Cool N Quiet isn't working

Discussion of all forms of processors, from AMD to Intel to VIA.

Moderators: Flying Fox, morphine

Cool N Quiet isn't working

Postposted on Wed Jan 05, 2011 2:57 am

I put together my SFF build as planned, with following specs

Phenom II X4 910e
Gigabyte 880GMA-UD2H
2x2GB GSKILL DDR3 1600 9-9-9-24 @ 1.5V
Powercolor HD6870
PC Power and Cooling 500W Silencer
500GB Western Digital Caviar Blue

Cool N Quiet isn't kicking on. Even after a couple minutes of doing absolutely nothing, not once does the CPU clock down (Task Manager reads 0% CPU load, and still @ 2.6GHz). It's all at stock, nothing is overclocked, and no voltages are adjusted except for RAM set to 1.5V. C1E is enabled. Any ideas to get this working? The CPU is old, so a BIOS update shouldn't really do anything, not that Gigabyte has been bothered to release one.

Temps aren't too bad, but I'd prefer that it behave properly so I don't have to worry about leaving the fan speed on low.

Thanks
brute
Gerbil
 
Posts: 83
Joined: Tue Nov 24, 2009 3:26 pm

Re: Cool N Quiet isn't working

Postposted on Wed Jan 05, 2011 5:57 am

Requirements to get CnQ working:

1) Enable it in the BIOS.
2) Install the AMD CPU driver.
3) Set the Windows power management mode to "Minimal power saving", at least.

Additionaly:

4) Set the BIOS CPU fan control to "auto" or "quiet" so that the fan spins down when idle.
There is a fixed amount of intelligence on the planet, and the population keeps growing :(
morphine
Grand Admiral Gerbil
Silver subscriber
 
 
Posts: 10029
Joined: Fri Dec 27, 2002 8:51 pm
Location: Portugal (that's next to Spain)

Re: Cool N Quiet isn't working

Postposted on Wed Jan 05, 2011 12:43 pm

morphine wrote:Requirements to get CnQ working:

1) Enable it in the BIOS.
2) Install the AMD CPU driver.
3) Set the Windows power management mode to "Minimal power saving", at least.

Additionaly:

4) Set the BIOS CPU fan control to "auto" or "quiet" so that the fan spins down when idle.

AFAIK step #2 is only necessary if you have XP. Windows 7 (Vista maybe, but I never tested Vista) should be just fine.
Image
The Model M is not for the faint of heart. You either like them or hate them.

Gerbils unite! Fold for UnitedGerbilNation, team 2630.
Flying Fox
Gerbil God
 
Posts: 24496
Joined: Mon May 24, 2004 2:19 am

Re: Cool N Quiet isn't working

Postposted on Wed Jan 05, 2011 1:11 pm

Vista doesn't need the driver either.
Think for yourself, schmuck!
i5-2500K@4.3|Asus P8P67-LE|8GB DDR3-1600|Powercolor R7850 2G|1.5TB 7200.11|1988 Model M|Saitek X-45 & P880|Logitech MX 518|Dell 2209WA|Sennheiser PC151|Asus Xonar DX
bthylafh
Grand Gerbil Poohbah
 
Posts: 3190
Joined: Mon Dec 29, 2003 11:55 pm
Location: Southwest Missouri, USA

Re: Cool N Quiet isn't working

Postposted on Wed Jan 05, 2011 1:15 pm

Thanks for the replies.

The CPU I had in here before the 910e worked with Cool n Quiet. I'm baffled. I'm on Win 7 64, by the way.
brute
Gerbil
 
Posts: 83
Joined: Tue Nov 24, 2009 3:26 pm

Re: Cool N Quiet isn't working

Postposted on Wed Jan 05, 2011 1:52 pm

logan wrote:The CPU is old, so a BIOS update shouldn't really do anything, not that Gigabyte has been bothered to release one.

Ehh...? What version of the BIOS are you currently running? Their site lists 5 different BIOS versions (designated F1-F5), the last of which was released in September.

http://www.gigabyte.com/products/produc ... =3424#bios
(this space intentionally left blank)
just brew it!
Administrator
Gold subscriber
 
 
Posts: 37850
Joined: Tue Aug 20, 2002 10:51 pm
Location: Somewhere, having a beer

Re: Cool N Quiet isn't working

Postposted on Wed Jan 05, 2011 1:56 pm

Question about step #4, does a 3 pin vs a 4 pin fan connector affect a mobos ability to control your fan speed?
kamikaziechameleon
Gerbil Elite
 
Posts: 848
Joined: Wed Dec 03, 2008 3:38 pm

Re: Cool N Quiet isn't working

Postposted on Wed Jan 05, 2011 2:15 pm

If the fan is PWM-only, yes.
There is a fixed amount of intelligence on the planet, and the population keeps growing :(
morphine
Grand Admiral Gerbil
Silver subscriber
 
 
Posts: 10029
Joined: Fri Dec 27, 2002 8:51 pm
Location: Portugal (that's next to Spain)

Re: Cool N Quiet isn't working

Postposted on Wed Jan 05, 2011 2:23 pm

just brew it! wrote:
logan wrote:The CPU is old, so a BIOS update shouldn't really do anything, not that Gigabyte has been bothered to release one.

Ehh...? What version of the BIOS are you currently running? Their site lists 5 different BIOS versions (designated F1-F5), the last of which was released in September.

http://www.gigabyte.com/products/produc ... =3424#bios

I'm on F5. When I searched it, I didn't see any of those.

About step 4, I have my CPU fan on a controller, and I plugged my HD fan into the CPU fan header because that thing won't make the noise that the stock AMD fan will.
brute
Gerbil
 
Posts: 83
Joined: Tue Nov 24, 2009 3:26 pm

Re: Cool N Quiet isn't working

Postposted on Wed Jan 05, 2011 3:33 pm

morphine wrote:If the fan is PWM-only, yes.



PWM-only ?
kamikaziechameleon
Gerbil Elite
 
Posts: 848
Joined: Wed Dec 03, 2008 3:38 pm

Re: Cool N Quiet isn't working

Postposted on Wed Jan 05, 2011 3:48 pm

you could try this if you havent already

go to Control panel>power options, click on change plan settings, then change advanced power settings, look for processor power management and set minimum processor state should be set to to 5% or so for C&Q to work.

hope this helps

regards

Dyno
DynoRig: Antec 900, Crosshair IV Formula, Phenom II X4 B60, 2gb KVR 1333Mhz, Radeon HD 5770 Vapor-X
64Gb Kingston SSD Now V, 400Gb Hitatchi Deskstar, Hauppage HVR1100 DVBT TV tuner, Broadcom Wireless, OCZ StealthXtreme 600w, Win7 x64
Dyn0mutt
Gerbil Team Leader
 
Posts: 243
Joined: Sat Sep 17, 2005 4:30 pm
Location: Newcastle upon Tyne, UK

Re: Cool N Quiet isn't working

Postposted on Wed Jan 05, 2011 4:17 pm

Dyn0mutt wrote:you could try this if you havent already

go to Control panel>power options, click on change plan settings, then change advanced power settings, look for processor power management and set minimum processor state should be set to to 5% or so for C&Q to work.

hope this helps

regards

Dyno

Wow, that did it. Thanks!! :D

Changed a CPU and it messed it up somehow.
brute
Gerbil
 
Posts: 83
Joined: Tue Nov 24, 2009 3:26 pm

Re: Cool N Quiet isn't working

Postposted on Wed Jan 05, 2011 4:20 pm

In Windows 7 the "balanced" profile should have done that already. It worked on my 785G board with both the Athlon II X250 and Phenom II X4 965 BE.
Image
The Model M is not for the faint of heart. You either like them or hate them.

Gerbils unite! Fold for UnitedGerbilNation, team 2630.
Flying Fox
Gerbil God
 
Posts: 24496
Joined: Mon May 24, 2004 2:19 am

Re: Cool N Quiet isn't working

Postposted on Wed Jan 05, 2011 5:34 pm

logan wrote:
Dyn0mutt wrote:you could try this if you havent already

go to Control panel>power options, click on change plan settings, then change advanced power settings, look for processor power management and set minimum processor state should be set to to 5% or so for C&Q to work.

hope this helps

regards

Dyno

Wow, that did it. Thanks!! :D

Changed a CPU and it messed it up somehow.


good stuff, you are most welcome.
DynoRig: Antec 900, Crosshair IV Formula, Phenom II X4 B60, 2gb KVR 1333Mhz, Radeon HD 5770 Vapor-X
64Gb Kingston SSD Now V, 400Gb Hitatchi Deskstar, Hauppage HVR1100 DVBT TV tuner, Broadcom Wireless, OCZ StealthXtreme 600w, Win7 x64
Dyn0mutt
Gerbil Team Leader
 
Posts: 243
Joined: Sat Sep 17, 2005 4:30 pm
Location: Newcastle upon Tyne, UK

Re: Cool N Quiet isn't working

Postposted on Fri Apr 26, 2013 4:21 pm

"good stuff, you are most welcome."

yeah. thanks. i can't figure out how xp knows to spin down the cpu frequency on minimal power settings because i don't see settings for that in the power options, but that's what made c&q work for me.

my amd 4400+ is ten years old and works wonderfully, so when my mb started going haywire (networking failed, printer didn't work, drivers wouldn't install) i swapped out my msi 7125 nforce 4 ultra for the asus a8v-vm, and am trying to get the features to work.

it's nice underclocking with c&q because there's a lot of heat down here in fl. and i do everything i can to keep my tower cool.
hmazuji
Gerbil In Training
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Fri Apr 26, 2013 3:59 pm

Re: Cool N Quiet isn't working

Postposted on Fri Apr 26, 2013 4:28 pm

Um, you just necro'd a 2-year-old thread.
There is a fixed amount of intelligence on the planet, and the population keeps growing :(
morphine
Grand Admiral Gerbil
Silver subscriber
 
 
Posts: 10029
Joined: Fri Dec 27, 2002 8:51 pm
Location: Portugal (that's next to Spain)


Return to Processors

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests