Processes setting Affinity on i72600k Question

Discussion of all forms of processors, from AMD to Intel to VIA.

Moderators: Flying Fox, morphine

Processes setting Affinity on i72600k Question

Postposted on Tue Jun 18, 2013 9:11 pm

When in the task manager in window 7 64 bit and I select Processes and go to Set Affinity I have 9 boxes to check off if i want to, The top one is All processors, then they have 8 other selections CPU 0 through CPU 7 for the 8 threads. My question is what thread are the Hyperthreaded cores and what ones are the actual cores.

I am curious if i set say fraps, afterburner and speedfan to work on only HT cores and leave the real cores for the heavy lifting. Or should i just leave well enough alone since I am having no problem at all.

Also i have notice much less tearing and microstuttering with my 560ti SLI setup. It has been silky smooth with the new tomb raider maxed out at over 100fps and the latest MOH based on the frostbite 2 engine is blazing fast also. I am running the latest drivers and i am very curious if they have fixed the frame ltency that looked so bad in the earlier frame latency TR articles for my 560 ti SLI setup.
Has anyone else that is running 560ti1gb cards in SLI noticed that they are very much smoother with less to no tearing?

Just a happy camper since i was so worried i was going to have to replace my video cards but they are working fantastic!
2600k HT on@4705mhz 8gb Cas9 1600 mem 2x EVGA GTX770 4gb Classified cards in SLI @1320 mhz core and 2003 mhz mem,mounted in CM HAF922 with a TX-850 PSU 2xHTPC's 2xi3 2120 3.3ghz dual core,1xasus LP HD6570 1xHIS hd7750@1150core1325mem,55"PanyVT30
vargis14
Graphmaster Gerbil
 
Posts: 1114
Joined: Fri Aug 20, 2010 6:03 pm
Location: philly suburbs

Re: Processes setting Affinity on i72600k Question

Postposted on Wed Jun 19, 2013 3:23 am

There aren't hyperthreading and actual physical cores to transparently pick between. Hyperthreading is the machine allowing for multhreading; the machine runs two threads on the same core. The hyperthreading cores aren't separate physical devices.

Leave it all alone.
theadder
Gerbil
 
Posts: 22
Joined: Fri Dec 04, 2009 2:59 am

Re: Processes setting Affinity on i72600k Question

Postposted on Wed Jun 19, 2013 4:46 am

I think each physical core is assigned two tick boxes, starting off with Core 0 and 1. To assign a thread to the first physical core, for example, it doesn't matter whether you check Core 0 or Core 1 inside Task Manager. The OS scheduler will assign the thread to the first physical core. Same thing when you're assigning two different threads to the same physical core, say, the third physical core. You can assign the first thread to Core 5 and the second thread to Core 4 -- doesn't matter if you switch them. The OS will understand that you're assigning both threads to the third physical core and the CPU will do its own thing, allocating the execution resources within the third core to both threads accordingly. The core does the resource allocation on the fly with its own HT hardware.
AMD FX-8350 / Gigabyte 990FXA-UD3 (rev. 4) / 2 x G.Skill Ripjaws 4GB DDR3-1866 / AMD HD7770 1GB / TP-Link WN723N USB Wifi-N / Samsung 840 EVO 250GB / Hitachi 7K1000.C 1TB / LG ODD / Cooler Master GX650 / Aerocool VS3 / LG W2252TQ / Win7 64-bit
ronch
Gerbil Elite
 
Posts: 606
Joined: Mon Apr 06, 2009 7:55 am
Location: Down in the Bonehoard

Re: Processes setting Affinity on i72600k Question

Postposted on Wed Jun 19, 2013 5:37 am

I actually can relate with what you wanna do here. I have an FX-8350 and obviously, eight cores come up in Task Manager. Normally I would assign my tasks to as few cores/modules as possible. For example, when I'm browsing the Internet and running BitTorrent at the same time, I would assign both tasks to the same module, one thread for each of the two cores in a module. Doing this should help Windows decide to park the other modules so I can save some power. Obviously the FX is very different from the i7 in terms of what those 'cores' mean under Task Manager, but here, you see that it doesn't matter to which core I assign a thread in any given module. That particular module will work on both tasks equally and no task is given more priority over the other within that module. This isn't exactly what happens inside a physical i7 core, but you get the general idea.
AMD FX-8350 / Gigabyte 990FXA-UD3 (rev. 4) / 2 x G.Skill Ripjaws 4GB DDR3-1866 / AMD HD7770 1GB / TP-Link WN723N USB Wifi-N / Samsung 840 EVO 250GB / Hitachi 7K1000.C 1TB / LG ODD / Cooler Master GX650 / Aerocool VS3 / LG W2252TQ / Win7 64-bit
ronch
Gerbil Elite
 
Posts: 606
Joined: Mon Apr 06, 2009 7:55 am
Location: Down in the Bonehoard

Re: Processes setting Affinity on i72600k Question

Postposted on Wed Jun 19, 2013 6:13 am

Thanks for the responses . I figured I was going to get those answers since google was so vague on the whole idea. One google link had a person asking the same thing as I was. I hate answers that include should or probably or maybe core 0 is physical and core 1 is HT and so on.
Thanks again!
2600k HT on@4705mhz 8gb Cas9 1600 mem 2x EVGA GTX770 4gb Classified cards in SLI @1320 mhz core and 2003 mhz mem,mounted in CM HAF922 with a TX-850 PSU 2xHTPC's 2xi3 2120 3.3ghz dual core,1xasus LP HD6570 1xHIS hd7750@1150core1325mem,55"PanyVT30
vargis14
Graphmaster Gerbil
 
Posts: 1114
Joined: Fri Aug 20, 2010 6:03 pm
Location: philly suburbs

Re: Processes setting Affinity on i72600k Question

Postposted on Wed Jun 19, 2013 6:24 am

Many folks don't really understand the concept of Hyperthreading, or SMT, which also makes them say things that are wrong with Intel's and AMD's current CPUs. Both Intel's Core and AMD's FX cores are totally different kinds of processing machines, despite having 8 cores in Task Manager, at least with respect to their full-feature models.
AMD FX-8350 / Gigabyte 990FXA-UD3 (rev. 4) / 2 x G.Skill Ripjaws 4GB DDR3-1866 / AMD HD7770 1GB / TP-Link WN723N USB Wifi-N / Samsung 840 EVO 250GB / Hitachi 7K1000.C 1TB / LG ODD / Cooler Master GX650 / Aerocool VS3 / LG W2252TQ / Win7 64-bit
ronch
Gerbil Elite
 
Posts: 606
Joined: Mon Apr 06, 2009 7:55 am
Location: Down in the Bonehoard


Return to Processors

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests