Using core temp.

Discussion of all forms of processors, from AMD to Intel to VIA.

Moderators: Flying Fox, morphine

Using core temp.

Postposted on Tue Feb 08, 2011 3:44 pm

I noticed that whenever I use this to monitor my CPU temps one of the cores gets hotter than the other one. Is that normal?

For example, Core 0' 39c Core 1' 37c. This is at idle.

When I play Black Ops or something it'll be something like this Core 0' 63c Core 1' 59c.

Is it normal for one core to get hotter than the other like this?
diasflacog
Gerbil First Class
 
Posts: 160
Joined: Tue Dec 18, 2007 3:58 am

Re: Using core temp.

Postposted on Tue Feb 08, 2011 3:55 pm

Core temp is never going to give you a perfectly accurate temperature reading - the purpose is to detect extreme temperatures. You're within a couple of degrees, so it's probably okay.

And it is normal for your first core to be slightly hotter than the second.
cphite
Gerbil Elite
 
Posts: 559
Joined: Thu Apr 29, 2010 9:28 am

Re: Using core temp.

Postposted on Tue Feb 08, 2011 4:49 pm

Those readings are normal. As far as I know, given that the heat/load distribution within the die isn't 100% uniform, you'll get some variation.
There is a fixed amount of intelligence on the planet, and the population keeps growing :(
morphine
Grand Admiral Gerbil
Silver subscriber
 
 
Posts: 10029
Joined: Fri Dec 27, 2002 8:51 pm
Location: Portugal (that's next to Spain)

Re: Using core temp.

Postposted on Tue Feb 08, 2011 4:53 pm

Ahh ok, I thought both cores had to be at the same temps so I just wanted to ask if that was normal or not. Thanks for the quick replies.
diasflacog
Gerbil First Class
 
Posts: 160
Joined: Tue Dec 18, 2007 3:58 am


Return to Processors

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests