Personal computing discussed

Moderators: renee, Flying Fox, morphine

CThomp1984
Gerbil In Training
Topic Author

Thu Mar 07, 2002 8:15 pm

Here's my problem in a nutshell... Our Data Processing Dept is currently being upgraded (by me) from P3-800EB/ABIT SA6/256MB SDRAM systems to P4-1.5G/ABIT BL7/256MB SDRAM. Primarily, these people run some heavy SAS programs and Excel macros. Our end results, thus far, have shown that the P4 systems are running much slower on these programs than the P3 systems. I'm relatively new to the mobo/CPU field (within the last year) - and don't know much about all the technical specs, but I saw an article on this site about the P4 using a "weak FPU" vs. the P3 - is this the "lag" I'm seeing in SAS and Excel? Anyone who can help me with this solution has my deepest appreciation.

Craig

Speed
Gerbil Elite

Thu Mar 07, 2002 8:23 pm

Ah, that's not much of an upgrade. On paper there's no net gain going from an 800EB to a 1.5 with RDRAM. I'm not surprised you're worse off with SDRAM. I don't know about the FPU thing, but can't help but wonder what prompted so much work for what's turning out to be a step backwards.

<font size=-1>[ This Message was edited by: Speed on 2002-03-07 20:05 ]</font>

Coldfirex
Graphmaster Gerbil

Fri Mar 08, 2002 12:30 am

IMO, your not going to see much difference unless you:

1)Get faster P4s (Northwoods...2ghz+ with DDR)
2)Get and AMD solution (though not as likely since many businesses wont go this route)

<font size=-1>[ This Message was edited by: Coldfirex on 2002-03-08 00:49 ]</font>

aristheo
Gerbil First Class

Fri Mar 08, 2002 12:41 am

I would suggest to try and put more ram on the PC's. I don't think the CPU is the bottleneck at all. Also, where is the data stored? Is it on a network server or on the local machine? If there's a lot of traffic on the network, that could severely affect the performance of the application regardless of the CPU speed.

SecretSquirrel
Minister of Gerbil Affairs