A8-6600k cpu temps in bios

Discussion of all forms of processors, from AMD to Intel to VIA.

Moderators: Flying Fox, morphine

A8-6600k cpu temps in bios

Postposted on Sat Jul 19, 2014 9:53 am

I just put together a new build with a amd a8-6600k and a gigabyte f2a88xn and 8 GB g skill sniper ddr3-1866 ram in a cooler master 120. First boot into bios and I noticed the cpu temp started at like 38c and climbed steadily, hitting as high as 70c. I've read bios can make it run hotter as it only uses one core, but that seems like something is wrong, right? I haven't even installed the OS yet. I had a spare 120mm fan so I installed it behind the drive cage facing directly at the cpu and marginal impact. Using the stock cooler. Will eventually pick up an aftermarket cooler but I have minimal space in there. Thoughts? Thanks!
HTPC: i3-3225, Z77 Pro4-m, ASUS HD7790 2GB, 120GB Samsung 840 SSD, 3TB & 2TB Barracuda HDDs, 2x4GB G.Skill Ripjaws, Asus BD, Ceton Infinitv4, CX430 PSU in a Fractal Define Mini
bostonhokie
Gerbil
 
Posts: 57
Joined: Mon Mar 11, 2013 9:54 pm
Location: Atlanta, GA

Re: A8-6600k cpu temps in bios

Postposted on Sat Jul 19, 2014 10:32 am

The full-size PSU and large number of drive bays in the CM Elite-120 make it vital to keep your cabling tidy. There are loads of holes you can use to slip cable-ties through and bundle up messy cable spaghetti out of the way.

The front intake fan is a fairly slow 1200RPM unit, so make sure that your motherboard isn't lowering the speed of this already slow fan.
The 80mm side intake fan is vital for any processors that are power hungry, and it helps if the PSU is installed with the fan on top, so that the flat base of the PSU creates a tunnel channelling fresh air from the 80mm side intake fan directly over the processor. If you have the PSU fan facing down, all this fresh air is immediately sucked away from the processor and the socket itself sits in a stagnant volume of dead air.

You should always expect the temps to be a little higher in the BIOS since the cool 'n quiet power management of AMD processors requires driver support the BIOS doesn't have.

I wouldn't be happy with 70C in the BIOS though, I'd have expected no more than a 20C over ambient for something like that. Are you happy that you affixed the CPU cooler properly? Have you checked by removing the cooler and inspecting the mark the processor has made in the TIM contact patch?
<insert large, flashing, epileptic-fit-inducing signature (based on the latest internet-meme) here>
Chrispy_
Gerbil Jedi
Gold subscriber
 
 
Posts: 1964
Joined: Fri Apr 09, 2004 3:49 pm

Re: A8-6600k cpu temps in bios

Postposted on Sat Jul 19, 2014 11:45 am

Cable management is not great right now, but there's plenty of airflow and it runs hot even with the case open. I wasn't confident about the cooler because it had space on either side but it seems pretty hard to completely screw up. I could try removing it but then I need to go pick up some thermal paste. It does seem like there's something wrong there tho. I don't mind picking up an aftermarket cooler but the stock shouldn't be that bad. I'll try reapplying the stock with new paste. Any tips on how to remove that guy, just twist until it pops off and lift?
HTPC: i3-3225, Z77 Pro4-m, ASUS HD7790 2GB, 120GB Samsung 840 SSD, 3TB & 2TB Barracuda HDDs, 2x4GB G.Skill Ripjaws, Asus BD, Ceton Infinitv4, CX430 PSU in a Fractal Define Mini
bostonhokie
Gerbil
 
Posts: 57
Joined: Mon Mar 11, 2013 9:54 pm
Location: Atlanta, GA

Re: A8-6600k cpu temps in bios

Postposted on Sun Jul 20, 2014 7:20 am

No need to buy more paste, as long as you're careful.

Are you using one of these?

Image

Flip up the lever and check the little patch of grey paste is all smooshed down, and that there's some stuck to the chip too.
What you don't want to see is something like this:

Image
Image

Check TR's system builder video for how to correctly mount/dismount AMD coolers,
This is the section you want
<insert large, flashing, epileptic-fit-inducing signature (based on the latest internet-meme) here>
Chrispy_
Gerbil Jedi
Gold subscriber
 
 
Posts: 1964
Joined: Fri Apr 09, 2004 3:49 pm

Re: A8-6600k cpu temps in bios

Postposted on Sun Jul 20, 2014 2:21 pm

Thanks for the detailed response there. I pulled off the cooler and the paste seems to be even on both the heatsink and the chip, but it was a VERY thin amount of paste. I may try reapplying, but I'l have to google or youtube the best way to do that as I haven't done that before. Also, any recommendations on low profile aftermarket coolers? I found this one but I need to make sure it will fit in the case http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.a ... 6835103084

[EDIT] Meh, found a review that said someone bought that for the CM 120 and it didn't fit. I'll keep looking
HTPC: i3-3225, Z77 Pro4-m, ASUS HD7790 2GB, 120GB Samsung 840 SSD, 3TB & 2TB Barracuda HDDs, 2x4GB G.Skill Ripjaws, Asus BD, Ceton Infinitv4, CX430 PSU in a Fractal Define Mini
bostonhokie
Gerbil
 
Posts: 57
Joined: Mon Mar 11, 2013 9:54 pm
Location: Atlanta, GA

Re: A8-6600k cpu temps in bios

Postposted on Sun Jul 20, 2014 2:54 pm

According to Cooler Master, your CM120 Elite case accepts CPU coolers up to 65mm (2½") tall. The $35 Cooler Master GeminII M4 is 59mm tall with its 120x15mm fan installed.
i7-4770K, H70, Gryphon Z87, 16 GiB, R9-290, SSD, 2 HD, Blu-ray, SB ZX, TJ08-E, SS-660XP², 3007WFP+2001FP, RK-9000BR, MX518
JustAnEngineer
Gerbil God
Gold subscriber
 
 
Posts: 15487
Joined: Sat Jan 26, 2002 7:00 pm
Location: The Heart of Dixie

Re: A8-6600k cpu temps in bios

Postposted on Sun Jul 20, 2014 5:46 pm

I came across that cooler as well, it looks pretty solid. Thanks.

Chrispy, you said you'd expect the temp to be in the 20c range..when I turn the power on and go straight into bios I'm already at 36c and then it climbs pretty steadily to hit 60c in probably 2 minutes..

I found some arctic silver 5 laying around so I'll try reapplying, just need to get some alcohol to wipe off the old
HTPC: i3-3225, Z77 Pro4-m, ASUS HD7790 2GB, 120GB Samsung 840 SSD, 3TB & 2TB Barracuda HDDs, 2x4GB G.Skill Ripjaws, Asus BD, Ceton Infinitv4, CX430 PSU in a Fractal Define Mini
bostonhokie
Gerbil
 
Posts: 57
Joined: Mon Mar 11, 2013 9:54 pm
Location: Atlanta, GA

Re: A8-6600k cpu temps in bios

Postposted on Sun Jul 20, 2014 6:09 pm

P.S.: The $45½ Scythe Big Shuriken 2.b is also 58mm tall with its 120x12mm fan installed.
i7-4770K, H70, Gryphon Z87, 16 GiB, R9-290, SSD, 2 HD, Blu-ray, SB ZX, TJ08-E, SS-660XP², 3007WFP+2001FP, RK-9000BR, MX518
JustAnEngineer
Gerbil God
Gold subscriber
 
 
Posts: 15487
Joined: Sat Jan 26, 2002 7:00 pm
Location: The Heart of Dixie

Re: A8-6600k cpu temps in bios

Postposted on Mon Jul 21, 2014 5:15 am

bostonhokie wrote:Chrispy, you said you'd expect the temp to be in the 20c range..when I turn the power on and go straight into bios I'm already at 36c and then it climbs pretty steadily to hit 60c in probably 2 minutes..


20oC over ambient. If your room is at 25oC, you're never going to see temps lower than that with standard air cooling; If your room is 25oC, I'd expect the CPU to be idling in the BIOS at 45oC, maybe 55oC if the case airflow is a real problem.

Your temps are climbing high and fast, are you sure the CPU fan is plugged in and the fan is spinning properly?

The last thing to do is just install Windows and see what happens with the Cool&Quiet drivers. It could just be that your particular motherboard BIOS loads up the cores more than others. 60oC is still perfectly safe. It's prolonged temps above 75oC I'd worry about. The AMD retail coolers are pretty basic, but if you're not overclocking and you don't find them too noisy, they're perfectly adequate.
<insert large, flashing, epileptic-fit-inducing signature (based on the latest internet-meme) here>
Chrispy_
Gerbil Jedi
Gold subscriber
 
 
Posts: 1964
Joined: Fri Apr 09, 2004 3:49 pm

Re: A8-6600k cpu temps in bios

Postposted on Mon Jul 21, 2014 5:30 am

JustAnEngineer wrote:P.S.: The $45½ Scythe Big Shuriken 2.b is also 58mm tall with its 120x12mm fan installed.


I've stopped buying Scythe's coolers solely because of those Slipstream fans. I upgraded 20+ machines in a renderfarm with those coolers, and not all at the same time, so it can't have been a bad batch. ALL (every last one) of the fans failed due to oil-leakage and subsequent seizure within 6-12 months, and the 12mm height is practically impossible to replace so I ended up getting these instead.
<insert large, flashing, epileptic-fit-inducing signature (based on the latest internet-meme) here>
Chrispy_
Gerbil Jedi
Gold subscriber
 
 
Posts: 1964
Joined: Fri Apr 09, 2004 3:49 pm

Re: A8-6600k cpu temps in bios

Postposted on Mon Jul 21, 2014 6:13 am

AK-CC9101BP01: Ugh. 60mm fans are noisy little things. I'd accept 92mm if a 120mm fan wouldn't fit into the small case, but 60mm is right out.

The Scythe 120x12mm fan is attached by clips over the lower corner of the fan frame. You should be able to attach any standard 120x15mm, 120x20mm or 120x25mm fan it its place (assuming that you can find an extra 3, 8 or 13 mm available).
http://www.coolerguys.com/840556101925.html
http://www.coolerguys.com/840556101413.html
i7-4770K, H70, Gryphon Z87, 16 GiB, R9-290, SSD, 2 HD, Blu-ray, SB ZX, TJ08-E, SS-660XP², 3007WFP+2001FP, RK-9000BR, MX518
JustAnEngineer
Gerbil God
Gold subscriber
 
 
Posts: 15487
Joined: Sat Jan 26, 2002 7:00 pm
Location: The Heart of Dixie

Re: A8-6600k cpu temps in bios

Postposted on Mon Jul 21, 2014 6:32 am

For me it was a height issue. The Sycthe advertised height is only acheivable with such a slim fan whilst other coolers do it with far more common fan heights.

Noise in a room full of rackmount servers isn't so much of a problem, though I have to admit they were actually pretty quiet when I had them out of the server room for the cooler swaps. Agreed though, 92mm is probably the bare minimum for what I would consider a "quiet" cooler.
<insert large, flashing, epileptic-fit-inducing signature (based on the latest internet-meme) here>
Chrispy_
Gerbil Jedi
Gold subscriber
 
 
Posts: 1964
Joined: Fri Apr 09, 2004 3:49 pm

Re: A8-6600k cpu temps in bios

Postposted on Mon Jul 21, 2014 8:09 am

Do you primarily use your computer in "BIOS mode"? Didn't think so. What are the temps when you're in Windows/OS? (something like HW Monitor can tell you this)
i5-3570K, ASRock Z77 Pro4-m, Asus GTX660 TOP, 120 GB Vertex 3 Max IOPS, 2 TB Samsung EcoGreen F4, 8GB G-Skill @1.25V, Silverstone PS07B
DPete27
Gerbil Jedi
Silver subscriber
 
 
Posts: 1679
Joined: Wed Jan 26, 2011 12:50 pm
Location: Madison, Wisconsin

Re: A8-6600k cpu temps in bios

Postposted on Mon Jul 21, 2014 10:08 am

bostonhokie wrote:I came across that cooler as well, it looks pretty solid. Thanks.

Chrispy, you said you'd expect the temp to be in the 20c range..when I turn the power on and go straight into bios I'm already at 36c and then it climbs pretty steadily to hit 60c in probably 2 minutes..

I found some arctic silver 5 laying around so I'll try reapplying, just need to get some alcohol to wipe off the old

You do want as thin a layer of paste as you can make it.

All the paste is meant to do is heat exchange, by filling in the tiny gaps in the both the CPU and the heatsink's surface. Too much paste becomes isolation and will actually work against you.
There is a fixed amount of intelligence on the planet, and the population keeps growing :(
morphine
Grand Admiral Gerbil
Silver subscriber
 
 
Posts: 10023
Joined: Fri Dec 27, 2002 8:51 pm
Location: Portugal (that's next to Spain)

Re: A8-6600k cpu temps in bios

Postposted on Mon Jul 21, 2014 11:00 am

At 60mm in height the Zalman CNPS8900 is a great cooler pure copper with tons of fin area and a large 110mm fan that is recessed into the cooler that includes 2 heatpipes that rap around the unit in zalmans special and effective way . http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.a ... 6835118127 Also 45$ for a pure copper complex cooler like this is a good deal.
On top of that Zalman products cool well and are pretty darn quiet. I imagine with its 110mm fan and just enough air space above this unit. It should perform quite well.
2600k HT on@4705mhz 8gb Cas9 1600 mem 2x EVGA GTX770 4gb Classified cards in SLI @1320 mhz core and 2003 mhz mem,mounted in CM HAF922 with a TX-850 PSU 2xHTPC's 2xi3 2120 3.3ghz dual core,1xasus LP HD6570 1xHIS hd7750@1150core1325mem,55"PanyVT30
vargis14
Graphmaster Gerbil
 
Posts: 1233
Joined: Fri Aug 20, 2010 6:03 pm
Location: philly suburbs

Re: A8-6600k cpu temps in bios

Postposted on Mon Jul 21, 2014 11:30 am

Okay, cooler installation seems good. Just pop it back on with the existing thermal paste. As long as you don't get any dirt between them whilst they're exposed it's fine to reuse what's stuck to the cooler/cpu already.

Chrispy_ wrote:The last thing to do is just install Windows and see what happens with the Cool&Quiet drivers. It could just be that your particular motherboard BIOS loads up the cores more than others


As others have also suggested, it could just be that your BIOS runs the CPU flat out. What really matters is whether it's stable and cool in Windows.
<insert large, flashing, epileptic-fit-inducing signature (based on the latest internet-meme) here>
Chrispy_
Gerbil Jedi
Gold subscriber
 
 
Posts: 1964
Joined: Fri Apr 09, 2004 3:49 pm

Re: A8-6600k cpu temps in bios

Postposted on Mon Jul 21, 2014 6:11 pm

I installed windows and HWMonitor and with only HWMonitor running, temp idled at 57c. I opened Netflix in a browser, and simply logging in the temp spiked to 90c and the screen went black, then came back in a lower resolution. I quickly shut it down. The fan on the cooler is working properly, and airflow is good. Could there be something else wrong with the cooler, making it defective?
HTPC: i3-3225, Z77 Pro4-m, ASUS HD7790 2GB, 120GB Samsung 840 SSD, 3TB & 2TB Barracuda HDDs, 2x4GB G.Skill Ripjaws, Asus BD, Ceton Infinitv4, CX430 PSU in a Fractal Define Mini
bostonhokie
Gerbil
 
Posts: 57
Joined: Mon Mar 11, 2013 9:54 pm
Location: Atlanta, GA

Re: A8-6600k cpu temps in bios

Postposted on Mon Jul 21, 2014 8:08 pm

Yeah, that's not right.
I've built an A8 3870K into a CM Elite 120 and it wasn't anywhere near this problematic.
What are your temps with the CM Elite's case lid off, or is this already with the case lid off?

The heatsink is a solid lump of extruded aluminium with no moving parts, it can't be "broken" in some other way, that I'm aware of.
The cooler is making good contact with the processor according to the thermal goop marks, you say.
The fan is spinning, so, uh... it's definitely not a cooling problem. Sure, the retail cooler runs warm and loud, but it doesn't suck that much!

That leaves:
a) faulty processor
b) faulty motherboard VRMs or something along those lines. It won't need a BIOS update, the F1 BIOS supported Richland APUs at launch.
c) false temperature readings, but I think the blackscreen/video reset rules that out. It says it too hot and it's behaving like it's too hot.

Either way, can you easily swap it for another FM2 processor or take this 6600K back to the store and exchange for another one?
<insert large, flashing, epileptic-fit-inducing signature (based on the latest internet-meme) here>
Chrispy_
Gerbil Jedi
Gold subscriber
 
 
Posts: 1964
Joined: Fri Apr 09, 2004 3:49 pm

Re: A8-6600k cpu temps in bios

Postposted on Mon Jul 21, 2014 8:46 pm

Yeah I thought I may just be going crazy but that result convinced me I'm not. The mobo and processor both came from Microcenter so should be an easy exchange, though I am past the return period..I'll give them a call tomorrow and make sure there are no issues. Would you recommend just exchanging both if possible?
HTPC: i3-3225, Z77 Pro4-m, ASUS HD7790 2GB, 120GB Samsung 840 SSD, 3TB & 2TB Barracuda HDDs, 2x4GB G.Skill Ripjaws, Asus BD, Ceton Infinitv4, CX430 PSU in a Fractal Define Mini
bostonhokie
Gerbil
 
Posts: 57
Joined: Mon Mar 11, 2013 9:54 pm
Location: Atlanta, GA

Re: A8-6600k cpu temps in bios

Postposted on Tue Jul 22, 2014 6:11 am

bostonhokie wrote:Yeah I thought I may just be going crazy but that result convinced me I'm not. The mobo and processor both came from Microcenter so should be an easy exchange, though I am past the return period..I'll give them a call tomorrow and make sure there are no issues. Would you recommend just exchanging both if possible?

Take them both in, see if they can test the combo whilst you're there, otherwise exchange both. It's really unlikely to be the board but as long as they don't charge you for the motherboard swap it could save you another trip.

My hunch (it's only a hunch) is that there's a gap in the processor between the top of the silicon die and the metal plate (heat-spreader). It's normally filled with goop similar to the stuff on the bottom of the heatsink but the goop might be missing, applied really badly, or the plate itself could be raised too high by an excess of glue, creating a terrible contact with the actual die. You could pry it off (called de-lidding) and take a look but that would invalidate the warranty so you're better taking it back to the store. Print this thread out if it helps because it proves you've done some testing and elimination of other factors already.
<insert large, flashing, epileptic-fit-inducing signature (based on the latest internet-meme) here>
Chrispy_
Gerbil Jedi
Gold subscriber
 
 
Posts: 1964
Joined: Fri Apr 09, 2004 3:49 pm

Re: A8-6600k cpu temps in bios

Postposted on Mon Sep 15, 2014 9:33 pm

I realized just now I never came back and posted my resolution, and I wanted to in case anybody is searching for a similar answer..

After exchanging the processor, getting the same results, a lot more research and testing out additional temp monitoring software (to staggeringly different results), I've come to the conclusion that AMD APU's are just impossible to get an accurate reading on. I read something about how it's due to a central temperature sensor as compared to Intel processors having an individual sensor per core..but I'm far from an expert there. Anyways, I'm still not very comfortable with how the readings show up in HWMonitor, but CoreTemp doesn't even register a temperature, and the computer has been running fine. I've been using it for work as well as playing Civ5 and SimCity, and haven't had any issues. I appreciate everyone's help and I definitely learned a lot throughout this whole experience!
HTPC: i3-3225, Z77 Pro4-m, ASUS HD7790 2GB, 120GB Samsung 840 SSD, 3TB & 2TB Barracuda HDDs, 2x4GB G.Skill Ripjaws, Asus BD, Ceton Infinitv4, CX430 PSU in a Fractal Define Mini
bostonhokie
Gerbil
 
Posts: 57
Joined: Mon Mar 11, 2013 9:54 pm
Location: Atlanta, GA

Re: A8-6600k cpu temps in bios

Postposted on Thu Sep 18, 2014 8:45 am

Your post just spurred my memory. I had the same problem with my A8-5600K. I think it's ridiculous that seemingly all temp monitoring tools work reliably with Intel CPUs, but they're all over the board for AMD CPUs. I blame AMD.
i5-3570K, ASRock Z77 Pro4-m, Asus GTX660 TOP, 120 GB Vertex 3 Max IOPS, 2 TB Samsung EcoGreen F4, 8GB G-Skill @1.25V, Silverstone PS07B
DPete27
Gerbil Jedi
Silver subscriber
 
 
Posts: 1679
Joined: Wed Jan 26, 2011 12:50 pm
Location: Madison, Wisconsin


Return to Processors

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests