Personal computing discussed

Moderators: renee, Flying Fox, morphine

rmunk
Gerbil In Training
Topic Author

Sat Feb 02, 2002 11:52 am

This is my first build and would like comments on the components I have picked so far, and any issues with these.

CPU: Athlon XP 1700 “boxed” w/F & HS
Motherboard: ASUS A7V266-E (chips set VIA KT266A)
Hard Drive: Maxtor Diamond Max Plus D740X 40GB
(have IBM 40GB & will install too)
Memory: 256MB CAS2.5 PC2100 DDR
Case: Antech SX830 w/300W PS
CDRW: Have HP 9100 series
Graphics card: ? suggestions

Thanks, Bob

combo
Gerbil

Sat Feb 02, 2002 1:20 pm

For a graphics card, it really depends on how much your willing to spend and what you plan on doing with this card.

<font size=-1>[ This Message was edited by: combo on 2002-02-03 03:17 ]</font>

JustAnEngineer
Gerbil God

Sat Feb 02, 2002 10:31 pm

Opinions? Everybody has one...

I like the AthlonXP 1700+. It's a great bang for the buck. I bought the OEM chip with an Alpha PAL-8045 heatsink. This giant heatsink is a bit tedious to install but it provides good cooling even when equipped with a low-rpm (QUIET) 80mm fan. If you're not going to overclock, then the AMD heatsink should be fine, particularly considering the good ventilation in the case that you've selected.