Personal computing discussed

Moderators: renee, Flying Fox, morphine

Khali
Gerbil XP
Topic Author

Looking to upgrade for more cores

Sun Apr 06, 2014 8:39 pm

I built my system with gaming in mind and my current i7-3570k is great for that. But I have since gotten into distributed computing in a big way and would like to upgrade to a processor with more cores. Either via more cores or via hyper threading. After taking a look around I have come to the conclusion anything with more physical cores is going to cost too much and probably require a new motherboard as well.

Since I am using a Asus P8Z77-V LK LGA 1155 motherboard the logical step would be to get a i7-3770k to take the place of my i5-3570k. But, I was talking to a friend who wondered if a Xeon wouldn't work. Looking around a Xeon E3-1275 is in the same price range as the 3770k and it's supposed to work on a 1155 motherboard.

I have no experience with Xeon's. Would the Xeon work with my motherboard, I have my doubts, and windows 8? Is there even any advantage to the Xeon over the 3770k?

NovusBogus
Graphmaster Gerbil

Re: Looking to upgrade for more cores

Sun Apr 06, 2014 9:05 pm

Hyperthreading is a rather dubious feature that brings little to the table if you plan on running at 100% load, you're unlikely to see much of an improvement beyond the slightly faster clock speed. It's one thing to spend a little extra to get it when upgrading everything, and quite another to buy another $300 chip when you've already got a perfectly good i5.

I'm not an expert on Xeons but they go into workstations as well as servers (my work PC has one), and whether it's supported is likely based on the specific motherboard.

just brew it!
Administrator

Sun Apr 06, 2014 9:12 pm