phenom2

Discussion of all forms of processors, from AMD to Intel to VIA.

Moderators: morphine, Flying Fox

phenom2

Postposted on Wed Aug 20, 2014 9:43 am

I currently have a x2 560 running at 3.3ghz I just found a x6 that runs at 2.7ghz will this be an upgrade or a downgrade?
dansausage
Gerbil
 
Posts: 29
Joined: Mon Sep 06, 2010 12:21 pm

Re: phenom2

Postposted on Wed Aug 20, 2014 10:36 am

Listing your motherboard would help to know if it can support the wattage a 6 core CPU pulls. If I recall it is 125 watts. Also single core performance will be lower. But with a half decent cooler and a slight overclock to the new 6 core thuban you would have a good upgrade especially on muti threaed apps/games.
2600k@4848mhz @1.4v CM Nepton40XL 16gb Ram 2x EVGA GTX770 4gb Classified cards in SLI@1280mhz Stock boost on a GAP67-UD4-B3, SBlaster Z powered by TX-850 PSU pushing a 34" LG 21/9 3440-1440 IPS panel. Pieced together 2.1 sound system
vargis14
Gerbil Jedi
 
Posts: 1869
Joined: Fri Aug 20, 2010 6:03 pm
Location: philly suburbs

Re: phenom2

Postposted on Wed Aug 20, 2014 10:37 am

Assuming your motherboard can handle it, it'd be anywhere from holding steady to a decent upgrade. How much are you paying for it?

I'm guessing that it's a 1045T which is a 95W CPU (so assuming BIOS support your motherboard can handle the power draw). It's 2.7Ghz stock speed, but turbo speeds up to 3.2, basically even with your dual core, but with way more cores.
http://www.cpu-world.com/CPUs/K10/AMD-P ... K6DGR.html
I do not understand what I do. For what I want to do, I do not do. But what I hate, I do.
derFunkenstein
Gerbil God
 
Posts: 22320
Joined: Fri Feb 21, 2003 9:13 pm
Location: WHAT?

Re: phenom2

Postposted on Wed Aug 20, 2014 10:56 am

motherboard is msi 890 gxm-g65 paid $89 for the processor gigabyte r9 270x 4gig video card 16gb crucial ballistics 1600 memory crucial 512gb solid state drive 1tbyte Hitachi 350gig wd
dansausage
Gerbil
 
Posts: 29
Joined: Mon Sep 06, 2010 12:21 pm

Re: phenom2

Postposted on Wed Aug 20, 2014 1:32 pm

My g/f has a FX-8350 @ 4.4ghz default voltage in that board.
Yeats
Gerbil XP
 
Posts: 337
Joined: Wed Oct 19, 2011 8:53 pm
Location: NJ, USA

Re: phenom2

Postposted on Fri Aug 22, 2014 12:15 am

It will be a significant upgrade, particularly if you are running any sort of heavily threaded apps.

Apart from Moar Coars!, the x6 will very likely overclock rather easily. FWIW, my 1045T does 3.2 (All cores active) and 3.84 (1-3 cores active = 'turbo') at stock voltage. If your mobo has a robust VRM (mine doesn't), you can gun for more. Most chips will hit ~3.6 / ~4.0 is with just a small voltage boost.
Geonerd
Gerbil First Class
 
Posts: 132
Joined: Mon Dec 19, 2011 2:29 pm
Location: Sunny Aridzona

Re: phenom2

Postposted on Fri Aug 22, 2014 9:32 am

Yup I would definitely overclock it. Its too darn fun and it increases your single thread performance that is important for getting the most FPS since the faster quad phenoms beat the 6 core phenoms in FPS.

If your motherboard lets out magic smoke a replacement will be very inexpensive....Even one with a robust VRM/power delivery system.
2600k@4848mhz @1.4v CM Nepton40XL 16gb Ram 2x EVGA GTX770 4gb Classified cards in SLI@1280mhz Stock boost on a GAP67-UD4-B3, SBlaster Z powered by TX-850 PSU pushing a 34" LG 21/9 3440-1440 IPS panel. Pieced together 2.1 sound system
vargis14
Gerbil Jedi
 
Posts: 1869
Joined: Fri Aug 20, 2010 6:03 pm
Location: philly suburbs

Re: phenom2

Postposted on Fri Aug 22, 2014 10:43 am

my order got cancelled part no longer available.
dansausage
Gerbil
 
Posts: 29
Joined: Mon Sep 06, 2010 12:21 pm

Re: phenom2

Postposted on Fri Aug 22, 2014 6:53 pm

Well drat!


If, in the future, you do wind up with an X6, take it easy with the OC on that board.

This database suggests that your board, like many MSI AM3 offerings, is a little on the wimpy side.
http://www.overclock.net/t/946407/amd-m ... o-database

Feel free to crank the turbo speeds up, but reduce the base multiplier a few clicks to keep the 4~6 core load lower.
Geonerd
Gerbil First Class
 
Posts: 132
Joined: Mon Dec 19, 2011 2:29 pm
Location: Sunny Aridzona

Re: phenom2

Postposted on Sat Aug 23, 2014 11:21 am

You can try here at http://starmicroinc.net/-c-23_357_64.html Prices are a bit high but I dealt with them in the past and they are fast and I had no complaints.

But i would first look on Ebay for a nice used quad core Phenom I think that would be the better route then a 6 core. Also a lot cheaper.

But going from a dual to a quad core will help in any threaded game. Since your platform is on the older side i would not spend too much on a CPU. It might be better to save for a new rig all together.
2600k@4848mhz @1.4v CM Nepton40XL 16gb Ram 2x EVGA GTX770 4gb Classified cards in SLI@1280mhz Stock boost on a GAP67-UD4-B3, SBlaster Z powered by TX-850 PSU pushing a 34" LG 21/9 3440-1440 IPS panel. Pieced together 2.1 sound system
vargis14
Gerbil Jedi
 
Posts: 1869
Joined: Fri Aug 20, 2010 6:03 pm
Location: philly suburbs

Re: phenom2

Postposted on Wed Aug 27, 2014 1:31 pm

get the latest bios update and unlock the cores on the phenom and OC that sucker

i just unlocked my X2 555 3.2ghz to a X4 B55 and oc'd to 3.6ghz on air

good luck
AMD Phenom2 X2 555 - 3.2GHz | unlocked X4 B55 3.6GHz | ASUS M4N75TD | Crucial M500 240GB | 2x4GB Patriot DDR3-1600 | EVGA GTX 960 SSC 4GB | MIOS 800W | Dell ST24 | MX518 | Win 10 | Sennheiser HD 280 PRO | Seagate 3TB x2 Expansion
SoM
Gerbil XP
 
Posts: 441
Joined: Wed Jan 26, 2011 11:56 am
Location: Toronto


Return to Processors

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest