Help: need to know if I crushed my T-bird core

Discussion of all forms of processors, from AMD to Intel to VIA.

Moderators: Flying Fox, morphine

Postposted on Mon Jan 14, 2002 10:24 am

Hi guys. I need some help, and I thought you might help me since I don't have any experience at all with assembling a system with a T-bird. Here is the deal: I put the T-bird 1.0 Ghz/266FSB on a Soyo K7VTA-PRO, set up all the jumpers, the coolermaster HSF, PC100 SDRAM memory and a video card properly and when I turned the rig on, the mobo said "the processor might be damaged or not installed properly". Is it possible that I crushed my core since the HSF seemed to have a extremely and excessive tight fit?
radix
Gerbil First Class
 
Posts: 103
Joined: Sun Jan 13, 2002 7:00 pm
Location: Mountain View, CA

Postposted on Mon Jan 14, 2002 3:44 pm

It can happen, What concerns me is that your motherboard "said" : "the processor might be damaged or not installed properly"... but thats a different issue...
Seriously, you are gonna have to take the HSF off and give the core a visual.. Any cracks or chips means that you crushed the sucker... I suspect that is quite possibly the case.. In the future it may be best to buy a shim.
-Kim Kommando
Lao Tze
Gerbil First Class
 
Posts: 165
Joined: Wed Dec 26, 2001 7:00 pm

Postposted on Mon Jan 14, 2002 3:57 pm

AMD, give us heat spreaders!
Dissonance
TR Staff
Gold subscriber
 
 
Posts: 531
Joined: Wed Dec 26, 2001 7:00 pm
Location: Vancouver, BC

Postposted on Mon Jan 14, 2002 4:09 pm

I would say if the core was physically damaged then the computer would not boot at all. No video or boot beeps. At least that is what happened to me when I cracked the core of a classic athlon. I agree with Tao that you should at least look at it.
dolemitecomputers
Minister of Gerbil Affairs
 
Posts: 2605
Joined: Wed Dec 26, 2001 7:00 pm
Location: Utah

Postposted on Mon Jan 14, 2002 4:11 pm

err thats Lao not Tao.
dolemitecomputers
Minister of Gerbil Affairs
 
Posts: 2605
Joined: Wed Dec 26, 2001 7:00 pm
Location: Utah

Postposted on Mon Jan 14, 2002 4:18 pm

On 2002-01-14 14:57, Dissonance wrote:
AMD, give us heat spreaders!


No crap!!!

<font size=-1>[ This Message was edited by: J5 on 2002-01-14 15:18 ]</font>
J5
Gerbil First Class
 
Posts: 126
Joined: Wed Dec 26, 2001 7:00 pm
Location: Minnesota

Postposted on Mon Jan 14, 2002 4:52 pm

Well, thanks guys for your support. Let me be a little more specific, to clarify some stuff. The mobo literally speaks in english or chinese (it´s up to you to choose, despite the fact the choice is pretty obvious for most of us :smile:) "the processor is damage or etc etc", and it actually took me some time to figure it out, since the PC speaker does not give high quality audio (this speaking stuff is referred in the mobo manual as the soyo voice doctor). And looking at the core it doesn´t seem to be chipped or cracked, but it simply won´t work (and I tested it in other mobos). Well, what can I do, it´s probably damaged, now I have to wait for my vendor to give me another one, because it could be damaged in the first place before I put my hands on it. And as Dissonance wisely put: AMD, give us heat spreaders!
radix
Gerbil First Class
 
Posts: 103
Joined: Sun Jan 13, 2002 7:00 pm
Location: Mountain View, CA

Postposted on Tue Jan 15, 2002 8:15 am

Does your motherboard also sing a stirring rendition of "Daisy, Daisy"?
ANApex
Gerbil XP
 
Posts: 447
Joined: Thu Dec 27, 2001 7:00 pm
Location: PA

Postposted on Tue Jan 15, 2002 10:16 pm

Only when it's not murdering the crew.
Forge
Darth Gerbil
 
Posts: 7956
Joined: Wed Dec 26, 2001 7:00 pm
Location: SouthEast PA

Postposted on Tue Feb 05, 2002 4:23 pm

Did you have a different cpu on this board before? Did you try clearing the CMOS (power off 1st) and rebooting to default? Worth a try.
Ne0
Gerbil
 
Posts: 28
Joined: Sat Feb 02, 2002 7:00 pm

Postposted on Tue Feb 05, 2002 6:14 pm

You probably did not need to mess with the jumpers. The board is typically capable of auto-detecting the CPU setting. I have gotten this type of BIOS message before when I set the CPU settings to incorrect values.

Try setting the DIPs back to default and having a go.

The other issue I see is that you have a 133FSB CPU and are running PC100 memory.

Good luck!!

[A3D]SOShootME
SOShootME
Gerbil In Training
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Mon Feb 04, 2002 7:00 pm

Postposted on Fri Feb 08, 2002 10:06 am

I wouldn't worry about the processor being damaged. When you first boot up, the BIOS rarely detects the exact processor model. I've found I almost always have to go into the BIOS and specify the correct speed and reboot.

That message is usually the result of the BIOS booting up with a setting of a speed that isn't in line with what the processor actually is. It'll happen all the time when you overclock on Abit boards unless you turn off Hold On Error in the BIOS.

In short, your processor should be fine. If the core was damaged, your machine would sit there and spin up the fans and nothing would happen.....hey, sort of like MY new computer is doing (See "Abit KR7 boot problems" posted nearby")
Llathos
Gerbil In Training
 
Posts: 9
Joined: Thu Feb 07, 2002 7:00 pm

Postposted on Wed Feb 13, 2002 10:25 am

On 2002-01-14 14:57, Dissonance wrote:
AMD, give us heat spreaders!


<span style="font-size: .8em;">
The Hammer should offer an HIS metal lid...

http://www.sharkyforums.com/ubb/Forum5/HTML/016349.html

I splintered the edge of my core some time ago and it made no noticable performance difference... They are tougher than you'd think!
</span>
Tekime
Gerbil In Training
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Mon Feb 11, 2002 7:00 pm

Postposted on Wed Feb 13, 2002 8:16 pm

The Hammer should offer an HIS metal lid...


http://www.tech-report.com/reviews/2001 ... 4/p4-1.jpg

Ah, but will it be able to compete with the legendary farting Pentium 4 chip?,
IntelMole
IntelMole
Grand Gerbil Poohbah
 
Posts: 3529
Joined: Sat Dec 29, 2001 7:00 pm
Location: The nearest pub

Postposted on Thu Feb 14, 2002 3:08 pm

On 2002-01-15 21:16, Forge wrote:
Only when it's not murdering the crew.

BWAHAHAHAHAH!

Good one.
TheCollective
Gerbil Elite
 
Posts: 726
Joined: Wed Jan 02, 2002 7:00 pm
Location: College Station, TX

Postposted on Thu Feb 14, 2002 4:58 pm

Hi guys, thanks to all the people who helped me, I learned quite a bit here. It turned out that the processor was damaged before I got it (don´t ask me how, I don´t know that either) and now I´m using a Athlon 1.4 ghz and everything is working fine. My new goal is getting a new ATA100 hard drive, mine is too slow for this rig.

<font size=-1>[ This Message was edited by: radix on 2002-02-14 16:03 ]</font>
radix
Gerbil First Class
 
Posts: 103
Joined: Sun Jan 13, 2002 7:00 pm
Location: Mountain View, CA

Postposted on Thu Feb 21, 2002 1:04 pm

On 2002-01-14 14:57, Dissonance wrote:
AMD, give us heat spreaders!


I just got out of an AMD meeting regarding the processor roadmap. I found out that the ClawHammer will have heat spreaders. Of course, that isn't coming out until 2003, but at least they aren't letting a problem sit without resolving it.
titan
Grand Gerbil Poohbah
 
Posts: 3276
Joined: Mon Feb 18, 2002 7:00 pm
Location: Great Smoky Mountains


Return to Processors

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 2 guests