Processor Upgrades from PowerLeap

Discussion of all forms of processors, from AMD to Intel to VIA.

Moderators: Flying Fox, morphine

Postposted on Thu Jan 31, 2002 8:20 am

Has any used these or has had any experience with these? I have an old PII board laying around that might come back to a somewhat decent life if these might work in it.
http://www.powerleap.com
ANApex
Gerbil XP
 
Posts: 447
Joined: Thu Dec 27, 2001 6:00 pm
Location: PA

Postposted on Thu Jan 31, 2002 8:50 am

I have the NeoS370 that breathed new life into an Abit BM6. I thought it was a good deal. It's the wife's computer now.

There are many T/R guys here who have had bad experiences with powerleap. Forge in particular dislikes them. Like 'em or not, they are pretty much your only alternative to upgrading some old mobos.
Vrock
Gerbil God
 
Posts: 20456
Joined: Tue Jan 15, 2002 6:00 pm
Location: The Land of the Looney Lolcats

Postposted on Thu Jan 31, 2002 8:53 am

I got a couple PL-PII slot 1 -> ppga 370 converters a few years ago to run dual Celeron 500's. They worked fine and are still in use today. I guess the biggest thing to watch out for is BIOS compatibility in the motherboard you want to upgrade.
Steel
Global Moderator
Gold subscriber
 
 
Posts: 2321
Joined: Wed Dec 26, 2001 6:00 pm

Postposted on Thu Jan 31, 2002 9:22 am

I forgot to add this the motherboard is using the i440LX chipset so there might be the possibilty of going dual with it. Any experience or knowledge of how high of a processor you can force an LX chipset to use?

I hate answering my own questions but I think I've found the answers I wanted. Here's a link if anyone is interested. Any comments you might have too are also still appreciated.

https://www.quickbase.com/db/6v74ue7a?a ... X&x=31&y=9

<font size=-1>[ This Message was edited by: ANApex on 2002-01-31 09:53 ]</font>
ANApex
Gerbil XP
 
Posts: 447
Joined: Thu Dec 27, 2001 6:00 pm
Location: PA

Postposted on Thu Jan 31, 2002 10:43 am

The board I used mine on is a Tyan Tiger 2 dual 440LX board. I believe the fastest Celeron that can do dual is the older PPGA 533MHz, not the FC-PGA one.
Steel
Global Moderator
Gold subscriber
 
 
Posts: 2321
Joined: Wed Dec 26, 2001 6:00 pm


Return to Processors

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest