphon Z87, 16 GiB, R9-290, SSD, 2 HD, Blu-ray, SB ZX, TJ08-E, SS-660XP², 3007WFP+2001FP, RK-9000BR, MX518
JustAnEngineer
Gerbil God
Gold subscriber
 
 
Posts: 15488
Joined: Sat Jan 26, 2002 7:00 pm
Location: The Heart of Dixie

Re: 575w Logigsys With 760gtx power off cyris 3 and sam BFE

Postposted on Mon Nov 04, 2013 8:21 pm

Well well well......


These PSU manufacturers seem to be playing some games with the way they label these things... From the look of it a high quality 450 watt psu may actually provide more power than a "cheap" 575w.. I thought I was ok since the one I am using has two six pin PCI connectors and said that it is SLI Ready.. That is some straight BS!

Ok so Why would would some games run at max settings "indefinately" (ex MOH war fighter (bf3 engine) Bioshock infinate ( I've plaid the whole game through at max settings with no shut downs. as well as 45 min on Far Cry 3 (game is complete but I am re- conquering all of the camps for about the tent time).

I am just wondering why .... CRYSIS 3 would run fine if I do a fresh install of the game, start from the begining and play for 2 hours with no issue but than my system shuts down rite after loading a save point???? Very odd don't you think.

Anyway, I will take your advise (all of you) and splerge for a few extra bucks for a better psu... This just seeemed a little less likely to be the PSU given that Crysis 3 playing scenario.
matnath1
Gerbil Team Leader
Gold subscriber
 
 
Posts: 258
Joined: Thu Jan 27, 2005 3:21 am

Re: 575w Logigsys With 760gtx power off cyris 3 and sam BFE

Postposted on Mon Nov 04, 2013 8:28 pm

As for the game crashing, it could be that Crysis stresses your system more than the other games, thus requiring more power. I had a similar situation once way back with 007 Nightfire. I could play fine but wouldn't load past a certain load point, it would BSOD. This was on a X23800 S939 and GF 6200, powered by a case bundled raidmax 420watt PSU. It had 13 amps on the +12V rail, changed to a FSP Bluestorm 500W and worked fine. It was odd, but that was the only game that had that issue, but it was the PSU.
AMD Phenom II X4 840|Foxconn 780V|EVGA GTX660|4GB DDR2 800|Intel X-25M|NZXT 210|Corsair CX400|M-Audio BX8a Deluxe
GeForce6200
Gerbil Elite
 
Posts: 864
Joined: Tue Mar 14, 2006 5:08 pm

Re: 575w Logigsys With 760gtx power off cyris 3 and sam BFE

Postposted on Mon Nov 04, 2013 10:17 pm

I just arranged to RMA that PSU to NEWEGG.. They are great.. No hassle. I don't want to screw this up again.

How about these:

EVGA PSU with $15 rebate ($35 after mir)

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.a ... 6817438012

Or this corsair which is only $40 after a $20 gift card:

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.a ... 6817139027
matnath1
Gerbil Team Leader
Gold subscriber
 
 
Posts: 258
Joined: Thu Jan 27, 2005 3:21 am

Re: 575w Logigsys With 760gtx power off cyris 3 and sam BFE

Postposted on Tue Nov 05, 2013 12:44 am

JustAnEngineer wrote:I posted links to a few PSUs in this comment:
http://techreport.com/discussion/25584/ ... ost=774324

If you'd like beefier models than those, consider:
$98 SeaSonic SSR-650RM Gold Modular (54 A @ +12V)
$45 with code "EMCWWXW48" -20MIR Corsair CX500 Bronze (38 A)

I don't think you'll find a better PSU for $25AR.



I took your advise and ordered the 500w Corsair CX500 Bronze. It has a nice rebate and discount and fits the bill.. Thanks for your help it is greatly appreciated.
matnath1
Gerbil Team Leader
Gold subscriber
 
 
Posts: 258
Joined: Thu Jan 27, 2005 3:21 am

Re: 575w Logigsys With 760gtx power off cyris 3 and sam BFE

Postposted on Mon Nov 18, 2013 1:59 am

The 500w Corsair CX500 Bronze power supply has cured this problem completely. I've had it installed for a week and have played all of the games that were causing the BSOD for hours without any further issues.

Thanks for all of your help !
matnath1
Gerbil Team Leader
Gold subscriber
 
 
Posts: 258
Joined: Thu Jan 27, 2005 3:21 am

Re: 575w Logigsys With 760gtx power off cyris 3 and sam BFE

Postposted on Mon Nov 18, 2013 2:29 am

Glad to hear thats its all fixed now. It's odd that a PSU can cause such an odd error but it happens. That Corsair should serve you well. PSU's can be very mislabeled and just plain crap when put out by some manufacturers or simply over rated. With EVGA and Corsair PSU going to around $30 after rebate they really are a great deal, compared to say the Logisys. I'm relatively young (21) to the hardware and history of PSUs. I'm sure there was always cheap/poor built components but never such over rated crap that is seen on retail shelves. Maybe some of the more knowledgeable and older members can chime in on when certain PSU makers decided a 300W PSU magically turned into 600W. I'm guessing it's when there was an ATX revision.
AMD Phenom II X4 840|Foxconn 780V|EVGA GTX660|4GB DDR2 800|Intel X-25M|NZXT 210|Corsair CX400|M-Audio BX8a Deluxe
GeForce6200
Gerbil Elite
 
Posts: 864
Joined: Tue Mar 14, 2006 5:08 pm


Return to Cases and Power Supplies

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests