Dual Via C3's

Discussion of all forms of processors, from AMD to Intel to VIA.

Moderators: Flying Fox, morphine

Postposted on Sun Dec 30, 2001 7:22 am

Can the C3 be run in a dual mobo w/o problems? I know they are not the fastest of cpu's but it would make for a nice quiet dually system.
RandomNull
Gerbil Elite
 
Posts: 514
Joined: Sat Dec 29, 2001 7:00 pm

Postposted on Sun Dec 30, 2001 3:42 pm

Unfortuneately no. VIA says this "VIA C3 doesn not support SMP as it has no local APIC hardware support"
Coldfirex
Graphmaster Gerbil
 
Posts: 1109
Joined: Wed Dec 26, 2001 7:00 pm
Location: College Station, TX

Postposted on Sun Dec 30, 2001 4:03 pm

If only you could fiddle with the multiplier on Tualatins, you could probably underclock them, drop the voltage, and run them without fans and still get batter performance than the C3.
Geoff Gasior
The Tech Report
http://www.techreport.com
Dissonance
TR Staff
Gold subscriber
 
 
Posts: 531
Joined: Wed Dec 26, 2001 7:00 pm
Location: Vancouver, BC

Postposted on Sun Dec 30, 2001 6:45 pm

What about the Athlon XPs? Any chance you could underclock them? They are fiddle-able, and it's a longshot cos they run real hot, but hey, longshot is always better than no shot at all, right?
IntelMole
Grand Gerbil Poohbah
 
Posts: 3529
Joined: Sat Dec 29, 2001 7:00 pm
Location: The nearest pub

Postposted on Sun Dec 30, 2001 7:22 pm

I would do the AMD dually but their boadrs are a lot more than some 370 boards are.
RandomNull
Gerbil Elite
 
Posts: 514
Joined: Sat Dec 29, 2001 7:00 pm

Postposted on Sun Dec 30, 2001 10:50 pm

I ran an MP 1.2 at 600 and 1.2v for a few hours. Minimal heatsink, no fan. Was fine crunching RC5.
Forge
Darth Gerbil
 
Posts: 7959
Joined: Wed Dec 26, 2001 7:00 pm
Location: SouthEast PA

Postposted on Sun Dec 30, 2001 11:41 pm

Wow, you guys got me thinking. I am the proud owner of a 1.13 Ghz SL5PU PentiumIII-S. I blew my economic stimulus tax rebate on it. It's only sorta multiplier locked - you can set the multiplier down below the stock 8.5, but not up. Thers critters are so rare I don't know if they all come this way, or if I just got lucky. I will see how well it downclocks and post the results. The Motherboard is an ASUS Tusi-M. I have been able to overclock it up to the limit this board supports - 1250 Mhz on a 147 Mhz FSB. It looks like I picked the wrong week to give up staying up late . . .
-The Mad Duke
The Mad Duke
Gerbil
 
Posts: 28
Joined: Thu Dec 27, 2001 7:00 pm
Location: Hotlanta, GA

Postposted on Mon Dec 31, 2001 10:20 am

O.K., I tried downclocking my Tualatin P3 last night. My mobo only goes down to a 5.5 multiplier, so I tested at 366 Mhz (5.5 X 66). At that speed the CPU temp was the same as room temp - it still had an Alpha heatsink/fan on it. I'll have to try it without the fan sometime. At any rate, SISoft Sandra CPU showed Integer scores on par with my 733 Mhz VIA C3, which is to say about equal to a P2 400 Mhz. Floating point performance was of course much better than the VIA C3 since it's floating point unit only runs at half speed. The VIA chip is still a big win on price though, less than 50 bucks.
-The Mad Duke

<font size=-1>[ This Message was edited by: The Mad Duke on 2001-12-31 09:21 ]</font>
The Mad Duke
Gerbil
 
Posts: 28
Joined: Thu Dec 27, 2001 7:00 pm
Location: Hotlanta, GA

Postposted on Wed Jan 02, 2002 11:02 am

My dually is pretty quiet. I got a pair of super quiet Pabst 80 MM fans and 80->60 MM fan adpaters. For case fans I have a low speed YS Tech and a Panaflow running on 5V. The only thing that really makes noise is my enermax "whisper" PS that screams like a banshee. I guess "whisper" doesn't translate well from chinese :smile: I'll probably rip it open eventually and replace the fans.
cRock
Gerbil First Class
 
Posts: 112
Joined: Thu Dec 27, 2001 7:00 pm
Location: pimpin the ATL


Return to Processors

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests