Maximum GPU Length

Enclosures, modding, blowholes, and the power needed to run it all.

Moderators: Nemesis, SpotTheCat

Maximum GPU Length

Postposted on Thu Mar 13, 2014 10:00 pm

Okay, long-time lurker, motivated to join up recently. Had a thought:

I've had my Antec P180 for a nice long time (bought it back in 2005-2006). Now, I'm looking around at new cases, partly because this one seems to be getting harder and harder to fit the high end graphics cards into. My HD7950 fits, but I had to pull out one of my hard-drive cages (which is fine, but a little odd).

The trouble is that most case manufacturers don't publish a spec for the maximum length card that can fit. Very few of the retail websites give the number either. And a shockingly small number of reviews include the measure as a relevant one of merit. The easiest cases to find them for are cases Full ATX cases, which (as evidenced by my removal of a hard drive cage) I really don't need.

So, can I put this on a wish-list for future articles on cases?

And would other gerbils be willing to help compose a list of such information?
FightingScallion
Gerbil
Silver subscriber
 
 
Posts: 23
Joined: Mon Mar 10, 2014 9:59 pm

Re: Maximum GPU Length

Postposted on Thu Mar 13, 2014 10:05 pm

Silverstone includes the maximum graphics card length in all of their product descriptions.
http://www.silverstonetek.com/product_c ... =7&area=en
i7-4770K, H70, Gryphon Z87, 16 GiB, R9-290, SSD, 2 HD, Blu-ray, SB ZX, TJ08-E, SS-660XP², 3007WFP+2001FP, RK-9000BR, MX518
JustAnEngineer
Gerbil God
Gold subscriber
 
 
Posts: 15402
Joined: Sat Jan 26, 2002 7:00 pm
Location: The Heart of Dixie

Re: Maximum GPU Length

Postposted on Fri Mar 14, 2014 8:37 am

Yep. That solves Silverstone.

Others that seem to: Lian-Li, Coolermaster, Fractal Design

Sometimes do, sometimes don't: Corsair, Antec, Rosewill, Raidmax, Xigmatek (rarely), Thermaltake (usually; always on higher end)

I'm sure I missed some popular ones. Little did I anticipate this ever being a problem back when I built my first computer. How times change.
FightingScallion
Gerbil
Silver subscriber
 
 
Posts: 23
Joined: Mon Mar 10, 2014 9:59 pm

Re: Maximum GPU Length

Postposted on Fri Mar 14, 2014 8:51 am

I've just bought a case and both site I used as my first choice supplier put that info in.

In fact years ago when I bought my Corsair 400D I used the numbers provided to choose a card (not that that case has any issues)

On some sites the good information comes and goes. As the consumer we should be pushing for the information we want to see.

One example I can think of where information has been edited on us is Best Buy. I have to quote the Canadian site. They used to have screen resolutions on all laptops and have it as a search criteria. Now they have stagnated on 720p and 900p screen resolutions (I found 2 1080p laptops out of the 50 they had on display in store not counting Apple). They are trying to sell mass market crap that is stagnated technology. So they now have removed that search and in the tech specs it is missing too for the most part.

Sorry for the rant.
Arvald
Gerbil XP
Silver subscriber
 
 
Posts: 353
Joined: Tue Sep 27, 2011 12:14 pm
Location: Gerbil-land, Canada


Return to Cases and Power Supplies

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests